We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is very old. The plaster walls and low ceilings in your room make you feel like you are in a dungeon. It not only looks old but smells old. While the service is up to par the facility is in desperate need of updating.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy C, General Manager at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We thank you for your comments/review. We are happy to hear that the service was in line. We are constantly upgrading and improving our facility here at the Chateau. We recently (February) opened a brand new restaurant - Tony Roma's which is attached to the Hotel. We have also upgraded all common areas and are well into the room renovations. We will continue to provide you a great product at a great price. Thank you, Jeremy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    77
    67
    23
    26
See reviews for
83
72
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for one night while travelling Route 66. Katie checked us in and accommodated us with a ground floor room. She was very friendly and sweet! The room was large, comfortable and very clean. My husband is a disabled veteran and the bed was soft enough for him. It was very comfortable! Katie and Derrick were friendly and checked to see if we had everything we needed! Katie is the sweetest person we've met on the Route this year! The pool was sparkling clean. The rate was exceptional. The lobby looked fancy, but the atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxing. It's right off Veteran's Parkway/Business Loop 55 which is an alternate alignment of Route 66.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NRMedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy C, General Manager at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We thank you for your positive review/comments about our Hotel. We take pride in our customer service, and are happy to see that you received exceptional treatment. We will definitely inform and congratulate Katie and Derrick on their hard work. If ever in the area or traveling Route 66, please do not hesitate to use our property.
Thank you,
Jeremy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I grew up in central Illinois and spent 5 years of my life in the Bloomington/Normal area. Recently, I went back and visited the "twin" cities again and stayed at The Chateau Hotel. The staff was very helpful, at all hours of the day/night and the rooms where very clean and fit my needs. I was especially surprised at the new Tony Roma's restaurant that had been added near the hotel lobby. This addition to the hotel is absolutely beautiful and the food was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy C, General Manager at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Welcome back to the Bloomington/Normal area. I am happy to hear that you had a nice visit to our community and a nice stay at our hotel. I will definitely forward this review to our hotel staff and I thank you for the positive comments. We are very proud of our new restaurant, and invite you to stay at our property when ever you are visiting the "Twin" cities.
Thank you,
Jeremy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. Our room was on the 5th floor right by the elevator. It was a pretty good room for the price. Nothing fancy but it wasn't terribly outdated either. The beds were comfortable. The temperature was difficult to get to a comfortable temp. It was either too hot or too cold. The phone in the room didn't work right either. When the adjoining room would use water it was very loud on our side of the room. It was also pretty easy to hear people in the hallways. Thankfully our floor wasn't too crazy. The pool area was ok. The indoor pool was a good size, plenty of room to play and swim. It was very busy most of the time we were there though. The hot tub wasn't hot enough and the sauna did not work. Big bummer considering that was my main reason for booking this hotel. The gym was the average hotel gym. The outside of the hotel was beautiful, as was the lobby area. There is a lot of shopping and places to eat within a few miles of the hotel so location for us was great.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wretched85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy C, General Manager at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We thank you for your feedback on the Hotel. We are sorry that there were some shortcomings with your recent stay, and we hope that this will not alter your future bookings. The problems mentioned have been addressed, and we will work hard to provide you with a great product at a great price.
Thank you,
Jeremy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Booked rooms 6 weeks ago. Paid for room with brunch. I had been here in the past and wanted to treat my family to a nice finally to our 10 day vacation. At the time I was told the brunch was for hotel guests only as they were remodeling. When I arrived I was informed that the kitchen was now leased to Tony Romas and breakfast was no longer included. We drove 2 hours out of our way to spend a night here and felt slighted. The night clerk called her manager and was told that for our 2 rooms and 4 people they would give us 2 vouchers for breakfast.. totally unacceptable. And very unprofessional. You can't tell me that when they took my reservation they did not know what the plans were for 6 weeks in the future. Had we at least had advance notice we could have altered our travel plans. VERY ANGRY!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank willy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Pulling up to a castle was so neat my daughter said she felt like a queen haha we had a really nice time and our room was very nice we spent some time in the pool and spa area was a really big pool and very nice we hope to come back and spend more time at your hotel thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heatheangel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy C, General Manager at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for the positive reviews/comments about our hotel. I have a 4 year old and everyday she tells me to fun at the castle. The hotel truly is set up for family travel, stay-cations, and business travelers alike. If ever in the area, please visit.
Thank you,
Jeremy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for many times at that was the case here. Great rate from Expedia. Well below what the other hotels were offering. This hotel definitely needs some TLC because the material condition isn't up to par with its local competitors. Too bad because the decor does have an "old world" charm to it. Bed was soft (a la old mattress) and pillows were hard as a rock. The room was clean except could use a little vacuuming under the bed.

With that being said I couldn't beat the price. For a single night stay it was adequate. It also has a Tony Roma's on site which was good enough for a basic meal. Would I stay again? Sure, if the price is significantly lower than competitors like it was this visit.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy C, General Manager at The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We thank you for your Feedback on the Hotel. We try and stay competitively priced, and work hard to provide great service and a nice product. If in the area, please do not hesitate to utilize our property.
Thank you,
Jeremy Cruthis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
1.6 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
4.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal Airport
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington
Residence Inn Bloomington
#5 of 22 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1621 Jumer Drive, Bloomington, IL 61704
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center, provides guest with a unique hotel experience, combining Old World elegance with modern standards of service and hospitality. At The Chateau, you can enjoy our full size swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna or game room. You can also take advantage of our fitness center, business center, free wi-fi and guest laundry. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are available in our newly opened Tony Roma's restaurant and Lounge. Our hotel is adjacent to Bloomington's Constitution Trail, ideal for running or biking. There are numerous restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel. All parking is complimentary, and the parking lot can accommodate large vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chateau Hotel Bloomington
Jumers Chateau Bloomington
Jumers Chateau Hotel Bloomington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing