We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Great Buffets”

The Shrine Restaurant & Banquet Center
Ranked #10 of 161 Restaurants in Belleville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For nearly 50 years, the Shrine Restaurant & Banquet Center has provided outstanding food and wonderful hospitality in the St. Louis Area. We offer a wide variety of culinary selections on both the menus, and our award winning Soup & Salad and Sunday Brunch Buffets. We know just what it takes to please any palate!
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Buffets”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Have eaten at the Shrine Restaurant a number of times and have never had a bad meal. You can order off the menu or on weekend they usually have a themed buffet. They have had an Octoberfest Buffet, some sort of BBQ Buffet I believe. They also have a Fried Chicken Buffet every Sunday. The Fried Chicken kept finding its way to my plate. Come give them a visit and you will be back again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SEVMEISTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
399 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Skip Fast Food and Enjoy!”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

JMJ The brunch of soups and salads are the comfort food you are looking for and the surroundings so peaceful and the staff is happy you are there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mother15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch and Service at Affordable Prices”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The restaurant was full for lunch but the service was still excellent. There's a salad & soup buffet and one can also order from the menu. The shrimp appetizer was delicious and filling. My burger was out of the ordinary. Simple foods but worth the money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GhenTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis MO
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Varied experiences”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I really enjoy their Lunch Soup & Salad bars... only regrets, they use WAY too much salt in the soups... but they are very good.

Why the Average?

Their German night (offered from time to time) is only so so. Disappointing to this German descendant. Go to Gast Haus over in St Louis for some true German cooking.

The buffet is generally well stocked. Service so so.

Special Buffets can be very expensive for what you get.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhotoPhritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Athens, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Brunch”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The food was great and at a good price. We had the lunch buffet. It was a bit crowded but it was Mothers Day so everyone was out. Once you got in, it went fast.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kacie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shrine Restaurant & Banquet Center also viewed

 

Been to The Shrine Restaurant & Banquet Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing