We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend, we loved it!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rookhope, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
K B
south yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend, we loved it!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just returned from a 3 night stay here over bank holiday weekend for my 30th birthday and we had such an amazing time. The cottage itself is stunning and finished to a very high standard - it's homely and rustic due to many of the original features but is also fitted with modern and high quality fixtures, fittings and appliances throughout. All 3 floors are very spacious, the beds were extra comfy and the 3 ensuite bathrooms were handy especially with there being 10 of us. The hot tub is kept a short walk away from the main house in a summerhouse with a little terrace which was also lovely and a bit further up there's a BBQ area in the hills exclusively for guests. This was amazing and we BBQ'd 2 nights on the trot due to nice weather and stunning scenery. The owner Nicola is lovely, helpful and informative and gave us a tour of the house when we first arrived, it's obvious that she really does care about everything right down to the smallest of details. The bottle of fizz, tea, coffee and milk and hand soap in all the bathrooms etc is also a nice added extra. There are some beautiful walks to do in the local area although not much in the way of pubs / shops, however we took more than enough food and drink for the weekend so this didn't matter to us. It is only a short drive away from other places and we did Go Ape at Maften (40 mins away) and also visited Corbridge (30 mins away). I would highly recommend this place to others especially for large family / friends get togethers, we absolutely loved it and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erincha
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

A group of 10 of us stayed here for my brothers 30th in April. On arrival the owner and her friend (who were lovely!) were still there doing the finishing touches (we were 30 minutes early) the owner give us a full tour of the place and WOW!!! It is beautiful!! The photos do not do it justice!! We had a fab stay and would definitely go back!! We were greeted with a bottle of fizz which was lovely!

All of the rooms are decorated beautifully. 3 of the rooms have anazing views with the 2 top floor rooms having sky light windows.

The hot tub is in a separate part of the cottage but is enclosed in a hut and even that was lovely! The owner of the cottage owns a large piece of land around it so there this was ideal for a bbq on our second night.

There is a pub around 3 miles away from the cottage which we found out on the day of arrival it does not open very often. However there is another pub around 5 miles away which we went to whilst the owner done the final bits. So if it is a chill out break I would reccomend taking enough food and drinks with you as there isn’t anything around.

This is ideal for families and also a group of friends.

Thank you for a lovely stay nicola and I’m sure we will be back in the future x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren G
teesside
1 review
“beautiful setting”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

we all had a wonderful weekend here celebrating my partners 30th birthday. There was 5 couples all together and we felt there was lots of space and great facilities in the house. It was literally like home from home and everything was well thought through. The kitchen and living space was lovely and spacious and the house included lots of lovely extras such as clean towels, bedding etc... interior and decor was also very nice. I would 100% recommend this to others and we had a great weekend and there are lots of lovely walks and attractions close by. Thank you once again and we look forward to hopefully retuning in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahlake...
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Weekend”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the Old Miners Hall was magical from start to finish. As soon as we entered the cottage we were greeted by Nicola (the owner), a roaring fire, a bottle of champagne and just a wonderful warm feeling. The accommodation was just beautiful...everything has been thought of to make your stay there so easy.
The snow made our weekend extra special and the children just found it magical...they are desperate to stay in the holiday house again...as are we!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma89w
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding 👌🏽”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We came here in March for a family get away and was blown away from the start, the lovely host nicola met my parents at the property and was so very helpful and presented them with fresh flowers and a bottle of champagne which came in handy for my sister in laws birthday while we was there.

The house was spotlessly clean and we wanted for nothing. The furnishings were lovely and the beds were super comfy.

My brother cooked a big Christmas style dinner on the Sunday for Mother’s Day and had all equipment needed to do so, and the use of the dishwasher meant a less painful clean up afterwards :)

The hot tub was a luxury bonus and many hours of relaxing were had here. There was plenty of fun had also round the large dining room table playing games and drinking gin surrounded by my family which we don’t get to do very often.

My nephew (5) has loved every minute of our week at the old miners hall and tried to get me to hide behind the sofa so we didn’t have to go home :)

Rookhope is a gorgeous little village and brilliant for long walks in the beautiful scenic country side. We also had a couple of fab days out at highforce waterfall and beamish museum which I would highly recommend to people of all ages!

All in all I cannot fault the old miners hall, the owner nicola or the location one bit and can not wait to return in the future, the only complaint I have was having to leave such a wonderful place :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie513
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
3
people found this review helpful

9 of us stayed here from 9th March to 16th March. The cottage is absolutely gorgeous. We had champagne and lovely yellow roses on arrival which was a lovely touch. I think the people who wrote the bad reviews stayed in a different property to the one we stayed in. The beds and bedding were so comfy. There were plenty of pots, cutlery, glasses, plates etc and the kitchen was well equipped, dishwasher, washer, dryer etc. Although there were 9 of us, we never felt to be in top of each other. Had such a relaxing break and would highly recommend the cottage. I’m sure we will all be returning. Thank you Nicola for making us feel so welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbjackfla...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and luxurious retreat for friends and family”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

An exciting arrival as there is certainly a taste of the wild in this part of England, which makes it a refreshing 'get away'. Plenty of walks walks and villages to visit as well as a beautiful waterfall nearby. It really is a majestic place to visit.

The Old Miners Hall welcomes you with a stunning entrance and reception room, with high ceilings and tasteful decor giving you a taste of grandeur, yet cozy and welcoming. The rooms have the original features including the open fire, the bedrooms are luxurious with very comfortable beds and the linen is to die for, it is such a high quality. Every room has been decorated to a high standard and everything is sparking clean.

This place makes you feel special indeed, a real unwind and pamper in the hot tub really rounds off the experience.

I will definitely go back and i have already recommended to other friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing