We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time Traveler.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Time Traveler.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

One of the side effects of traveling in time, is a longing for home. M'lady and I were quite spent after a long day of traveling. There were tales of winter storms being spun on the news, and so we sought shelter immediately. But from whence would proper accomodations arrive? We begged the same question of our companion, Priceline. (activating modern-translation)

So yeah, we totally snagged a great deal on this one. It totally looked like a giant castle, we even bragged cellularly (if that's a word?) to our daughters back home. Daddy was taking mommy to a castle for our anniversary. Even had a canopy bed so we felt all royal and stuff.

Bummer that the restaurant was closed down, we enjoyed that many years ago and were looking forward to remembering. But there was a free breakfast buffet in the morning that....well....I'll be nice and leave it there. ("Gratuity not included" is not a phrase you should tell someone who came to eat in their pj's...especially when you're serving cafeteria eggs and they had to hike a "par 7" to arrive.) Oops....should've left it there.

The hot tub was hot. No lie. I was cruising around the pool, and my wife decided to stick her toe in the hot tub, shriek a bit, and sit on the edge. I obviously took this as a challenge to prove my manliness, and came over to fully submerge myself....only to shriek like a little girl, and exit the hot tub, skin red all over. We called front desk, they came and verified...yup, officially "too hot"....and added some cold water.

Altogether it's a great hotel, and usually you'll leave feeling like you've stayed somewhere usually only rich people get to stay. It's got a great location, across from tons to do/buy/eat. I say it's a pretty good place to rest your head if you're head is in need of resting.

Confession: We're not time travelers. I just wanted a good intro. :)

Room Tip: 1st Floor is pool traffic. 2nd Floor is lobby traffic. Aim high....but plan for a slow elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILLWICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary E, Director of Sales at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize the the problems that you had during your stay. We are addressing these issues. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    78
    67
    23
    27
See reviews for
85
73
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My mom and I go to the Chateau every year and stay one or two nights then shop in Bloomington. Service is great, price even better and food is very good. This time the restaurant was closed for remodeling but we had a great free breakfast. I would highly recommend!! Great place for a couples getway too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary E, Director of Sales at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will choose The Chateau on all of your future shopping trips. Tony Roma's restaurant is scheduled to open in February, so next time you come, we will have a restaurant on site. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

There was a convention in town and we could not find a room. A clerk at a competitor hotel recommended The Chateau. Nice lobby and the main desk staff was helpful. The rates were good and the room was clean and nice. It was pouring rain so we stayed at the hotel restaurant for dinner and ordered the burger special which was quite delicious. Breakfast is included, but I had to go looking for the server to get a second cup of coffee. If you go to the Beer Nuts factory on your visit to Bloomington, just make a small purchase and show your Chateau room key and get a free 1/2 pound of Beer Nuts!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeOfSun137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary E, Director of Sales at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also glad to know about the special deal at Beer Nuts. We can let our guests know about that. I hope that you will visit us again whenever you return to Bloomington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The breakfast setting was better than most.

They "oversold" their double queen rooms, which meant we couldn't extend our stay another night. We had a pet with us & they only allow pets on the first floor, and apparently only double queens are on the first floor so we had to go. (As it turned out, the Candlewood Suites where we ended up spending the extra night was much nicer!)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CarrotKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary E, Director of Sales at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience at our hotel. We are addressing this issue with our staff. I hope that you will give us another chance to give you the excellent service that you deserve. Thank you for making us aware of this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

A wonderful experience, especially for the price. The Chateau is a pleasant break from most chains. Clean room, clean bathroom, and friendly staff, plus extras, such as a made to order breakfast. Sending this review is a bit difficult since it seems to want more words.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary E, Director of Sales at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We are glad that you had such a great stay at our hotel. Thank you so much for your review. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmwood Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our family stayed at the Chateau Hotel for Parents Weekend for Illinois State University.
We had about 20 in our group and we were all VERY PLEASED! Everything from the service at the front desk (Ashley, Beth & Yaw were so professional and nice to us) to the cleanliness of the room and the wait staff at the breakfast buffet. My brother even utilized the shuttle from the hotel to the campus and it was completely FREE! We will certainly be back as our daughter is only a freshman and have lots of visits planned. Thank you especially Ashley, Beth & Yaw

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary carol z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary E, Director of Sales at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please ask for our special ISU Family rate when you make future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I've always wanted to see the inside of this hotel on our many trips to ISU. Very quaint, excellent customer service, great complimentary hot breakfast. Furnishings were from european jaunts of first owner of the hotel. Different and fun experience!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary E, Director of Sales at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are happy that you decided to stay with us. I'm glad that you liked our unique decor. Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We love to hear good things. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
1.6 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
4.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal Airport
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 22 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1621 Jumer Drive, Bloomington, IL 61704
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, provides guest with a unique hotel experience, combining Old World elegance with modern standards of service and hospitality. At The Chateau, you can enjoy our full size swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna or game room. You can also take advantage of our fitness center, business center, free wi-fi and guest laundry. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are available in our newly opened Tony Roma's restaurant and Lounge. Our hotel is adjacent to Bloomington's Constitution Trail, ideal for running or biking. There are numerous restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel. All parking is complimentary, and the parking lot can accommodate large vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chateau Hotel Bloomington
Jumers Chateau Bloomington
Jumers Chateau Hotel Bloomington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing