We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vrooman Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Bloomington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice stay. The place was super clean. The breakfast was beautiful and delicious. There was so much food. The candles were lit. The player piano was playing. The customer service was perfect. Helpful yet respectful. The house is lovely. They are working hard to restore and maintain this lovely historical home. Our room, The Julia, had an attached bath, lots of natural light and comfortable furnishings.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidamy617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Spent Valentine's Day night in the Carl Vrooman Suite. Antiques and history in every room. Breakfast was egg, spinach soufflé, red velvet pancakes and bacon and sausage. Tour of the carriage house revealed two more bedrooms uniquely restored to historic work of art.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MarlaBroton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Spent Valentine's Day here at this wonderful b&b. Had a wine, cheese and fruit tray. Breakfast was quite scrumptious. Too bad it was cold and had snowed. We are planning to go back when the weather is nicer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vroomanmansion, Manager at Vrooman Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us! We would love to have you back in the summer- the side porch is even better for enjoying a nice bottle of wine ;-)

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The house is old and if you look closely, you can tell. But it's got character, the room was comfortable, and breakfast was great. All in all, a fairly typical B&B experience. I enjoyed the player piano and the house has a fairly interesting history.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddha-becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Built in 1869 by the Scott family, the Vrooman Mansion once hosted debates between Abraham Lincoln and Stephen A. Douglas. Julia, the Scott's daughter, was born in the mansion and died in the same room she was born in 104 years later. She married Carl Vrooman, the former of which was the Assistant Secretary of Agriculture under President Wilson. Today it is a beautiful bed and breakfast and we chose to spend a night here on a Route 66 cross country adventure. After a long day of driving from Chicago and sightseeing along the way, it was a most relaxing place to unwind.

Pretty much the whole house is open to the guests who stay there. Beautiful common rooms filled with photos and antiques from the Vrooman family. Lots of books to read, snacks to munch on, curios to peek into and a piano that plays itself, filling the halls with music any time of day. The house is Italianate in style and the large porch really lives up to it. We enjoyed sitting out here, enjoying the quiet residential setting. We were in the Julia Vrooman Suite which was lusciously adorned with period furniture, articles of vintage clothing and little touches that lend to the period of the house. The goodies in the bathroom were especially nice and the bed provided a good nights sleep. I loved the way the light came through the lace curtains in the morning. Breakfast was fantastic. Multiple courses prepared with love and an endless supply of coffee, tea and juices. The dining parlor was probably the grandest room in the house and it was neat to start our day surrounded by stained glass, dark wood furniture and a huge silver and porcelain collection. The mansion didn't have many guests the night we were there so we were lucky enough to peek in some of the other rooms. They are all large and inviting and hold a lot of personal treasures from the families worldwide journeys and diverse interests.

Vrooman Mansion is in a residential area, so there really isn't anything in easy walking distance, but there are a lot of restaurants, shopping areas and of course, the universities in easy driving distance. Street parking is free at the mansion. As is wifi which always wins points.

We also really enjoyed spending time with the staff. Brian and Kate were extremely welcoming and fun people to get to know. Brian gave a very knowledgeable house tour and has done a great job fixing and restoring things around the house. Kate is a very gracious hostess and provided the fabulous breakfast. I would highly suggest Vrooman Mansion to any travelers in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for my university's Homecoming. As a history lover, Vrooman Mansion looked like a neat place to stay. Far surpassed my expectations! Stayed in the Charlevoix Room in the Carriage House. The beauty of the room is incredible. The bathroom is exceptional! The copper soaking tub, the walk in slate shower with multiple shower heads.... loved it!

The staff was attentive and Brian gave a great tour. The food was outstanding! Breakfast was a baked pear with vanilla creme, sausage, spinach and bacon soufflé and turtle cheesecake pancakes! Perfect blend of savory and sweet.

Had the pleasure of meeting Dana, one of the owners, as he worked on an outdoor area. It is clear that the Mansion is a labor of love. Truly, your property is fabulous! Looking forward to coming back for another stay! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLWarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What an amazing experience! Vrooman Mansion in Bloomington, Il is so very romantic! It was my boyfriend's 60th birthday, and they helped to make it a memorable experience for him. The historic setting was beautiful. We stayed in the Carl Vrooman suite (it was described as being masculine, so I booked that room), and it was very warm and comfortable. They provided all of the snacks a man would enjoy (beer nuts of different varieties, pretzels with mustard dipping sauce, chips and salsa, pita chips, etc), his favorite beer (Yuck! I'm not a beer drinker), and a small birthday cake. Additionally, they accommodated our vegetarian lifestyle with suggesting a great eatery for dinner and a delightful, filling breakfast. The staff was top notch. You can't go wrong with making the Vrooman Mansion part of your travel plans.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
2.8 mi away
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Bloomington-Normal West, IL
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington
Residence Inn Bloomington
#1 of 22 in Bloomington
282 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Bloomington-Normal Airport, IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrooman Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrooman Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 701 E Taylor St, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61701-5425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Bloomington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomington
Price Range: £110 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vrooman Mansion Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Vrooman Mansion, a Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the heart of Bloomington/Normal, Illinois. The Vrooman Mansion is a historical estate situated in the quiet neighborhood of Dimmitt's Grove and offers the utmost in privacy and luxury. This bed & breakfast allows guests to explore the fine restaurants, shops, and attractions of central Illinois while providing a welcoming and comfortable home base. Guests can choose from a myriad of activities offered by the surrounding communities-as long as they can pull themselves away from their luxurious accommodations. Because of its central location-just off of I-55, I-74, Route 39 and Historic Route 66-the Vrooman Mansion is a great place for friends and family to meet. In addition, its relative proximity to the larger cities of Chicago, St. Louis and Indianapolis makes for an ideal weekend getaway for city dwellers. Make your reservation today for a pampered and luxurious experience at the beautiful and historic Vrooman Mansion. Make your reservation today for a pampered and luxurious experience at the beautiful and historic Vrooman Mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vrooman Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing