We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photo's are extremely deceiving,dirty & smelly!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belvidere
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived and were told we would be receiving a room with two queen beds ( non smoking). Instead we received a room with two double beds, that had been smoked in. It smelled dingy and wet, there was a cigarette burn in the comforter. The tv looked like it was from the early 90's. Then there was the bathroom, there were two tiny towels. No complimentary soaps or shampoos, no coffee maker? The walls in the bathroom are filthy, they haven't been washed in weeks. The toilet seat was yellow and peeling, and there appeared to be stuff caked on the base boards. Half way threw the night at 3:30 am the fire alarm went off, but there was no fire. We didn't receive a courtesy call to explain what happened, there wasn't even anyone in the office.When I woke up in the morning around 7:30 then wI went to complain andonce again no one was staffing the office. What type of establishment does not keep there hotel staffed at all times. If hotels in the area had not been so booked we would have left. Beware before deciding to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPerry_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Any review on Trip Advisor for this location that is not positive is out dated.
The new owners are super-courteous, and the newly remodeled room has a wonderful bed.
The location is a one minute drive to down town Belvidere, which has a beautiful park and trail that sprawls along the river's edge.
I will be going back for every visit I have to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisconsin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This motel has a handy location, and the rooms are a good size. The room (single queen non-smoking was in good condition even though the updates were not quite complete. This room was quiet and the a/c worked well. I am a light sleeper and slept undisturbed throughout the night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveG830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room was very nice and clean, recently renovated. The room was large, bed was comfortable. Refrigerator in the room was great. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Continental breakfast was great! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a renovated room which was fine. The room was large the beds comfy and very quiet. The fridge and microwave were handy and the room was clean. However the bathroom and front entrance door had not been renovated yet and were in very poor condition but working. The management was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast room was very spacious but the breakfast was minimal. The internet was great and the ac was very quiet. When this motel is done with it's renovation process it will be a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The exterior of this hotel has been upgraded, and it looks like they've redone the bathrooms. Now they really need to do some work in the bedroom area. The furniture looks to be from the 1980s if not earlier, and they need to use brighter light bulbs. (The lamp on the desk didn't work at all.)

The continental breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. Your main options are bagels, cereal, or toast. You can't make tea -- there's no hot water spigot. There is fresh fruit (bananas and apples), but no waffle maker and no yogurt.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOI_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff was very accomodating, the room clean and the price very affordable. The pool was not ready for use so I cannot comment on that but that was not one of the criteria I was looking for. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbl6591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belvidere
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockford - Loves Park
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 24 in Rockford
130 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rockford - I-90
5.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
346 reviews
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#18 of 24 in Rockford
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1605 N State St, Belvidere, IL 61008-2007
Region: United States > Illinois > Belvidere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belvidere
Price Range: £45 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story exterior corridor property. FREE HSIA, guest breakfast and parking. Pet friendly (charge). Restaurants nearby. Gas and diesel nearby. Business Center in Lobby. I-90, bus. US 20 exit, then East. hotels4truckers approved. Close to Chrysler plant. Digital cable TV.FEMA = IL 0420. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing