We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bell Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Peterlee B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Have stayed at the Bell twice now and both times we had a excellent stay,All the staff are very cheerful and pleasant , Food was first class and nothing was to much trouble , if you wanted something for your evening meal, Rooms are always VERY clean and warm. Personally I would highly recommend the Bell

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenV186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellG, General Manager at The Bell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do hope to see you again and are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    22
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
28
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

The owner has turned the Bell into a smart hotel and both he and is staff we helpful throughout our 2 day stay. Breakfast excellent and only 4 rather than 5 stars owing to the Friday night disco. This creates a lot of noise outside and you can feel the music until 1am. Quiet on other nights

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

my wife and I have stayed here, to visit family since before the present owner took over. we have found the present owner has modernised it from a good guest house to a first class establishment. a pleasure to stay, staff and management make you feel at home from the start. I found every thing from the rooms to the breakfast to be of the highest order. one place on our travels we always look forward to returning to.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank trevormargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse while visiting family in the local area. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel very welcome by the staff. The room we were in was really nice and we couldn't have asked for more, clean, fluffy towels, bottled water, ample tea and coffee which was replenished on a daily basis, and complimentary toiletries. The breakfast is cooked to order, which i prefer as i would rather have freshly cooked food rather that food which has been sat for a while. The continental options are also great with a wide variety of products. I would recommend this place to anyone and we will be staying again when visiting the North East. It was a enjoyable and relaxing stay and we could not thank the guesthouse enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Lovely local guesthouse in Horden with a bar lounge area. Breakfast was cooked to order with exactly what you wanted not buffet. Could have toast juice to suit. Rooms have been refurbished and are nice. Towels fresh daily and room tidied even as I stayed a few days. Plenty of tea, milk, coffee even biscuits daily. T.V in rooms and I had free wi if. Suitable as working in area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Me and my partner stayed here, as we were visting family.
Stayed for 2 nights.
Room was very nice :) with complimentary water & fruit, lovely large shower and fresh towels each day.
Breakfast was cooked fresh and when you wanted it, full english which was beautiful.
Couldnt actually fault anything about the hotel, yes there is a dance end but its finished at 11.30 - 12.00 and then no noise, even thought it didnt affect us as couldnt really hear it over the sound of the TV in your room.
would defiantly stay again!!!
Staff & Hotel was excellent, thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

working in the local business park, easy access to the A19, great weekday stay for the rates you pay. Even arranged an early breakfast which alot of places do not offer!. Comfortable bar downstairs, separate dining area very well presented with private TV so you can sit here in the evening a eat a takeaway. Rooms great, clean, with everything provided. Open fires in the bar, and great staff. Local and handy if working in the Peterlee, Seaham area. I have stayed at many places and this place offers great value for the rates! Otherwise you can stay in 5* hotels and pay twice as much but myself and my colleagues have had a appreciative stay for the last 3 months by the owner and staff and nothing was to much of a problem

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k ltd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterlee
2.5 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
4.8 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
7.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Guesthouse

Property: The Bell Guesthouse
Address: Sunderland Road | Horden, Peterlee, Peterlee SR8 4PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Peterlee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Peterlee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell guesthouse in County Durham, is a friendly family run guesthouse and Coach style country pub that takes pride in offering an excellent customer service and making your stay as enjoyable as possible. We offer an extensive range of wines, local beers and real ales and we're a perfect base for exploring Durham and its famous city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bell Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing