We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very good and couldn’t be more helpful, rooms good but with the odd drawback, not the best area/location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bell Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Peterlee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Staff very good and couldn’t be more helpful, rooms good but with the odd drawback, not the best area/location”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here at the end of June when attending a wedding nearby. It’s the sort of place that one minute we thought it was terrible and the next the staff do something to redeem themselves, overall I couldn't recommend it, but feel bad for the staff doing so.

Positives

Staff very friendly and couldn’t be more helpful especially at breakfast with our little one.

Room did have a sea view, just, (over rooftops) on the back side away from the road.

Customers in the bar that you have to walk through to get to the guest house were very helpful.

Room had a bottle fridge which was useful.

Rooms were quite well decorated - a few areas not quite up to the standard they were looking for (faultless) but nothing to much to complain about.

Negatives

Shower and curtain were positioned in such a way over the bath that the floor of the bathroom got quite wet.

Very hot room – despite heating being off (was over 25oC in the room – before the heat wave) possibly because there was a large boiler in the room next door.

We were initially shown a tiny room which didn’t have room for a travel cot (which we’d spoken to the hotel about). They moved us to a different room without any problem.

Had to ask a few times to get a key fob for access to the stairs (in the end I had to suggest taking it from another bunch).

Very noisy disco on Friday night (we had been pre warned).

Also think someone tried to break into the car that we parked down a side road next to the hotel (can’t be sure it was here because I noticed that both boot lid and a rear door had scratch marks and had been slightly bent when we got home but remember having problems shutting the back door when packing the car leaving the hotel).

Summary – Staff very good and couldn’t be more helpful, rooms good but with the odd drawback, not the best area/location.

Room Tip: Room on the back side on the far right will be the quietist (but not quiet on Friday and Saturday Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kernowshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellG, General Manager at The Bell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. We are glad that the staff were very helpful and our price bracket met your expectation. We are saddened to hear that you suspect your car had been attempted to be broken into. Had we been told about this at the time we could have checked our CCTV and also informed the local authorities. Looking back at the CCTV now we can not see anything that would warrant your claim. We are a guesthouse and try to accommodate all needs requested, such as free early check-in like yourself and also room upgrades. The website or staff do not advertise a sea view, however we are situated on the coastline. With many 2,3,4 or even 5 star guesthouses there is a bar downstairs which we advertise on our website.
We take your review on board and feel saddened that you cannot recommend us but we appreciate that the staff customer service met your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    23
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
29
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Have stayed at the Bell twice now and both times we had a excellent stay,All the staff are very cheerful and pleasant , Food was first class and nothing was to much trouble , if you wanted something for your evening meal, Rooms are always VERY clean and warm. Personally I would highly recommend the Bell

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenV186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellG, General Manager at The Bell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do hope to see you again and are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

The owner has turned the Bell into a smart hotel and both he and is staff we helpful throughout our 2 day stay. Breakfast excellent and only 4 rather than 5 stars owing to the Friday night disco. This creates a lot of noise outside and you can feel the music until 1am. Quiet on other nights

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

my wife and I have stayed here, to visit family since before the present owner took over. we have found the present owner has modernised it from a good guest house to a first class establishment. a pleasure to stay, staff and management make you feel at home from the start. I found every thing from the rooms to the breakfast to be of the highest order. one place on our travels we always look forward to returning to.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank trevormargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse while visiting family in the local area. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel very welcome by the staff. The room we were in was really nice and we couldn't have asked for more, clean, fluffy towels, bottled water, ample tea and coffee which was replenished on a daily basis, and complimentary toiletries. The breakfast is cooked to order, which i prefer as i would rather have freshly cooked food rather that food which has been sat for a while. The continental options are also great with a wide variety of products. I would recommend this place to anyone and we will be staying again when visiting the North East. It was a enjoyable and relaxing stay and we could not thank the guesthouse enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Lovely local guesthouse in Horden with a bar lounge area. Breakfast was cooked to order with exactly what you wanted not buffet. Could have toast juice to suit. Rooms have been refurbished and are nice. Towels fresh daily and room tidied even as I stayed a few days. Plenty of tea, milk, coffee even biscuits daily. T.V in rooms and I had free wi if. Suitable as working in area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Me and my partner stayed here, as we were visting family.
Stayed for 2 nights.
Room was very nice :) with complimentary water & fruit, lovely large shower and fresh towels each day.
Breakfast was cooked fresh and when you wanted it, full english which was beautiful.
Couldnt actually fault anything about the hotel, yes there is a dance end but its finished at 11.30 - 12.00 and then no noise, even thought it didnt affect us as couldnt really hear it over the sound of the TV in your room.
would defiantly stay again!!!
Staff & Hotel was excellent, thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterlee
5.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,340 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
469 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 19 in Durham
218 reviews
9.0 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
43 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Seaton Lane Inn
The Seaton Lane Inn
#2 of 6 in Seaham
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Guesthouse

Property: The Bell Guesthouse
Address: Sunderland Road | Horden, Peterlee, Peterlee SR8 4PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Peterlee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Peterlee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell guesthouse in County Durham, is a friendly family run guesthouse and Coach style country pub that takes pride in offering an excellent customer service and making your stay as enjoyable as possible. We offer an extensive range of wines, local beers and real ales and we're a perfect base for exploring Durham and its famous city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Bell Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing