We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave our 15 booked rooms Away!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2006

WE booked 15 rooms in April of 06 for a softball tournament in July of 06. I have a signed contract from the hotel confirming the rooms. I called June 20th to confirm and was told they gave our rooms away. They did offer the Super 8 (which of course is not at all comparable). there are 34 teams on a waiting list and we found ourselves without accomodations. i spoke to members of the Winfield Wolverines that said they same thing happened to them next year. DONT BOOK THIS HOTEL if you want to be guaranteed a bed. State Farm insurance headquarters is there and they will bump any confirmed customer for them.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank denise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2006

For the money they charge, they sure do nickle and dime you-even after you leave!

It was a decent event-even though the staff could not handle the layout, didn't understand directions, the food was undercooked, our alcohol that we brought in to be corked and served to guests temporarily disappeared, until after the toasts, we were treated rudely by the manager of all people. All that said, we left, and now we're being charged for something they forgot to charge on the only bill that should have been charged. They took the liberty of charging the company card for their mistake! Some customer service! I'm appaled that they would even do something like that, if you're not competent enough to charge it the first time-that's your loss. Restaurants don't charge you for that drink they forgot to put on your tab after you leave.

I would not recommend having a wedding or banquet function of any sort.

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank Wondering_Knowmadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lincoln, IL
11
Reviewed 16 November 2005

We decided to book a Sweethearts package (good for one night)for two nights where our room and dinner was included. Our trip began with us standing at the check in desk for 15 minutes without seeing anyone. When someone approached the desk, they avoided eye contact grabbed a couple of papers off of the desk and walked away. When I tried to get their attention, I was briskly told someone would be there shortly. We finally got checked in and waited 10 more minutes while our gift certificates for dinner were being completed. Our room was nice but cold. It took a while for things to heat up. We decided to go to dinner and asked for the limo service that was a part of our package. We were told they would not be available until 9pm and they were also booked for our second night as well until 8:30pm. No one ever stated that we needed to book the limo in advance. I even asked during the reservation process and was told that we would be taken care of. They did try to salvage the problem by telling us that we could possibly get squeezed in but we would have to wait until they could return to pick us up. They could give no idea as to a pick up time either. Needless to say we decided to drive ourselves. The customer service at this hotel was awful. Note:Even after writing our gift certificates to a particular restaurant, they did not tell us that as a guest of the hotel we could get a 20% discount off our meal. We found this out by flipping through our room informational book after eating out.
This was not a Sweetheart Deal...it was frustrating and next time we will spend our $350 elsewhere for a 2 night stay. We will not be returning to this hotel and urge others to look elsewhere especially if you are celebrating something special such as an anniversary.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2005

The Radisson was very accommodating and allowed me to check in early since there was a room ready in the executive wing. I was informed this is the quiet wing of the hotel. The room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Having Friday's attached to the hotel was a huge plus. The free breakfast buffet was very good and the staff was attentive. Panera Bread is in the same parking lot which allowed me to bring a bagel pack to my customer. I travel on business regularly and will stay at the Radisson next time in Bloomington, IL.

Stayed: November 2005
2  Thank calmal97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Saybrook, IL
14
Reviewed 19 March 2005

Check in staff seemed harried working in their small check in booth. Suite, while it had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker, didn't have a TV in the bedroom! Fireplace wasn't functional at check in. Bed was "soft as wood". If the hotel is 100% booked as was the case when I was there, skip the free breakfast of waffles and rolls unless you want to spend an hour in line.
Complaints about my issues were met with a callous answer that I would be able to talk with the manager in 3 hours. This was even though they have a 100% satisfaction guarantee. I should have spent my $220.00 (one night) elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bloomington, IL
26
Reviewed 12 March 2005

If you are looking for a higher end hotel, you won't find a nicer one in the B/N area than this one. Plenty of room, great complimentary breakfast in the morning and I mean a hot breakfast, not fake orange juice from a machine and those tiny donuts. Plus TGIFridays is attached if you need a drink or a good meal.

  • Stayed: October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 594dinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington
Residence Inn Bloomington
#1 of 22 in Bloomington
271 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Airport
Holiday Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 22 in Bloomington
235 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Bloomington-Normal West, IL
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Bloomington-Normal Airport, IL
3.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington

Address: 10 Brickyard Dr, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61701-7070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £78 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington, IL, is located just minutes from everything Bloomington/Normal has to offer. Our hotel in Bloomington, IL offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the BMI airport and the AMTRAK, all you need to do is tell us when you need to catch your flight or train. With our conference center set to accommodate up to 900 people, we're ready for your largest group and/or event. We're equipped with AT&T Stay Connected WiFi, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, and fitness center. We look forward to welcoming you with a warm, decadent DoubleTree Cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Doubletree Bloomington
Bloomington Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing