We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifull hotel - elegant rooms - complete surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Pell Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautifull hotel - elegant rooms - complete surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

WOW! What a shocker in lil' old Bloomington Illinois. We had to go to Bloomington for a graduation. From the moment we walked into this hotel with its marble floored lobby and leather easy chairs, conveniently located minutes off of the highway, we knew we were in for a nice stay. The check-in was quick and effortless. Now we had 2 adults and 3 teenagers in our party. So I had to really check around to find an affordable place to stay. When we travel together (which doesn't happen often due to finances) we have stayed at some run-down, dingy, dark places. But when the desk clerk at the Hawthorn Suites gave us extra towels because there were 5 people staying in our room, the towels were thick, luxurious, Turkish towels - not the cheap crunchy kind we always get at $79.00 motels. They were so nice that, as a Mom, those stupid towels took my breath away. Oh well- let's move on, shall we? When we moved toward the elevator to go to our room, we passed the door to the swimming pool. It was an indoor kidney-shaped pool with a wall of windows looking outside. Being January in the Midwest, the kids were looking forward to swimming in the pool the entire drive to Bloomington so they wanted to take a closer look. The pool room was hot and humid, the water warm. But the best surprise was yet to come. Our room was spacious and large, with a full-sized sofa and two queen beds. At the other end of the room, there was a microwave, a small refrigerator, a FULL-SIZED coffee maker that made 12-cups of coffee, and a couple of cabinets. Being close to the highway, I would have expected noise from the road- there was none. Also, we were able to open the windows about 4". We liked this feature- although because of the cold weather, we closed them right up. There was the requisite writing desk, an extremely comfortable easy chair with ottoman and reading light. The beds were very comfortable with bottom sheet, top sheet, and another top sheet double-encasing the blanket (so that the nasty blanket doesn't chafe your precious skin when you sleep- HA!). Very elegant set-up. I think there were four pillows on each bed. We did have to call for bedding for the couch (and make the bed ourselves). In the morning, they offered you a little buffet breakfast with eggs, sausage, hash browns, three kinds of juice, cereal and milk (no sugared cereals tho), but, to beat the band--- they had a self-serve waffle iron with very simple directions to make your own hot waffles from scratch. We all had fresh, piping hot waffles in the morning for breakfast! What fun, to watch the kids making their own waffles! The only downside to the property that I could see was that the room was heated by an electric heater near the window. It was not silent... But then again, it was NOT the ancient model that you'd associate with a Holiday Inn from the 1970s either. The heater had an LED- display where you would set the temperature you wanted the room. Then the little heating unit would do the rest automatically, turning itself on-and-off as it regulated the temperature in the room. All in all, we were absolutely DELIGHTED with this hotel! What a fabulous value! A business person could live in this room very very comfortably for an extended period of time... You have a small kitchen area and a large room to do with what you will. A large family can NOT find a value like this anywhere. We were just THRILLED. What a shock and a surprise. The hotel employees were polite and courteous, and the hotel really exceeded our expectations. We will look for Hawthorn Suites from now on whenever we travel. And we might just be able to travel a little more with our brood, since we can travel a little more confidently for $79.00, knowing that we can expect to stay at a such a nice hotel chain for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlesniak262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    287
    145
    58
    32
See reviews for
360
171
64
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

This hotel should recieve rewards for its friendly service and cleanliness. My family and I travel a lot and this hotel has got to be one of the best we've ever stayed in. I can't even mention how clean, how big the rooms were, and how tasty and filling the hot breakfast was. If your going to the Normal-Bloomington area stay at the Hawthorn Suites!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark4fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

Hats off! The service was fantastic, the breakfast beautiful they just got new waffle makers and had pancakes, biscuits gravy sausages and bacon!!!!! They have this thing called the winter package and you can get a room for only $65. Man i'm telling you, no matter what age i'm 50 my sons 21 my daughters 16 and my wife who's 49 enjoyed this hotel like no other. we were taking a trip from Georgia to Wisconsin and there was no other hotel that could even compare. Just great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris2traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
194 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

This is a decent budget accommodation -- clean, simple. The breakfast is typical of this type of motel. As with many modern motels, the walls are somewhat thin, so you can hear lots of activity in the hallways. The motel is literally right next to the Interstate, but we stayed on the opposite side and did not hear any noise from the road.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richnindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sthomasbvi
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed here over a year ago and had problems with bugs and the air conditioning. The manager was very friendly and helpful and I agreed to return on future visits. I stayed again this summer and again had problems with the a/c, and bugs. Not dead one's, LIVE BUGS. Worst yet, the people I spoke to about this problem seemed uninterested almost as if this is to be expected. Not for $109 a night! Not again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sthomasbvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

this hotel was great. Clean, comfortable, courteous staff. Nice large rooms and fantastic hot breakfast---biscuits and gravy, eggs, bacon, hashbrowns, toast, danishes, juice...THE WORKS! We'll definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEJOY103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

We travel to Bloomington 2-3 times a year to meet with family and also for an annual convention. Have stayed at 4 competitors in area, this one remains our favorite. Have stayed here 5 times they are consistent with good service, clean location and good value. If you have a problem, they are responsive and efficient.
Rooms: standard room $79 booked direct, 2 queen beds and kitchenette in room. Comfortable bedding, sitting area with media, desk/table area, kitchenette has small fridge, microwave, coffeepot, sink area, cabinets, etc. Baths are small but good lighting and nice toiletries, vanity area outside bath is nice for getting ready.
Atmosphere: Very nice, fireplace and sitting area in lobby, comfortable dining area, small but relaxing pool area. They have several conference rooms available- they look more on the business side but flexible spaces to accomodate small to huge groups.
Value: good. Includes a hot breakfast each morning - good selection, hot coffee throughout day, wednesdays there is a social with complimentary wine and desserts. Small workout room with cardio machines. There is a desk area with computer/internet in the lobby/lounge area.
Kids: there is a nice and clean pool area.
Safety: well located close to highway 55, secure facility and overall safe hotel.
Nearby: Cracker Barrel restaurant next door, also there is a McDonalds with large play area next door.
Our recommendations for area: great shopping in this area, 5 movie complexes nearby and we love getting our Mexican fix at Chevys (I recommend the margarita sampler to start things off right- and can't go wrong with their fajitas)...

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BearsFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
4.1 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 22 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
0.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Bloomington
Ramada Limited Bloomington
#14 of 22 in Bloomington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Address: 1 Lyon Ct, Bloomington, IL 61701-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington lies at the intersection of Interstate 55 and 74 near Illinois State University and Illinois Wesleyan University as well as several major corporations. We are an all-suite hotel, and each suite comes equipped with a sofa bed, kitchenette, refrigerator and microwave, perfect for a weekend getaway or longer stay. Enjoy our newly renovated lobby and stop in to On the Rocks, our lobby bistro, for a meal or beverage, or have room service deliver your meal within minutes. Free amenities include hot breakfast buffet, USA Today and local newspaper, and high-speed Internet access. We offer a 24-hour fitness center, heated indoor pool, meeting space, business center, guest laundry, dry cleaning service and express checkout. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our Bloomington, IL, hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Hawthorn Suites Bloomington
Bloomington Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing