We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Geothermal Exhibition
from US$29.15
More Info
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
134
126
45
16
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
126
45
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews power plant interesting exhibition ring road plants energy source carbon degrees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Seeing nature is great, learning about nature is even better. One of the locals said she felt 20 minutes was plenty to spend here....boy was she wrong. Clearly she has no interest in understanding the unique geological resource Iceland has. We were on tour so were only here about 25 minutes but it was awesome and we plan to come back and spend longer the next time we're in Iceland. The knowledge we gained on this tour is critical for understanding so much about Iceland....like why don't they have thermostats in the hotel rooms, or why do they open the hotel windows in winter, why are the streets clear of ice in Reykjavik, why does the water smell in some places and not in others?

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank AdventureUnlimited01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We visited here as the first stop on our "golden circle" tour out of Reykjavik. I was so glad we opted for a tour that included it... we really enjoyed learning about the geothermal energy and how it was harnessed and used. The guide from the plant gave excellent explanations and answered questions. Just be prepared for unpleasant sulfur smell!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Feathin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We had a whistle stop tour here as part of a golden circle complete tour. It was unfortunately only 30 mins so we didn't get to experience the whole thing hence not the full 5 star rating. What we did see and experience was very interesting, however. Be aware if a coach tour arrives as you try to leave though as the stairs become rammed and you will have to wait doe everyone to come up both sides before heading down.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank janinew121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We were disappointed by the centre. It is reasonably expensive entry fee and there is not that much to see. The videos are good to offer a broad view of the tectonic activity but the explanations of the energy plant itself are not particularly clear or accessible.

I think this could be improved to be more informative. We didn't join the tour as this wasn't running whilst we were there and that might make it a better experience.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank TravellingHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2016

As part of our first Gateway to Iceland tour, our family (Husband, adult Daughter and I) visited the Hellisheidi Geothermal Power Plant. It was fascinating to learn about Iceland's geothermal power industry. This cold country sits astride the meeting point of two tectonic plates, the Eurasian plate and the North American plate. This accounts for Iceland's volcanic activity, its hot springs, and the geothermal power waiting to be tapped.

The power plant tour guide explained to us that power is supplied to the local area cheaply and abundantly. This was the reason we were seeing so many buildings with their windows open -- during the winter! A couple of days earlier, when we had arrived at our hotel in Reykjavik, we had discovered that a window was wide open in our room (!!), although outside, the temperature was about 40 degrees Fahrenheit. The guide said, "Instead of turning down the heat, people open a window. If they leave the house and forget to turn down the heat or close the window, they just shrug and keep going." (We were flabbergasted, thinking of our well-insulated home in the US, and what an open window would do to our heat bill.)

The tour guide explained that no one knows how long super-heated water and steam can be drawn from the earth before it might run out, so used water is returned to the ground at a distance from the power plant. This process, he said, is like fracking; at first, the power plant experienced earthquakes when forcing water back into the ground, but over time, the earthquakes ceased.

This was a fascinating tour. We walked around inside the plant and viewed the turbines and a cross-sectional model of the pipes that transport the hot water to the surrounding area. We went outside briefly (it was cold and windy!) We also got to see a short film about geothermal energy.

Everywhere we went in Southwestern Iceland, buildings were heated with radiators, even big, modern buildings. The hot water to heat the radiators was coming from geothermal power plants. Iceland is truly blessed to have this resource and the power plants to harness it!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank SECh694
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews