We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We gave this place a 2nd chance, and still crappy”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Route 50 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Route 50 Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Bourbonnais B&B and Inns
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
383 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“We gave this place a 2nd chance, and still crappy”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I totally give things a second chance, but however this was a mistake on my part. This place is just as nasty as the last time I was here. The sheets look like crap, the floors look like crap, and the lock on our door is broken. In the bathroom there is even a whole in the door, as if someone punched it. I should have just slept in the car. I should not expect a whole lot from a place that will allow us to bring our big dogs, but this is just on real! Please don't stay here! I don't even think that hookers would want to stay here.

Room Tip: don't ever stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
4
5
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I'm a trucker and stay in a lot of economy hotels because I rarely use the room for more than ten hours (sleep, shower and leave). I pulled into this hotel because the road conditions (wintery weather) were too dangerous to continue. The front desk clerk was nice and accommodating but that's where the pleasantries ended.

It started with just trying to enter my room. The sheet metal on the outside of the door had become unattached at the bottom corner thereby causing it to hang onto the door frame. It took several pushes from my body and shoulder to dislodge the door from the door frame. I felt like I was a member of a SWAT team entering a suspect's house. Of course it would make all kind of noise whenever opening or closing it (sorry fellow travelers adjacent to me).

The room itself was typical of low rent hotels, ie. cheap, worn furniture, lumpy beds, thin pillows, nylon bed spreads, substandard air conditioning (wild temperature swings, one minute the room is hot like the surface of the sun and the next it's like the North Pole), no shampoo, rusty door frames, patched Sheetrock, a 19" tube tv (who still uses these?) etc. You get the idea.

I can deal with all of above but from now on one thing I'll check at the front desk before handing over my card is coffee...like "Do you have any?" Not only did they not have any in the rooms but they do not have it in the lobby. What no coffee? Are you kidding me? I don't no what part of India you come from but here in the good old USA we drink coffee in the morning.

That being said I recommend that you pass on this place and try the others. Hell...they really can't be any worse.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank bthor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bourbonnais hotels

Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The room was clean. enjoyed the stay will come back. Next to the all the restaurant. The room was price right. Denny was right next door. We use to stay here when it was motel 6, the room are much clean then before.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
383 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, when we were in town for a dog show. Well, the room was nasty, the carpet was gross, the towels had stains and so did the sheets. When I asked for a do not disturb sign, they looked at me like I was nuts, sorry I had to dogs in the room and I don't want strangers around them. Some of the people at the show, said that the house keeping was golng threw there bags, I don't doubt that at all. Some people said they had stuff missing from there room, and I am sure it happened. But the room was so nasty, I would have rather slept in my dogs crate, because my dogs crate is cleaner than that room. What ever you do, don't stay here, drive the extra mile, and go somewhere else. I think this is the first bad review I have done, but just watch your back here. I don't even think hookers will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I was looking for my wife and where she was hanging all the time when gone. And they were so very helpful. She was in the room with Scott and the next time I find her here it will not be as pleasant for either, I understand Mary the B is not easy to live with but leave my wife alone please. Scott and Mary need to work out their problems fast because I am growing sick of this. Go farm in your own back yard.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 629SteveS629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

my friend and i stayed 6 times,broken down rooms, maintenance walks in late at night to fix. if you give bad review they say you broke things and ban you from renting Toya the manager will not tell you why you were banned.I am innocent and will never do motel 6 again.

Room Tip: no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Motel was clean, easy to find. Front desk was friendly and knowedgeable. Restaurants within walking distance. Exactly what was expected from a Motel 6. One of the few places left where pets can stay for free.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourbonnais
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kankakee Bourbonnais
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 6 in Bourbonnais
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Bourbonnais
Magnuson Hotel Bourbonnais
#1 of 6 in Bourbonnais
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kankakee
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Manteno
6.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Manteno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Route 50 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Route 50 Motel

Property: Route 50 Motel
Address: 1311 N State Route 50, Bourbonnais, IL 60914-4490
Region: United States > Illinois > Bourbonnais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourbonnais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Route 50 Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Route 50 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing