We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay while visiting Bishop Hill”
Review of The Gallery Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishop Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gallery Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Bishop Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I had read about Bishop Hill about 30 years ago in a weekend getaway guide but we never visited when our children were young. My wife and I stayed a couple of nights on what turned out to be the chilliest July weekend for decades. The location of the inn is ideal, just off the main road and within a short distance of all the shops and restaurants. The entire second floor of the 1856 building is dedicated to the accommodations which include a kitchen area and a pleasant sitting-room. Downstairs is the shop and check-in - Marti stays around until 4 PM and then goes home; her husband Jim arrives later at night and stays on site until morning. The "Yellow" room we chose was very nicely decorated and very clean and is the only room facing the front and the village green. The only drawbacks were loud noise from the nearby tavern on the Saturday night and the stinky tap water - the latter probably due to sulfur in the water supply. Since this is just a B(ed) and not a B & B, we ate one breakfast at the bakery and the second at one of the local restaurants. The day we left, an antique car show was taking place on the main green so the village was much busier than normal.

Room Tip: (1) For a quieter stay, ask for one of the two rooms on the back of the house. (2) You have to go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had a lovely stay there for our son's graduation from Knox College. About a 1/2 hour drive to the college, so this is a nice alternative for visiting parents. Lovely hosts and very interesting little town. Be warned that this is an "inn" and not a B&B, they do not serve breakfast. But the breakfast at the nearby Filling Station is very tasty and amazingly cheap. And the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fossilexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We recently found ourselves in Bishop Hill (pop. 150) because I was attending a class reunion at Knox College and could not find a room in Galesburg. What a lucky turn of events! Talk about going back in time. Wow! Everything about this place is fascinating, from the monuments in the town park to the cemetery. The Gallery Inn is no exception, and is the perfect place to stay. Immaculately clean, very comfortable beds, nicely managed, reasonably priced and as an added bonus, it comes with an interesting history. Three of us had the Yellow Room and the Blue Room. Both were just right. On top of everything else, you'll love co-owner Marti. We didn't meet her husband Jim, but I can't imagine that he's anything but a gracious host as well.

For an early breakfast, walk to the "Filling Station" for excellent Swedish pancakes, or if you can hold on till 9:00 a.m., you might try the nearby Bishop Hill Bakery. For nightlife, there is (believe it or not) a lively and very welcoming bar within walking distance. (Everything is within walking distance, actually.)

One caveat regarding the Gallery Inn: the rooms are on the second floor, and there is no elevator. If this isn't a problem, you'll love it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

As I planned a recent trip through central Illinois, I discovered that Bishop Hill was between our starting point and our first stop. I knew vaguely of the history of Bishop Hill, I decided to make it a part of our itinerary. I made reservations at The Gallery Inn, and my wife and I were rewarded with an exceptional experience. The Inn is exceptionally clean and perfectly maintained. Marti is exceptionally gracious and helpful, in our case going way beyond the bounds of any expectation to return to us two items we had accidently left behind in our room when we checked out. Whether as a destination for a time away from home or as a part of a longer trip, The Gallery Inn is exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife and i were looking for a quiet,romantic night away and didn't want to spend the night in a boring traditional motel.We happened to stop in Bishop Hill,Illinois and found a wonderful Charming Inn(The Gallery Inn).We were warmly greeted by Marti(Jim & Marti Johnson).She told us of the history of the building and gave us a nice tour of a few of the rooms.We decided to stay in the Yellow Room,a comfortable queen bed,nicely decorated and its own bathroom w/shower.This beautiful,cozy room was a perfect way to end our vacation,we slept like babies in this amazing room.The next morning we sat out on the balcony and had a nice cup of coffee(coffee maker in room) along with a fresh baked danish from the Bakery down the road.Each room has its own bathroom,tv,coffee & snacks.
There is a "sitting" room on the same floor and it was nice to go sit there and read a book and the newspaper.A kitchen area is also on this floor(2nd)and has a refridgerator,Microwave,coffee/tea/hot cocoa..etc.
What a beautiful place & building,we will be back next year and plan on staying longer.Remember..this is not a Bed&Breakfast but a very nice,peaceful,historic building.The city of Bishop Hill is a wonderful destination and the Gallery Inn just adds to the charm.Just to let you know i am in NO WAY associated with the owners/Host in any way shape or form.We found a gem of a place to stay and wanted to share.(bishophillgalleryinn.com) Thank you to Jim & Marti Johnson for making it a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are only on the 2nd floor,not sure about Handicap access.call ahead (309)927-3080
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rather-be-camping911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gallery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Inn

Address: 109 W. Main Street, Bishop Hill, IL 61419
Region: United States > Illinois > Bishop Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop Hill
Price Range: £79 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace, comfort and serenity await you at The Gallery Inn. Overlooking the village park from the second floor of the historic 1856 Colony Administration Building, immaculate guest rooms feature a private en suite bath, queen bed with pillow-top mattress, complimentary in-room coffee and snacks, satellite TV, heating and air-conditioning with individual climate controls, and abundant amenities. All of Bishop Hill's shops, restaurants and museums are within easy walking distance of The Gallery Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing