We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and luxurious retreat for friends and...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rookhope, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wbjackfla...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and luxurious retreat for friends and family”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

An exciting arrival as there is certainly a taste of the wild in this part of England, which makes it a refreshing 'get away'. Plenty of walks walks and villages to visit as well as a beautiful waterfall nearby. It really is a majestic place to visit.

The Old Miners Hall welcomes you with a stunning entrance and reception room, with high ceilings and tasteful decor giving you a taste of grandeur, yet cozy and welcoming. The rooms have the original features including the open fire, the bedrooms are luxurious with very comfortable beds and the linen is to die for, it is such a high quality. Every room has been decorated to a high standard and everything is sparking clean.

This place makes you feel special indeed, a real unwind and pamper in the hot tub really rounds off the experience.

I will definitely go back and i have already recommended to other friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury 5 stars without a doubt”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

When we drove through rookhope and saw the old miners hall we were amazed.
You drive over a little bridge across the river and its just so picturesque, the owner was on hand with a goodies basket (champagne and flowers ) and give us a little tour.
They showed the oldies with us how to use the new sky system and all the bits and bobs with the amazing kitchen.
Every room is decked out in style and its very contemporary, lovely high ceilings and an amazing big bathroom.
the granparents where happy with the on suites as well . We travelled out to the lord cru arms which is a small drive away and the black bull.

I would reccomend this to any family as we all had a blast, the house was warm and cozy and the area beautiful.

10/10

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpful, considerate owner”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We were due to stay at this property this weekend but the bad weather stopped us from getting there. This was really disappointing for us as it was a special birthday getaway.
Nicola, the owner of the property, was so helpful and understanding and has changed our booking for a weekend later this year. She has gone above and beyond our expectations when travel insurance failed us.
We are looking forward to our stay later in the year and have Nicola to thank for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhuczok
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely Not 5*!!!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My finance arranged a get together for my 40th birthday and was really looking forward to staying here but unfortunately it wasn't what was expected.
Whilst the property is OK, it hasn't been finished to a professional standard, its clearly still work in progress. It is advertised as a detached cottage; the definition of "detached" obviously somewhat different to the rest of the rest of the UK, as the property is joined to to the cottage next door;
All the towels were still being washed when we arrived, from the previous weeks booking, so we had the owner lurking around for 45 mins when we arrived waiting for the tumble dryer to finish; not ideal when 10 of you have gone away for a birthday party, and after a 3 hour drive.
Hot tub was OK, not allowed to use it after 10pm though for some reason and had been overfilled so water was spilling over the top with only 4 of us in it.
Not a great deal to do in Rookhope, would probably look to stay somewhere with a bit more life, just with a decent shop and a proper pub, if looked to do again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2018
Thank you for your comments. The owner has advised that they were informed that you would not hesitate to recommend the property to others, and was therefore disappointed to hear you experienced issues with the property.
The owner advertises a 10pm curfew for the hot tub, as advised by the Health & Safety Executive. We ensure this is detailed on our website to allow customers to make an informed decision when choosing a property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbP53...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not all that...”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with group of friends in February for my fiancées 40th birthday and have to admit I was somewhat disappointed. Whilst the property is fine, and offers almost all you need for a weekend away, in my opinion it isn’t the 5 star accommodation it purports to be.

A lot of the white walls have scuff marks, especially around the stairs. The wooden stair banisters clearly aren’t finished, with foam protruding from the gaps and
the wood left unpainted. Some of the finishing, around plug sockets etc, is pretty shoddy it has to be said; not what I would expect from a property describing
itself as "luxurious;" more "half finished". Also felt some of the rules around the use of the hot tub were quite draconian; namely not being able to use it after 10pm, which seems un-necessarily early.

Beds were excessively soft and some of the rooms, as you are ordered to leave the heating on all day, are unbearably hot, even in winter.

As for the £200.00 house keeping deposit, do not be under any illusion that this will be refunded to you on your leaving the property. The conditions for its return
are ambiguous to say the least as there are no terms and conditions, no inventory and no one comes to check over the property before you leave. We left Monday morning having not even broken 1 glass or left 1 mark on the already in need of redecorating walls. We were informed a whole week later that there was a small "ink like" stain on one of the bed sheets so £70 was being deducted from our house keeping bond. No drinks were taken upstairs during our stay however and neither were any of us sitting around like children with colouring in books so the allegation this "stain" was down to a member of our party is refuted entirely. Our invitation to the owner and/or
her staff to actually the check the property before our departure was ignored, so to apportion blame to one of us, a week later, is somewhat dubious.

I have stayed over all the world, in places far, far nicer than this and this is the first time I have had my deposit withheld. The lack of any contract, or any sort of agreement, makes any recourse futile. So if you are considering staying here, please bear in mind that your "house keeping bond" is really just an additional amount
you need to pay for the "privilege" of doing so.

With regards to the area, whilst the North Pennines are spectacular and certainly the area around High Force and upper Teesdale, there is absolutely nothing of note within Rookhope or the local area. We walked into the Rookhope Inn only to walk back out immediately. A small bar with an appalling selection of drinks (choice of
wines was blossom hill white or rose), I wouldn’t have any high, or even hopeful, expectations for the food menu.

In summary, The Old Miners Hall is OK. It is by no means an awful place to stay but there are better and cheaper places in far superior locations where one wont be
left with something of a bitter after taste.

Neither I, nor any of the other 8 guests would return. If you are thinking of booking a luxury cottage for a weekend away with your friends or family, I can only recommend you continue your search.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
The owner of the property has thanked you for your feedback and wanted to address a few of the issues raised in her comments below;

'On 22nd February we received an email from Simon B advising we 'had an absolutely wonderful property in a wonderful area ;I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend' we then received an update on 26th February 2018
Following a deduction of £70 for a damaged luxury Sheradon sheet as this review by the client was posted online which totally conflicts with the earlier response from the customer.

In relation to the Hot tub being available until 10pm - This is clearly stated on our booking agents website so any guest who makes a booking has all the information provided to them before any payment is taken.

With regards to the beds being too soft and heating unbearably hot -
The beds are very expensive luxury hotel quality (Hypnos) they are classed as firm. The temperature outside is well below freezing and the heating is controlled by a thermostat on first floor. All rooms have thermostats on radiators and windows to open, this is demonstrated to all guests upon arrival.

The £200 housekeeping deposit again is clearly stated on the booking agent's website. The property has very expensive furniture, furnishings, bedding and equipment so all groups are recommended to carry their own accidental damage insurance.

The guests vacated on the Monday 19th then the housekeeping team of four carried out works on Friday 23rd and the refund £130 was transferred on the Saturday 24th.

Any negative feedback is always taken on board and we sincerely apologise for scuff marks which were last painted out 4 weeks ago by a decorator. The staircase was hand made by Theresa Spinks last year and waxed so we are not going to paint the character out but there is a 10cm x 2cm strip of foam on the bulkhead and we will remove this. We will look to touch up walls whenever we do not have a back to back booking

The property was rented out approx. £886 and sleeps 10 persons and includes a bottle of Champagne upon arrival lots of fresh flowers and a hot tub in a log cabin. That equates to £29.53 each per night.

Rookhope is in County Durham and in an Area of Outstanding Natural beauty.

Kind regards,

The owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish V
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“21st Birthday Bash”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Booked this fantastic house to celebrate my daughters 21st Birthday. Excellent choice. House was excellent with everything we needed. Special touches added, included fresh flowers and a bottle of champagne for the birthday girl. Loads of lovely walks around the house and the local pub - the Rookhope Inn was a couple of mins walk. Nicola made us most welcome - thankyou! Would recommend this property for a family gathering.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcp1987
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in idyllic location”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We returned from a gorgeous long weekend break celebrating my husbands 30th birthday on Monday. We received a very helpful welcome pack and hamper on arrival. The fresh roses in many rooms were a lovely touch.
The house is stunning, tastefully decorated with lots of original features and has everything you need to have a fun filled weekend. There is a nice big table to seat 10 and it was great for sharing meals. The living room was really cosy with plenty of seats. The hot tub area was fab and well used within our party. Very comfortable beds and pillows!! The views are amazing from the house, it’s very relaxing.
We spent most of our weekend in the house playing games and in the hot tub, but ventured out on the Sunday to high force waterfall for a little walk and then for Sunday lunch to the punch bowl in Edmundbyers which was very yummy.
100% recommend this house to anyone wanting a country break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing