We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unaccommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Unaccommodating”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel was unprepared to accommodate a high volume of visitors despite having several months' advance notice of the visit. Additionally, one month prior and one week prior to my visit, an employee stated that an early check-in would be accommodated at an hour's notice. With one month, one week, and two hours' notices, the hotel had neither my room nor the rooms of 5 other guests prepared for early check-in. Lastly, the room's bathroom was not equipped with an adequate amount of towels or tissue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Trase H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    221
    72
    41
    26
See reviews for
232
120
33
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, just after check-in time, we were informed that the hotel had been sold out the night before and rooms were not yet ready. We were told it would be "a few minutes". We told the front desk staff that we were traveling with an infant, and requested the first room available. They assured us we would be the first to receive our room, then invited us to leave the line and sit in the lobby. 1 hour and 15 minutes later, we were finally given the keys to our room. To add insult to injury, later that night we were asked to again provide our credit card information because "it had been lost." We were offered nothing in exchange for the major inconveniences. We understand that these things happen, but you need to have the customer service to make up for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTBHGM1, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Tera D.
Thank you for your comments. We have used your comments and taken them for training with our staff. We apologize for you wait in the morning and know that sometimes we would be unable to accommodate the early arrival but how we handled this in disturbing. Thank you for taking the time and know that your comments is taken serious and used to improve.

Rodney Brittain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Overall, not the level of service and quality I've seen in most DoubleTree properties. Staff forgot about my pre-arrival crib request and wasn't promising in resolving it. Room just seemed dated for it's age. Event staff under-performed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Except for a lack of a suitcase rack/holder and running out of toilet paper, the room was excellent and VERY quiet, something that seems to be hard to find at other hotels these days. The staff was very friendly, kind, and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Consance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a pretty hotel in a nice location with free parking. The beds were a little soft for me and the pillows ridiculously soft/thin! Otherwise the rooms were clean, quiet, and modern. It is next door to TGIFridays.
Breakfast was good-offered made to order omelets! The buffet food was too cold to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is a bit on the pricey side for Bloomington but if you need a comfortable mattress, this is the place. Pool was nice and the staff was prompt and courteous. There is a bar in the lobby so you do not have to go far for a drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a business meeting at this hotel and were pleased with the accommodations. The conference center can accommodate groups of many sizes and was in a separate wing of the hotel. My only complaint is that I was in an adjoining room and the person on the other side was up at 5:30 am using the speaker phone on her cell phone right next to the door so the sound carried through to my room. Other than that the room was comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlw734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
1.9 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Airport
Holiday Inn & Suites Airport
#3 of 22 in Bloomington
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
#6 of 22 in Bloomington
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington
Residence Inn Bloomington
#5 of 22 in Bloomington
148 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 22 in Bloomington
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington

Property: Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
Address: 10 Brickyard Dr, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61701-7070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington, IL, is located just minutes from everything Bloomington/Normal has to offer. Our hotel in Bloomington, IL offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the BMI airport and the AMTRAK, all you need to do is tell us when you need to catch your flight or train. With our conference center set to accommodate up to 900 people, we're ready for your largest group and/or event. We're equipped with AT&T Stay Connected WiFi, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, and fitness center. We look forward to welcoming you with a warm, decadent DoubleTree Cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Doubletree Bloomington
Bloomington Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing