We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was exactly what it said on the tin! Superb!”
other travellers have booked this property
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Open Plan living at Brookside Byre - great for get togethers 2nd Bedroom at Brookside Byre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Open Plan living at Brookside Byre - great for get togethers
2nd Bedroom at Brookside Byre
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons. Master bathroom/wetroom
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Master bedroom at Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Shower room at Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Beamish Museum is a must whilst stay with us - dont forget to ask about discount vouchers
Bowes Museum a lovely day out, dont forget to visit the Silver Swan
Brancepeth is within easy 10 minute walk of Brookside Byre
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Brookside Byre 5 Star single storey cottage, sleeping upto 6 persons only 4 miles from Durham City
Durham City a world Heritage site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brancepeth, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
SarnianTr...
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It was exactly what it said on the tin! Superb!”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My wife and I were warmly greeted by the owner on whose extensive arable farm the cottage is set. It's on high ground so there are wonderful panoramic views all round. Brooksides Byre is very comfortable, well furnished and equipped and ideal for the disabled who need accessible accommodation on one level. It's situated in lovely, beautiful and peaceful countryside yet close to Durham and Newcastle and Beamish Museum. Also within easy reach are the high moors above Teesdale and Weardale and Hadrian's Wall with Hexham nearby. In short, it's an ideal base with many places of interest to visit nearby. But do use the excellent and very reasonably priced P&R facility if you're visiting Durham. Driving there can be very difficult for strangers!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Brookside Byre, lovely to meet you. We look forward to welcoming you to Brookside Byre again soon, so you can explore even more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarsRich6...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A New Year celebration with a difference”
Reviewed 26 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Wow!! An amazing palce to stay with all that we needed and could wish for. Would definitely stay here again.
We were a party of six adults who always like to bring in the New Year with a party and sing song and what a celebration we had in an amazing cottage.
The cottage has everything you coudl need and we all commented that we could easily live in the Byre.
We all agreed we would recommend this as a great place to stay and to visit Durham and the surrounding area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for the next celebration
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea S
Colyford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious, well-appointed bolthole..could easily have moved in permanently!”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

An unassuming exterior hides a very well designed and equipped interior. High spots: bed linen( proper cotton), Kitchen kit pretty comprehensive though knives not great ( never are in rentals).BIG towels ( YES! Love that! Normally you get a glorified facecloth), shabby chic decor, oak-effect floors etc great bathrooms, fab view. Very easy to live in. In fact, we agreed we could quite happily move in. Nice to have chickens to feed again.
Good welcome pack ( eggs and milk...resisted the biscuits). Lots of stuff provided which we had brought with us so did not use hosts' stuff....washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs etc.
TVs in every room if needed ( they weren't but great they were there) Good info on local stuff. Do take advantage of the Beamish discount.
Brancepeth is charming. Very Cotswolds. Shame it's teetotal as a pub would complete the idyll.
It's a relatively newbie on the rental block and there are a couple of suggestions to make it even better....Outdoor furniture and a barbecue would be a real plus. We sat on the front step to watch the sun go down which was OK, but...
Heating...of all the weeks to have hot towel rails and underfloor heating 17 to 24 July was definitely NOT it! Sleep was hard, even having left the windows open.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High level of comfort and use of space.
Liked least: HEAT! lack of outdoor seating.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexRevi...
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation !”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful location, beautiful accommodation, fabulous facilities. Nothing to fault, everything to praise. Superb crisp white bed linen, soft white fluffy bath sheets, lovely bath robes. There is nothing that the proprietors have not provided, absolutely every thing you could possibly need is there. We travelled with a 2yr old and 1yr old and the property was perfect for them; safe, spotlessly clean, the 1yr old could crawl around all areas with no safety issues. The dishwasher and washing machine was an added bonus, as was the 2 travel cots and 2 high chairs that were provided for us. Heating system perfect, the cottage was lovely and warm at all times despite the wintry weather. Upon our arrival, we were given a home made cake, shortbread biscuits and fresh milk - what a lovely welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, we loved everything about Brooksides Byre and it's location, we wish we could have stayed longer and will most definitely return, hopefully soon.

Congratulations, you have a wonderful property and we were all very impressed with your attention to detail and the quality of the furnishings and accessories. Love, love, loved our stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Having to leave !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for spending the time to post a review after your stay at Brookside Byre, how you find the time when you have your hands full. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon when the little ones are grown up a little, they can enjoy the chickens and the lambs !!

see you all soon

Kind regards
David , Torie, Angus and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gileshuds...
Wolvey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““Why stay in a hotel in Durham city centre when you can stop here instead...?!””
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My two colleagues and I from the Midlands had a business meeting to attend in Durham city centre the next day. The three of us were able to book this beautifully refurbished barn conversion for £122 in total, then sleep in complete peace in the countryside and then drive just a couple of miles into Durham for our meeting the next day; all refreshed and raring to go.

They have beautiful and toasty underfloor heating throughout the property, except for one room... the ensuite bathroom off the master bedroom at the other end of the property. The same massive stone tiles that made it a stunning room also made it freezing for bare feet during a bathroom trip in the middle of the night. But if this is all we can find wrong with the property, then you can see what an amazing place it really is...

We will definitely stay there again if we win the business from the meeting that we attended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The underfloor heating which somehow made the beautifully spacious rooms in this former barn still have a cosy feel to them.
Liked least: Cold floor in bathroom off master bedroom. It may literally have been a switch inadvertently turned off somewhere and this is by no means a criticism of this amazing place
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thank you for spending the time to post a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Good luck with the contract and see you soon in 2016
Kind regards
David Torie, Angus and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOU020_20...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De woning was smetteloos, alsof je de eerste bezoeker bent.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Brookside Byre.

We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay for your special visit for the new arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon, for more family time - they grow up so quick

Kind regards

Vickie, David, Angus and Louise

Please find below the translated version of the review from the lovely family who stayed with us in Brookside Byre to meet the newest member of the family

Brookside Byre Little White Farm is beautiful. The cottage is more than what we expected from the photos. It is spacious. Everything is like new. For six people, there is more than enough chairs and crockery. You can stay here for a long time. a jug of fresh milk in the fridge. There is a cookbook ready. It is a pity that we only stay for a weekend. We had no time for a tour of the farm or a long walk. The cottage is a folder full of information about hiking trails, etc. and an invitation for a tour. The bathrooms are luxurious, even by European standards. Everything is on one level and there is a carbonate ramp to the front door. Suitable for people in wheelchairs! Thanks, David and Louise, for the warm welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing