We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first and last stay”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bourbonnais
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
“first and last stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was willing to overlook the questionably clean room, the noisy halls, and old wooden door with an old chain latch, and a line the width of the lobby to check out. I'm not willing to overlook an additional $50 withdrawal from my account that has yet to be refunded after 6 days. I was told it was a security deposit upon checking in and then told there were no additional charges when checking out."That's just the way they do it" is what I was told when I called to inquire. Bad business when your facility leaves that much to be desired. I have a daughter in college nearby and will definitely be crossing this place off the list.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest, I am sorry that your visit did not measure up to your expectations. The $50 incidental hold is explained upon check in and at time of reservation. Using your debit card is the your choice for form of payment. It is unfortunate that your bank is holding your funds past your check out. We are widely used by Olivet parents, families and friends and I hope in the future you can give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    35
    19
    12
    20
See reviews for
55
22
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Conveniently located, close to the mall and plenty of restaurants. Warm and friendly front desk staff, check in was a breeze.

Room was clean and nicely appointed. Clean and comfy beds and plenty of pillows ranging from soft to firm to choose from!

Breakfast was good. Warm food, fruits, cereals and much more. Well stocked breakfast area and constantly monitored to replenish anything running low. Loved the availability of a 24 hours coffee station!

Did not get to use the pool or other amenities since we had a busy day ahead of us, but I assume they are great as well.

Overall very satisfied with our stay and will make this hotel our prime hotel for our yearly visits to the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower level, midway on the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
The team here was very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We thank you for taking the time to let TripAdvisor know. You will help a lot of other people looking for lodging in the area feel good about trying us out. We look forward to seein gyou again in the future.

Sincerely,
Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monee, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed there one night for a quick get away. Staff is very friendly and check in was quick. Rooms are clean and breakfast was included sausage, eggs and fresh fruit. They have a nice size swimming pool although it was a little chilly. They told us they are working on it. We had a Jacuzzi room (Presidential suite) which had a nice double Jacuzzi and a separate sitting room with TV. If we had known how nice the room was, we would have planned a 2 night trip. Barnes and Noble is close by and mall is walking distance although not in this weather. All in all it would have been a great stay if pool had been a little warmer.

Room Tip: Presidential suite is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David56Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We are very glad you had such a nice stay. Our entire team strives to give great customer service to each and everyone. The chilly feeling you had in the pool area was the room temperature, due to the fact that the entire room is glass enclosed. This winter has really caused some unforeseen issues. Thank you for your understanding and we hope to see you when your travels bring you this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was caught in a snowstorm near Bourbonnais, IL and like many travelers I decided to get a place to stay and wait out the storm. I could have gone to any of the hotels in the area - there was plenty availability in nearly all but I chose the Comfort Inn based on their advertisement online for a room with a king sized bed and the price. I called them and they said that the room was available and would hold it for me.

Ten minutes later we arrived there and proceeded to check in. We were then told that it would be best if we switched to a room with 2 queen sized beds because that may have double booked this room and how inconvenient it would be for me if I had to move...I thought it wasn't a big deal and opted for the other room and they discounted it's pricing slightly.

We moved into the room, went to dinner, came and unpacked and then found that the lavatory sink was clogged and would not drain. They had no maintenance person on duty so I either could move to another room - which I was unwilling to do. I hate brushing my teeth and shaving in the bathtub!

The next morning we were assured that the maintenance person would be there ASAP to fix the problem. Wrong. Saw his cart but didn't see him until after we were checking out.

In addition, the morning "free" breakfast" selections (that you make yourself) were terrible. I feel I was misled by the website and the hotel. Never again will I use a Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hampton - it's only a couple of hundred yards away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We honestly apologize for your issues. It is always our intention if an issue arises to see if you would like another room, especially when we do not have a repairman on duty in the evening. I can understand that you did not wan to move your room after you had unpacked. Please accept our apology and consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bourbonnais hotels

Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

the bedding was great, the TV was nice. Some of the furniture was there before the remodel or just badly used. My room was just above the lobby, i could here everything going on,,not pleasant. I'm sure i could have moved but i was only there one night..so ,, i guess it wasn't that bad.

Room Tip: not a bad price but get a room well off the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond on tripadvisor. I know others traveling appreciate hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
444 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

As a corporate 100 night a year guest and also a Platinum at Choice hotels...I found this property to be tough to put a definite number on...Check in was one of the best ever...she was very friendly and helpful I think her name was Alissa...room is modern except TV...nice comfortable queen beds, extra wide hallways and rooms are very clean...price is a little high but in line with other properties steps away...great location..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIOUXFANFOREVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Everyone on the team here is very happy that your stay was wonderful. That is what we strive for. We look forward to you comeing back. Thank you for the TripAdvisor response as it helps other travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrill, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed 8 days and 7 nights in the hotel in a queen suite. Room was quite nice, seemed to be mostly updated recently. Traveling with 2 small children, the room was nice because the bedroom had a door separate from the rest of the room, perfect for naps for the kids! Breakfast was better than average, with waffles, eggs and biscuits and gravy, plus the usual standards of cereal, fruit and yogurt. Everyone was very nice that we encountered at the hotel. My only complaint was that they didn't vacuum not one time that we were in the room and with little kids it would have been nice to have that done at least every other day. Overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourbonnais
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Bourbonnais
Magnuson Hotel Bourbonnais
#1 of 6 in Bourbonnais
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kankakee Bourbonnais
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kankakee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Manteno
5.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Manteno
18.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1500 Illinois Highway 50, Bourbonnais, IL 60914 (Formerly Americas Best Inns & Suites Bourbonnais/Kankakee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bourbonnais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bourbonnais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I-57 at exit 315, conveniently located next to Northfield Shopping Mall. Monday through Thursday complimentary drink coupons given to Tucci's Fine Italian restaurant! The Legends Sports Center, Kankakee River State Park, Splash Valley Water Park, Exploration Station for Children and Olivet Nazarene University home to the Chicago Bears training camp are just a few of the many visitor sites to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inns And Suites Bourbonnais/Kankakee
Americas Best Inns & Suites Bourbonnais/Kankakee Hotel Bourbonnais
Lees Hotel Kankakee
Lees Hotel Bourbonnais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing