We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and Comfort”
Review of Vrooman Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vrooman Mansion
Ranked #1 of 2 Bloomington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Character and Comfort”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Built in 1869 by the Scott family, the Vrooman Mansion once hosted debates between Abraham Lincoln and Stephen A. Douglas. Julia, the Scott's daughter, was born in the mansion and died in the same room she was born in 104 years later. She married Carl Vrooman, the former of which was the Assistant Secretary of Agriculture under President Wilson. Today it is a beautiful bed and breakfast and we chose to spend a night here on a Route 66 cross country adventure. After a long day of driving from Chicago and sightseeing along the way, it was a most relaxing place to unwind.

Pretty much the whole house is open to the guests who stay there. Beautiful common rooms filled with photos and antiques from the Vrooman family. Lots of books to read, snacks to munch on, curios to peek into and a piano that plays itself, filling the halls with music any time of day. The house is Italianate in style and the large porch really lives up to it. We enjoyed sitting out here, enjoying the quiet residential setting. We were in the Julia Vrooman Suite which was lusciously adorned with period furniture, articles of vintage clothing and little touches that lend to the period of the house. The goodies in the bathroom were especially nice and the bed provided a good nights sleep. I loved the way the light came through the lace curtains in the morning. Breakfast was fantastic. Multiple courses prepared with love and an endless supply of coffee, tea and juices. The dining parlor was probably the grandest room in the house and it was neat to start our day surrounded by stained glass, dark wood furniture and a huge silver and porcelain collection. The mansion didn't have many guests the night we were there so we were lucky enough to peek in some of the other rooms. They are all large and inviting and hold a lot of personal treasures from the families worldwide journeys and diverse interests.

Vrooman Mansion is in a residential area, so there really isn't anything in easy walking distance, but there are a lot of restaurants, shopping areas and of course, the universities in easy driving distance. Street parking is free at the mansion. As is wifi which always wins points.

We also really enjoyed spending time with the staff. Brian and Kate were extremely welcoming and fun people to get to know. Brian gave a very knowledgeable house tour and has done a great job fixing and restoring things around the house. Kate is a very gracious hostess and provided the fabulous breakfast. I would highly suggest Vrooman Mansion to any travelers in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
44
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for my university's Homecoming. As a history lover, Vrooman Mansion looked like a neat place to stay. Far surpassed my expectations! Stayed in the Charlevoix Room in the Carriage House. The beauty of the room is incredible. The bathroom is exceptional! The copper soaking tub, the walk in slate shower with multiple shower heads.... loved it!

The staff was attentive and Brian gave a great tour. The food was outstanding! Breakfast was a baked pear with vanilla creme, sausage, spinach and bacon soufflé and turtle cheesecake pancakes! Perfect blend of savory and sweet.

Had the pleasure of meeting Dana, one of the owners, as he worked on an outdoor area. It is clear that the Mansion is a labor of love. Truly, your property is fabulous! Looking forward to coming back for another stay! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLWarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourbonnais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What an amazing experience! Vrooman Mansion in Bloomington, Il is so very romantic! It was my boyfriend's 60th birthday, and they helped to make it a memorable experience for him. The historic setting was beautiful. We stayed in the Carl Vrooman suite (it was described as being masculine, so I booked that room), and it was very warm and comfortable. They provided all of the snacks a man would enjoy (beer nuts of different varieties, pretzels with mustard dipping sauce, chips and salsa, pita chips, etc), his favorite beer (Yuck! I'm not a beer drinker), and a small birthday cake. Additionally, they accommodated our vegetarian lifestyle with suggesting a great eatery for dinner and a delightful, filling breakfast. The staff was top notch. You can't go wrong with making the Vrooman Mansion part of your travel plans.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Vrooman Mansion in Bloomington Illinois is a perfect choice for a romantic celebration, girl's week-end, or just a overnight stay in the area. Prices compare reasonably with other local lodgings but the grace & elegance of this lovingly preserved historic mansion and the delicious full breakfast is a much better value. The bedrooms are spacious and uniquely furnished with beautiful antiques. Letitia's Room is additionally decorated with a collection of hat pins and period clothes. From the ample outside porches to sitting rooms on two levels there is plenty of room to relax and enjoy the ambience during your stay. A variety of snacks, coffee and tea are available in the TV room. The hosts are very accomodating to assisting with your needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enfieldwatersprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a very cool, nicely furnished bed and breakfast. There is a strong historical feel to the mansion, with ample material to browse and learn about the Vrooman family. The rooms are well-appointed, many with private bathrooms. We stayed in the Julia Vrooman suite, which I would highly recommended. Lots of windows make the room very cheery, but shade trees outside maintain a comfortable temp in the room. It was very spacious and the bed was extra comfy! Breakfast was delicious and filling and the staff was friendly and accommodating, despite remaining "hidden" most of the time. If I lived closer, I would visit again, as a romantic getaway or girls night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My friends and I, group of 5 in our late 20's, had a wonderful stay and a beautiful breakfast experience at the Vrooman Mansion. We arrived later than expected (10pm, rather than 8pm as agreed upon) but they were so kind to accommodate us through it all, we really do appreciate it.

I arranged this visit for my friends visiting from Boston as a surprise and they didn't expect this kind of accommodation for the night since it was just a stop over between Chicago and St. Louis. When we arrived at 10pm, the neighborhood was dark and we had to park on the street. We had no problem with this but I think they were expecting a regular boring hotel so it definitely raised some eyebrows even before we stepped in. We found our host patiently waiting in the foyer and everything unfolded nicely after that, from our beautiful rooms, over the top amenities, to an amazingly delicious breakfast with other friendly patrons.

The Vrooman Mansion is a wonderful property with unbelievable service that will make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as it can be. It's definitely a necessary upgrade from the roadside hotel/motels for those that are hosting out-of-town visitors!

We will be sure to book with them again if we are in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourbonnais, IL
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Through the years my husband and I have been in some amazing B&B's. As he had other plans for the weekend, I decided a friend and I would look for a place to have "girl time." I spoke with Kate at the Vrooman Mansion and made reservations for one night. However; from the moment we entered the foyer was our deciding factor to try and book another evening! We can't begin to described what a wonderful, delightful time we spent in this astonishing B&B! The history of this mansion (told to us from "Brian"); along with the "other personable and professional staff" went far and beyond any hospitality I've experienced from other B&Bs! We were so fortunate to be able to sit down with Dana and Pam (the innkeepers) and go through their experiences in making this mansion a place that's not only "elegant" but a warm feeling of "home!" They truly have a "love" for this project of restoration. Wonderful couple! When we went down for breakfast we were greeted with a beautiful smile and a great time visiting other guests. The food was not only "incredible but beautifully" presented. I'm already going to book a time for my husband and I to go back and visit but also will be booking a time for a "large number of girl friends to stay!" If you love B&Bs - you won't want to miss an opportunity to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
2.0 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
2.8 mi away
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrooman Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrooman Mansion

Property: Vrooman Mansion
Address: 701 E Taylor St, Bloomington, IL 61701-5425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vrooman Mansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Vrooman Mansion, a Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the heart of Bloomington/Normal, Illinois. The Vrooman Mansion is a historical estate situated in the quiet neighborhood of Dimmitt's Grove and offers the utmost in privacy and luxury. This bed & breakfast allows guests to explore the fine restaurants, shops, and attractions of central Illinois while providing a welcoming and comfortable home base. Guests can choose from a myriad of activities offered by the surrounding communities-as long as they can pull themselves away from their luxurious accommodations. Because of its central location-just off of I-55, I-74, Route 39 and Historic Route 66-the Vrooman Mansion is a great place for friends and family to meet. In addition, its relative proximity to the larger cities of Chicago, St. Louis and Indianapolis makes for an ideal weekend getaway for city dwellers. Make your reservation today for a pampered and luxurious experience at the beautiful and historic Vrooman Mansion. Make your reservation today for a pampered and luxurious experience at the beautiful and historic Vrooman Mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Vrooman Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing