We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property and excellent customer service!”
Review of Vrooman Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vrooman Mansion
Ranked #1 of 2 Bloomington B&B and Inns
Libertyville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming property and excellent customer service!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at Vrooman Mansion last weekend for the 2nd time. The innkeeper and staff treated us like royalty. The quality of the room, including the linens and towels, was top notch. They even brought us chocolate covered strawberries as an evening snack!

The best thing of all was they allowed us to bring in our 2 sons, daughter-in-law, and 6 grandsons for breakfast. They served us our special request of lemon pancakes, frittata, and banana split fruit cup. It was deeelicious. Yum!

I would highly recommend staying at the Vrooman Mansion the next time you're in Bloomington.

Room Tip: We stayed in Letitia's room this time and were worried about sharing a bathroom. It was not an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lfgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
45
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife & I and another couple from St. Louis stayed overnight @ Vroomand Mansion in late October during a visit to Bloomington for a hockey game. The location is secluded, yet has easy access to all Bloomington-Normal sites. The property is historic and beautiful, with the history lesson a must-do on check-in for a full appreciation of the mansion. The bedrooms are well-appointed with period furnishings & modern conveniences, and the common spaces are warm & inviting. Our breakfast was delicious & filling. Innkeeper Robin and the rest of the Mansion staff were very friendly & made us feel right at home. They are obviously proud of their work and of their Mansion, as they should be. Thanks to the Vrooman Mansion Family for a wonderful visit. We hope to join you again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and reserve a room with a private bath, unless you enjoy meeting people when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMCSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We gave our daughter and son in law a weekend at the Vrooman Mansion for their anniversary. They had to cancel their original anniversary weekend because their 4 month old son was airlifted to a hospital that weekend. Fortunately he is improving. They loved the two room suite and comfortable open floor. They forgot clothes there, and the owner was so gracious to call and tell us. Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: We picked the Carl Vrooman room because it was more masculine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The Vrooman Mansion was our meeting place after not seeing each other since 1978. The incredible atmosphere and warmth of the stately Vrooman Mansion helped to create the amiance that we desired within our own personal reconnection; as we were surrounded with such peace and joy within a beautiful setting. Not only had we gone back in time within our own lives, but also, within the history of our Country. We felt a very sweet spirit and it actually felt like 'home' to us. We stayed for two nights and each morning the breakfast's were custom designed to what we had requested, but I have to say, that the Staff and Owners of the Vrooman Mansion went above and beyond our expectations as we truly felt, and experienced first hand, their servants heart towards as their honored guests. "Our Mansion"...that we now call it will be a memory we will treasure in our hearts...forever! And, of course, we do plan to return as it has now become a part of who we are...knowing that the best is yet to come!

Room Tip: Every room is unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bstorm204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2010

If you want to go for a relaxing weekend getaway, in the nsion is the place to go. Clean rooms, private baths. The inn keepers, are also gracious hosts and wonderful cooks! You won't be be disappointed! President Lincoln actually gave a speech in the lawn here and the site is clearly marked. President Kennedy was also a guest here. Quaint, quiet place to relax. Christmas time is also a great time to go with the lovely decorations!
Bev and Neal

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cv46bk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, IA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I stayed at the Vrooman Mansion in early August on business travel. There aren't proper words to describe the wonderful stay I had. The staff and owners welcomed me like I was long lost family... The yard invited me into the home with rows of beautiful plants and flowers. The side patio was the perfect place to enjoy a bottle of wine with other guests in town on business. Not to mention, they were hosting a cooking class in the evening and the other guests and I got the "left over" treats- homemade ice cream, etc.) The owner of the mansion has painstakingly restored much of the home to it's original grandeur. I got a personal tour of the carriage house that he is turning into two suites. They will be amazing when they are finished. I WILL be returning! The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. To top off the visit, I took what might be the most relaxing bubble bath of all time in my suite.

You know your stay was amazing when you're traveling for business...and you hate to go back home. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moxyblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morton, illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Not sure what the glowing reviews are for. We have stayed at numerous B&B's and found this one to be decent, but not outstanding. All in all, it is a fairly average B&B.

We had little to complain about. The bed was OK. Not overly comfortable, but far from horrible. A little noisy getting in and out of it. It was quite hot when we arrived. So, we cranked up the A/C and fan. This made it bearable, but not comfortable.

Everything else was fine. What we found unusual was that nothing seemed to be done particularly well, but nothing was done incorrectly. Breakfast was good. In the top half of all B&B's that we have stayed at, but not near the top. The house itself was in good shape considering the age, but definitely needs work in areas. The neighborhood is OK. We sat on the porch and watched the neighbors drink, cookout and play games in the yard. Very much a working class area surrounding. Near enough to shopping, but nothing much close by. So, convenience is decent. The history of the house is not overly interesting. The antiques are pretty nice and accessible. The proprieters are friendly and accomodating. We found it to be quiet and relaxing. Parking is on street.

Overall, we would say that this is a 'safe' B&B if you haven't ever stayed at one before. You won't be disappointed and apparently will be wowed if you have limited experience. However, if you have much to compare it to, you may be a bit disappointed as it seemed rather ordinary. Ordinary isn't bad. We have stayed at places that make you feel afraid to touch anything. And, others that have breakfasts that are continental at best. Still others that were very uncomfortable -- no A/C really? You won't find any horror stories here.

I would recommend the place provided you know what you are looking for, stay at a cooler time and are interested in entertaining yourself.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
2.0 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrooman Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrooman Mansion

Property: Vrooman Mansion
Address: 701 E Taylor St, Bloomington, IL 61701-5425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vrooman Mansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Vrooman Mansion, a Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the heart of Bloomington/Normal, Illinois. The Vrooman Mansion is a historical estate situated in the quiet neighborhood of Dimmitt's Grove and offers the utmost in privacy and luxury. This bed & breakfast allows guests to explore the fine restaurants, shops, and attractions of central Illinois while providing a welcoming and comfortable home base. Guests can choose from a myriad of activities offered by the surrounding communities-as long as they can pull themselves away from their luxurious accommodations. Because of its central location-just off of I-55, I-74, Route 39 and Historic Route 66-the Vrooman Mansion is a great place for friends and family to meet. In addition, its relative proximity to the larger cities of Chicago, St. Louis and Indianapolis makes for an ideal weekend getaway for city dwellers. Make your reservation today for a pampered and luxurious experience at the beautiful and historic Vrooman Mansion. Make your reservation today for a pampered and luxurious experience at the beautiful and historic Vrooman Mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Vrooman Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing