We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, cosy & friendly”

Barrington Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rookhope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barrington Bunkhouse
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends whilst cycling the c2c. Booked out the whole bunkhouse so 8 of us in a room that slept 12. Very good value for money and more than enough space. There was a nice soft seating area, snacks on arrival, plenty of good things for breakfast - cereal, toast, eggs, warm baguette, yogurts. Covered storage for the bikes outside. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kegaline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Arrived soaking wet after a tough day cycling from Penrith, Val met us , had the room warm and snacks ready. Ideal second night stopover for those doing the C2C. Taxied us to the local pub and baked us fresh bread next morning.
Don't miss this one !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Chris150miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I can honestly say that this is the nicest, most relaxed hostel I have stayed in and I would thoroughly recommend it!!! My friend and I stayed at Barrington Bunkhouse whilst doing the C2C cycle ride. We arrived knackered, freezing and exhausted. Val met us with big smiles and immediately made us feel welcome. The bunkhouse was lovely and cosy and the warm shower was excellent. There were lots of delicious snacks like grapes and peanuts for us to snack on and the breakfast was great. The pub next door provided a nice evening meal with really friendly service. The next morning when Val realised that I didn't have a rain jacket, she immediately dug out one and gave it to me! What a sweetie!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Val had the radiators on, and a good range of snacks for we group of 5 soaked and tired lads in August 2012.
The Pub next door had a good choice of meals and separate rooms for us to watch the Dormitory. Bikes all locked up safe .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benedictman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A very friendly and comfortable bunkhouse in a beautifully converted village hall. The accomodation is situated in the quaint village of Rookhope, among the idyllic setting of Weardale in County Durham. A perfect stop over whilst cycling the C2C route with bike storage facilities available and pub grub available next door in the Rookhope Inn. Highly recommended to anyone passing through this area! Oh and listen out for the brilliant singing talented of the proprietor's daughter!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Please note I stayed at Barrington Bunkhouse in Jan 12 - I couldn't backdate the review.

I stayed at the venue with a group of young people who were rehearsing a play in the local community centre.

The bunkhouse is a beautiful old building. The highlight was the gorgeous wood burner - very welcome for a January stay. The place is excellent value for money - clean, well laid out, great kitchen and toilet / shower facilities. The beds surround a comfortable seating area which accommodated great socialising opportunities for the young people.

We were made very welcome by Val, the owner. She made sure we were well looked after. We were even treated to an evening of traditional music courtesy of herself and her daughter. She is incredibly knowledgable about the area and very friendly.

The area itself is stunning, and Rookhope is a great place to stay while you take it all in. Top marks!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rookhope
0 mi away
Stonehouse Farm
Stonehouse Farm
#1 of 9 in St Bees
147 reviews
0 mi away
The Miners Arms
The Miners Arms
#4 of 14 in Alston
75 reviews
0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrington Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrington Bunkhouse

Address: Rookhope DL13 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Rookhope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rookhope
Price Range: £15 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a communal bunkhouse, one large room with 12 bunks and one fold-out bed, so it sleeps 13. We have a small caravan adjacent to the bunkhouse which sleeps 2 either as a double or two singles. We also take campers. There is a bunkhouse kitchen which comprises of two toasters, two kettles and a microwave. There is a plug-in hob available if necessary. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers. There is also secure storage for bicycles. We are right next door to The Rookhope Inn who serve good and very substantial meals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing