We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed!”
Review of Himalayan Restaurant - CLOSED

Himalayan Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Closed!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Alas, this location of Himalayan is now closed.
This was our favorite Indian Restaurant. The kids loved it. They used to prepare flavorful food without making it spicy. We are going to miss this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewbieMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Delicious and satisfying”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My friends and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner at The Himalayan one Friday evening in October 2012. It is a quick mile or so drive from the Hilton Indian Lakes Resort, and it was nice to get away from the hotel for a while. It was easy to find, in a small strip mall--mapping services correctly locate it. We arrived without a reservation but were seated promptly. Service was excellent and the menu offered a variety of Indian and Nepalese dishes. The atmosphere was clean, semi-formal, and comfortable. Good for families without small children, business dinners, dates, and special occasion outings.

The vegetable pakoras were large, tasty, and almost too filling as an appetizer; we also had some papad, which was good, if standard. The special biryani was delicious, the lamb curry was mouthwatering, the chickpea curry wonderful, the breads perfect, the raita refreshing, the rice aromatic and al dente, and the mango "ice cream" dessert was enjoyed, although it was a bit cloyingly sweet.

My only real complaint is that the Nepalese vegetable "momo" appetizer amounted to standard asian-style steamed dumplings (non-fried pot-sticker)--in other words, they were mundane. However, the momo might also have been perfectly authentic--it tasted good, if mild, but was just not what I was expecting. Had they been pictured on the menu, I would have known to choose something else.

We really had ordered more food than we could eat, but we wanted to have some variety! As a result, we paid a bit more than necessary, though this was a fairly good value, coming to about $20 per person excluding beverages or tip. (We did not imbibe, though it was offered.) I would definitely recommend The Himalayan to those seeking some spicy fare, and I'll definitely go back again when I'm next in the area.

And thanks to the waiter who ran out to our car to deliver a forgotten electronic device before we drove away!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeaEarleGreyHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just the job”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My friend and I showed up tired and hungry about half an hour before the posted closing time and the restaurant was quiet. We were very quickly attended to, had plenty of good choices on the menu, enjoyed the food and drink (the lamb curry was great) and we were able to finish up quickly and take boxes away of what we couldn't eat.

Fair prices and good quality - no complaints

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bligey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Vindaloo”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Like the previous reviewer, I too am from the UK and have always struggled to find a decent Indian in the US. Went to Himalayan a little dubious and was very pleasantly surprised.
Restaurant was roomy and staff were very attentive.
Food was great. Had the Vindaloo with Garlick Naan and Basmati rice.
Will certainly return next time I'm in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zippy_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Used to live in the uk & now crave a decent curry. This place definitely hit the spot, best naan bread I've had outside the uk. Will definitely be back. Great food & great value.

Helpful?
Thank sage0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himalayan Restaurant also viewed

Bloomingdale, DuPage County
Bloomingdale, DuPage County
 
Bloomingdale, DuPage County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing