We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The wedding reception was held in the conference center, accomodating about 200 guests. The meal was served promptly and at the correct temperature. We stayed at the hotel following the reception, and because the single room we had reserved was not available at check-in we were upgraded to a suite for the same price. Check-in was at 3pm, and we arrived at 12 pm, but there was not a problem for early check-in and the upgrade! The room was in excellent condition, and the front desk also called to make certain everything was in order when we arrived in our room. I would reccommend this hotel and conference center for any events in the Bloomington, Illinois area.

Room Tip: All units in each of the separate buildings were quiet and well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

This was the second time that I have stayed at the property for an extended period, and I will keep this brief.

Called to make reservations and I also requested an upstairs unit. The units are similar to small studio apartments and have a full kitchen, which makes an extended stay more comfortable. But back to my request, I had a late check-in (6pm) which was also mentioned during the reservation request over the phone, and really wanted an upstairs unit. Upon arrival I was the last to check in that day and I was given a downstairs unit. Sure enough the person above was quite loud and it was disturbing. The part that bothered me the most was that a person that I referred, who reserved after I did and who checked in earlier in the day, was given an upstairs unit. Things like this make me want to find other accommodations in the future. There was also a small dog in a unit near me that barked a lot.

The space was generally clean and sufficient for my stay, aside from the placement in a lower unit most of the stay was acceptable. The continental breakfast is in need of improvement.

The stay was in December 2011 and was for seventeen days.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs unit and one away from dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unsung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESuites, General Manager at Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

It is our goal to ensure that all guest's requests are met to our fullest capabilities. Please accept our apologies, as that was not the case during your stay. I do understand how important it is, especially during a long term stay, to have your special requests taken care of in advance.

I have talked with my staff to ensure that they continue doing everything they can to take care of our guest's requests in advance. I assure you we are doing everything we can to prevent this from happening in the future. We do hope to have you as a guest of ours again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My husband and I have just checked out after a 3 night stay at the Eastland Suites. We chose the hotel because we wanted an “extended stay” type of accommodation with room to spread out. We often stay at extended stay hotels and feel competent to make comparisons. We had a pleasant stay.
We stayed in the king loft suite which has two king beds and two bathrooms. We would have chosen the one bedroom king suite if it had an easy chair. It only has a sofa. Our loft room was well laid out and comfortable in a “hotel” sort of way. The décor is attractive in soothing colors. Beds are comfortable with good bedding; sofa and chair are fine; desk, dining table and chests of drawers are basic low-end hotel furniture but serviceable. Each bathroom has a separate vanity area; the water pressure is good and the hot water plentiful. There is a nice tub/shower unit with a variable spray shower head. Towels are provided in generous quantity.
The front desk staff, all of whom appear to be quite young, is polite and helpful. Breakfast was marginally okay. We preferred to rely on cereal and fruit we brought with us. The room had a full kitchen.
We found the rooms quiet, but the hotel wasn’t very full. The hotel is on the flight path from the airport, but that didn’t bother us. Our room was on the upper level, and there are no elevators. Lugging suitcases and other luggage up the outside staircase is hard.
The rooms were very clean, and though the walls appear to be recently painted, there are areas where the surface finish has flaked off. This leaves an impression of neglect and should be touched up. All the lighting is fluorescent and not very bright. On the main level, there is only one sliding patio door for natural light and fresh air; there are no other windows. The kitchen lighting is not adequate. A couple of under-cabinet task lights would fix this.
There are attractive new “granite” counters in kitchen and baths, but the cabinets are old, and the finish is worn through in places. The cabinets should have been painted when the new counters were installed. Once again, the impression is one of benign neglect. There is a half-moon window above the bed in the loft. There is no curtain, and the morning sun comes right in to wake you up!
My overall assessment is that this is a good extended stay hotel but the details need attention. The hotel advertises a fully equipped kitchen. Our room was designed to accommodate 4 people. However, there were not enough knives, forks, and spoons for 4 people. The cutlery was mismatched and of the very cheapest kind. Glassware provided included 4 juice glasses, 2 tumblers, 1 wine glass. Though there were 4 each of dinner plates, bowls and butter plates, they were mismatched. There was a large and a small frying pan, a large spaghetti pot but no saucepan! The saucepan lid was there but not the pan. There was no baking pan or other ovenproof pan, no teakettle, no dish cloth, no napkins, and no paper towels. There was one dish towel, one hot pad, a miniscule container of dish liquid, and one packet of dishwasher detergent. The coffee maker was a very small “4 cup” unit, the kind usually found in a regular hotel room.
In the bathrooms, there was one bar of hand soap in each vanity area, and none in the separate bathtub area; there were no glasses. In the bedrooms, the hangers were of the cheapest plastic kind, and there were no trouser/skirt hangers. Next to the phone, there was a pen provided but no note pad.
To correct these kitchen and housekeeping problems would take a minimal expenditure on equipment. A check list for housekeeping to insure that every unit is properly stocked would solve the problems of missing equipment and supplies. It is often these details that make the difference between a hotel that is highly recommended and one that is given an “average” rating. I suggest that the manager “check in” to a room for a few days to understand what is needed to bring this hotel up to an “excellent” rating.
If these issues are resolved, I would rate Eastland Suites along with the best of the national chain extended stay hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from busy Veterans Parkway. Suites are located in stand alone buildings with ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganJoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed here on business, nice employees, the room was a bit old and outdated, but it worked fine....like I said, average at best. Nice beer/wine/snacks for free during happy hour, and free breakfast was the basic thawed muffins, coffee, etc....probably wouldn't stay here again, it wasn't bad, just other options for a little more coin...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel for only one day for business - not in one of the extended stay rooms but in one of the regular hotel rooms that were in a 3-story building in the back of the property. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet, but some distance from the main office. Fortunately the weather was still somewhat warm because to get to the pool or to breakfast, I had to walk across the parking lot and through the walkways between the buildings with the extended stay rooms. It wasn't a far walk, but in the winter might make me less likely to go swimming. The employees were very nice and helpful.

Really the only down side of the whole stay was that I could not get hooked up to the Internet. A few times it made the connection for only a minute then knocked me off. So I was not able to use Internet during my stay.

Room Tip: From what I can tell all the regular hotel rooms are in the building farthest from the main office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbroviak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is composed of several different 2 story and one 3 story buildings. I believe that the suites are located in the smaller 2 story buildings. Our family stayed in a double room (NOT a suite) in Building 9, the three story building and felt that it was comparable to a Quality or Comfort Inn. The room seemed a little dated, but did have up to date furniture and carpet - it was rather compact, but did include a microwave, refridgerator, and old-fashioned television (not flat screen). As an added bonus there was an additional sink and mirror in the room, which helped speed up our morning routine. The breakfast was in the main building, included waffle maker, fruit, juice, bacon, hash browns, and cheese/egg omlettes. What we loved about this hotel was that our second floor room was VERY quiet and the beds were so soft, we slept like babies :) If you don't have a car, the facilities are within walking distance of many many stores and a number of eating facilities, including Olive Garden and KFC.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorianaMonceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Very nice and comfortable atmosphere. Rooms were very nice. Enjoyed the quiteness as well as the exercise room. Loved the scenery that you have very well kept up. Loved the staff. While preparing my breakfast your staff was very helpful, kept the kitchen area cleaned and stocked up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.9 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington
Residence Inn Bloomington
#1 of 22 in Bloomington
219 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Airport
Holiday Inn & Suites Airport
#4 of 22 in Bloomington
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1801 Eastland Dr, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61704-3530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#1 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £64 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastland Suites is conveniently located one block off of Veteran's Parkway on Bloomington’s East Side. Guests start their mornings with a complimentary daily hot breakfast and unwind in the evenings with a complimentary cocktail hour Monday thru Saturday. Guests can also enjoy our indoor pool and fitness center, along with discounted passes to nearby Gold’s Gym. A perfect experience is what we sought to create with our newly remodeled Guestrooms and Suites. Our theme is casual elegance, comfort and style using warm textiles in pleasing tones to create the perfect environment for effortless relaxation. Our uniqueness comes with spacious interior as well as a plush exterior. Every suite features a patio or balcony allowing our guests access to our rich green space. Whatever may bring you to Central Illinois, Eastland Suites offers the finest accommodations and service whether you are staying a day, week, month or even longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastland Suites Hotel Bloomington
Eastland Suites Hotel And Conference Center
Eastland Hotel Bloomington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing