We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close-ish to the airport.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bedford Park
Certificate of Excellence
District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Close-ish to the airport.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Family and I stayed for one Friday night to spend a little time in the city on the way to other things for the weekend.

First: the good. Everything that works well with Hamptons works well here. The rooms are newly remodeled and well appointed. The bathroom was immaculate. The breakfast is solid. The staff is friendly and helpful. Amanda at the front desk did an amazing job of helping me sort out a problem with a prepaid Orbitz reservation while working alone, helping about a half dozen other customers at the same time. Kudos to her.

Then: the not awesome. Despite what the website says, this hotel is *not* two blocks from Midway Airport. It is at least half a mile from the fence on the perimeter edge of the airport property, and more than a mile from the door you exit with your luggage. It is in a very pedestrian-unfriendly stretch of Cicero Avenue, so you won't be walking anywhere. The free shuttle serves all of the hotels in the cluster, so be prepared to wait in an exhaust-choked holding area or pay 10 bucks for a cab. The shuttle does not, as the website advertises, take you to the CTA. It takes you to the airport, where you can walk a good distance through the baggage claim and garage to get to the CTA.

The hotel's walls are paper thin. You can hear every door closing nearby, the toilet flushing next door, the elevator and the footsteps of fellow guests. This was probably worse for us because we were right next to the elevator. If you happen to be staying without a car and thirst for an adult beverage in your room, be prepared and bring your own, or hike a scary mile or so in the other direction to Wal-Mart.

If you're looking to save a few bucks over hotels downtown and use this as your base to explore the city for multiple trips, spend the extra few bucks instead. If proximity to the airport is your number one goal and you travel with earplugs, this one will suit you just fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank childbride84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi childbride84,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Amanda is a great asset to our hotel and I was glad she was able to assist you with your reservation. I’m sorry if our website seems misleading. Chicago blocks are larger than your average city and it is a bit of a hike to the airport, which is why we offer the complimentary airport shuttle. TGI Friday’s does room service and will deliver alcohol to your room – I apologize that we did not make you aware of this amenity during your stay. Please contact me if you would like any compensation for the issues you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    170
    51
    14
    11
See reviews for
183
131
49
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The location is great and very close to the Chicago center. About 15m drive. The bad thing is the price. The price of the room was already out of my budget, after came the very expensive taxes ans even the 15 dólar for the car per day. It was too much...

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MiguelC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hi MiguelC0,
Thanks for your review! Our rates are seasonal and right now are a big higher due to the fact that we’re in peak travel season. We charge for parking because we hire an outside security company to patrol our parking lot at night. Please let me know if you’ll be returning in the future and I can try to negotiate a better rate with you. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Hampton Inn is located in a little hotel village not far from Midway Airport. There's a TGI Fridays and allegedly a Starbucks in the village too (I never did find the Starbucks).

The room was very nice (and big). The front desk staff was very friendly and enthusiastic. The shower was good and the bathroom as a whole was nice. The pillows and bed were very comfortable.

If you really care about road noise, you might want to pick a different one since the Hampton Inn is right on the main road, and others are further back. But I didn't think the noise was all that noticeable.

Breakfast is pretty standard, nothing spectacular but good enough. At least it was free! Very convenient to Midway but less convenient to I-55 since you have to drive through Midway to get there from the interstate.

Room Tip: Try to get one that isn't facing Cicero Ave if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfranco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley K, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear JFranco,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We have three major restaurants that are within walking distance from the hotel. TGI Fridays does delivery and you have the option to charge it to the room. The Starbucks is located inside the Marriott which is directly behind The Hampton Inn. I’m ecstatic that staff was friendly and room was in good condition. I will be sure to share your review with my staff. We’d love to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Motel is a typical Hampton Inn. Friendly and helpful staff. Older facilities but fairly recent and updated remodel. Very clean room. Breakfast was good and food was fresh. We ate a late breakfast so it was a surprise that the food was still fresh.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Constant d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley K, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Constant,
Thanks for your review! Our rooms are recently remodeled as of the end of last year. We have a great housekeeping team and understand the value of cleanliness. I will be sure to share your comments with them. I’m pleased to hear that the breakfast was outstanding and still fresh at any hour. We appreciate your business and would love to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The front desk help was very courteous and helpful. Above average for sure!

The room (one king bed) appeared to be recently updated. Very nice decor and very clean. The bed was the typical Hampton Inn comfort level, which I really like. The bathroom was clean and updated as well.

The breakfast was the usual Hampton Inn breakfast. No surprise. It was kept well-stocked which can be problematic at other hotels at times.

Overall, I'd definitely stay here again, so of course I'd recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordOfTheRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi LordOfTheRooms,
Thanks for your review! We definitely have an all star front desk team and I’ll be sure to pass along your kind words to them. We completed renovations at the end of last year – thanks for noticing! Our breakfast staff does a great job making sure everything stays stocked for our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
P.S. Love your username!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great stay!!!! front desk agent that checked me in Nailha I think? was fantastic made me feel very welcome did an amazing job interacting and engaging me. I was walked by the airport but she made my day better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Keon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello Keon,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I’m glad you enjoyed the stay! Nailah is a guest service superstar and I’m happy to hear she made your day better. I’ll be sure to pass along your nice comments to her. Hopefully we’ll see you again in better circumstances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Typical Hampton Inn hotel with good rooms, clean and up to date at a reasonable price. The complimentary breakfast and internet also made a nice difference. The staff was helpful from the booking to the check out and I would definitely stay there again if possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Everson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello Everson,
Thank you so much for all of your comments! We just finished renovating the entire hotel and I’m glad you enjoyed the rooms. I’ll be sure to pass along your comments to the staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford Park
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Chicago Marriott Midway
Chicago Marriott Midway
#116 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
#3 of 5 in Bedford Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
Address: 6540 S Cicero Ave, Bedford Park, IL 60638-5804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bedford Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bedford Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport provides the best in location and amenities in this Bedford Park, IL hotel. Located just off I-94 and I-55, this ideal location is just two blocks from the Midway International Airport and only eight miles from downtown Chicago and the convention center. Business travelers also appreciate the quick commute to General Electric, Cintas, and WR Grace, while leisure travelers will enjoy watching the horses at the Hawthorne Race Track, watching the Chicago Fire at Toyota Park, and catching the Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks play at the United Center. Great shopping is only two miles away at the Ford City Mall, while Chicago’s Magnificent Mile is a top tourist destination. This Midway hotel features a remodeled lobby where friendly staff greets you with a speedy check-in, a complimentary breakfast buffet, and an aviation theme with unique models to admire as you sip a cup of coffee or tea from the free 24-hour beverage station and sink into the cozy chairs nearby the warm fireplace. The newly-renovated guest rooms offer plush bedding, flat screen TVs, and a coffee maker to make you feel right at home in the Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport Hotel Bedford Park
Hampton Inn Bedford Park
Bedford Park Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing