We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C stop over”
Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rookhope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #2 of 2 Rookhope B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“C2C stop over”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here 24 May 2014 whilst doing the C2C - we were very wet and tired when we arrived in Rookhope, but that soon changed thanks to Colin, Pauline and Richards’s hospitality - our clothes were dried whilst we relaxed by the log fireplace - massive size rooms including a hot power shower. Fantastic English breakfast also

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Whilst completing the Coast to Coast in cold miserable weather with a friend, Steve, we were relieved to be welcomed into this unusual but homely Vicarage by Pauline and Colin whom immediately asked us to strip off! We were drenched through and they insisted on drying all our clothes after securing our bikes. This was followed by a welcome beer whilst we showered and organised ourselves. This is not a B&B in the normal sense in that the owners have kept the vicarage as original as possible and run it as their home, so rather than some bland anonymous room we felt like house guests in a very characterful and well loved country house. The room was spacious and clean and the three beds (fourth optional) were comfortable. The power shower was a godsend after our long ride. We spent the evening in the sitting room (open fire and real ale) chatting with Pauline and the other cyclists. Breakfast was a choice of cereals or fruit followed by a delicious full English breakfast along with juice, tea/coffee. The local pub has, unfortunately, closed down but a taxi to the nearest village is £20 return and Colin kindly organised this for us. They do offer food but we were unaware previously so hadn't booked, maybe next time. To conclude I would say this is beautiful place to stay during the C2C bike trip as it adds to the whole experience in a very positive way. Carl Turner and Steve Archbold 24th May 2014.

Room Tip: Just be aware that this is an unusual place to stay not your typical B&B. Accept its eccentricit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Whist completing the C2C myself and two friends stayed at the Old Vicarage in Rookhope, it is a charming old building with many original features, we found the owners Colin and Pauline very pleasant, they provide comfy beds, coal fires, good hot showers and lots of interesting local knowledge and oh yes a great breakfast to fuel you up for the last leg of the journey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We've just had a very pleasant one night stay at the Old Vicarage and would echo the positive reviews of others. It's not a Premier Inn and doesn't claim to be but is Pauline and Colin's home which they make available for C2C cyclists. They were very welcoming and helpful and we dried out in front of a roaring log fire. We were also served a delicious 3 course evening meal and good breakfast too. It was nice to meet such interesting people on our journey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 17Sally17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Seven MAMILS stayed for one night two days ago and loved it. Excellent and very well priced food (both evening meal and breakfast, with quality sausages and bacon); comfortable rooms in well, an old vicarage which seems well maintained with excellent showers; and great entertainment from the perfectly eccentric Pauline and her double act with husband Colin. Don't go if you just want to talk amongst yourselves. Do go if you are up for an exchange of views and being part of the entertainment. Great fun. C2C'ers only.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Old Vicarage as the last stop on our Sea to Sea cycling trip. It was a great choice. Pauline and Colin are extremely welcoming, friendly and interesting hosts. They also provide an excellent, substantial and great value for money evening meal. We struggled to finish it all. We felt like we were visiting friends rather than staying in a B&B. The house itself could do with a little maintenance in parts, but this in no way affected the enjoyment of our stay. Those wanting bland corporate type rooms should look elsewhere, this is a quirky, rustic, and above all, homely place to stay which we would wholeheartedly recommend to other cyclists on the Sea to Sea route.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The worst B & B used by us on the C2C by a long way. In fact probably the worst B&B I have ever stayed in. I could write a whole list of things I didn't like about the place, but £35 per head for 5 males in the same room on mattresses adjoining each other with one toilet and shower will do. I realise that it was Bank Holiday and places were in short supply, but......!The only place that asked for full payment in advance on the route.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Stotsfield Burn | Rookhope-in-Weardale, Rookhope DL13 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Rookhope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rookhope
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing