We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bell Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Peterlee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Bell guesthouse is a gem of a place. Having moved from the area around 15 year ago i was pleasantly surprised by my return. The establishment has had some great refurbishment in the past few year and it really stands out. The staff can not do enough for you and are always happy to help, nothing was to much trouble. The rooms are clean, tidy and smartly decorated.
Breakfast is served to order and tastes delicious with local produce. I would definitely recommend The Bell guesthouse and we will certainly be returning. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellG, Manager at The Bell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    23
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
29
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Do not stay here unless you want to stay in a poor area , guesthouse rooms smelt of jeyes fluid and drains !!!!! All the bedlinen was not ironed and looked as though it had been slept in previously I refused to stay there and left Will be extremely wary of reviews in the future as I think they have written their own on the site !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Busy main road and you do not get the room you request anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linsky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellG, Manager at The Bell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
In response to your constructive review it is unfortunate that you did not stay with us to experience what we have to offer. The room booked is the room offered and that is also the room on our website. We are located on the main road which is clear on Google tour as with our rooms. There is nothing hidden with regards with to what we offer. At the point of when the staff member checked you into room 3, the room in which was booked, you were satisfied. And no dis-concerns were aired until the gentlemen handed the key in. At the point of departure a senior member of staff did question what reason they had for leaving and an alternative room was offered. However, the customer was adamant to leave. We do hope that you found alternative accommodation that suited your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherborne dorset
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights ...and have just got home....We didn't arrive till nearly one in the morning ....where we were greeted by the owner ....who's fantastic ....he made us some food and nothing could possibly be too much trouble for the comfort of the guests....The whole hotel looks amazing and is so warm and inviting...the rooms are extremely clean ...the bed is massive .and really comfortable......and when I opened the curtains ...wow there was a sea view ....The hotel is a stones throw from the sea ...You will be asked what time you would like breakfast ..and then the cooked breakfast ...is cooked to what you want and to order there and then ....very good quality food ....there are cereals ...toast ...crumpets ..everything is extremely ...fresh and again the staff are great ...The bar is also lovely ...theres an open fire ....nice atmosphere and some lovely locals with a great sense of humour....all together ...this is an excellent hotel....with exceptional service ...at an amazing price ...what a find ...stay here ..you can't go wrong

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lynda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellG, Manager at The Bell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting the both of you and hope your work in your hotel is not to hectic. It was a pleasure talking to someone from the same industry and letting us take care of yourself on your 2 day break. We do hope to see you again if your in the area, or if we are in Dorset we can call in and see yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hidden gem in a mining village of Horden. Close to peterlee business park and A19 to get to Durham. Not a big corporate so staff welcoming, little touches like organising taxis checking train times helpful. Stayed 4 days had a cooked to order breakfast nice n fresh daily. Parked outside. Separate dining room for guests. Locals friendly in bar. Rooms pleasantly presented, clean with tea, coffee and WATER also lovely biscuits plentiful. Our room was carpeted new so little noise. Shower, towels and toiletries provided. Would stay again and recommend close to shotton hall!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Americans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem. From checkin to checking out the staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was nice and clean and modern although whoever does their ironing should be sacked. We stayed on a Thursday night and hotel was busy. The only downside was that due to the wooden floors in the the hallway upstairs you can hear every footstep and we had a room with a connecting door and you coukd hear the people in the room next door not good when its a loud mouthed southerner lol. Breakfast is really nice and freshly cooked too. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank eiei2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellG, Manager at The Bell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for the time taken to write the review. It was a pleasure having the both of you stay with us at The Bell guesthouse. We will pass on your comments to house keeping. We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This accommodation is a gem in an area which has seen better times. The staff were fantastic, a warm and friendly welcome on arrival, nothing was too much trouble and breakfast staff excelled once again. The room was clean warm and had everything you would expect. The breakfast choice was plentiful and good quality.

I would certainly recommended the Bell and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S4MMY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellG, Manager at The Bell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We enjoyed a week here last month. Everything was very positive. All of the staff that work here couldn't do enough to help you. Very clean hotel,beautiful rooms , They are cleaned every day and you could not expect more from the staff.The breakfast was lovely.
It is a place to relax .
would recommend and come back again .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterlee
1.7 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
498 reviews
5.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,393 reviews
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
272 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#14 of 18 in Durham
18 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Seaton Lane Inn
The Seaton Lane Inn
#2 of 6 in Seaham
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Guesthouse

Property: The Bell Guesthouse
Address: Sunderland Road | Horden, Peterlee, Peterlee SR8 4PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Peterlee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Peterlee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell guesthouse in County Durham, is a friendly family run guesthouse and Coach style country pub that takes pride in offering an excellent customer service and making your stay as enjoyable as possible. We offer an extensive range of wines, local beers and real ales and we're a perfect base for exploring Durham and its famous city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Bell Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing