We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great BD party for tweens”

K1 Speed Buffalo Grove
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The premise behind the creation of K1 Speed was to offer enthusiasts and amateurs alike an authentic and genuine racing experience in a safe, comfortable, accessible and perhaps most importantly, unique environment. Utilizing advanced European electric karts and indoor asphalt tracks, K1 Speed quickly developed a reputation as being fun and exciting, and our growth has been continuous ever since.
Northbrook, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great BD party for tweens”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My daughter was invited to a birthday party here for her friend who was turning 12 -- she and everyone had a BLAST! It's hard to find something new during winter birthdays, and this was a real winner!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSB915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    2
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for a Date or a Group Outing”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My boyfriend took me here as a surprise and it was a lot of fun. The value was decent, we did the anniversary special, $49 for 2 16 lap races, a license that is valid for a year, and a t-shirt of our choice. The men on the track kind of rambled through all the instructions, which were slightly confusing but it ended up being ok. We had the track to ourselves as it was early on a weekday so it was a lot of fun without a lot of worry about other drivers. I thought time would fly by but it seemed like we were on the track for a good amount of time. You get to use a headsock and helmet without additional fee, and they are very strict about not being intoxicated on the track. They give you a wristband that indicates you are going to be racing so the bar cannot serve you, and as a friend experienced, if they suspect you have been drinking they will breathalize you. We will be going back for sure, and taking friends with!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank inlovewithmusic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
“Employees Do Not Like Costumers”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went as a family of ten to spend time together. The ladies at front desk were very nice about getting all our information and getting us in to race. The price is high- but we thought it was worth it for something different to do. Entering the raceway is a different story. The young men running the place seemed very annoyed with everyone. The were short when you asked question and didn't want to help. They did however talk back and forth on their headsets and laugh with each other- just no time for customers. Everyone we talked to felt this way. As a family, we will not return to this place and I wouldn't suggest it for anyone else.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kortney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High Speed Electric Fun”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I like go-karting, but the sweaty, smelly helmets and overalls are awful so it was a great and welcome surprise to find this place has electric go-karts, no requirement for overalls, clean helmets and helmet liners. These karts are seriously fast and the circuits are well designed. It's great for a any ability group, including mixed, as the marshals can limit speed or even stop the karts completely via radio control. Over 3 sessions they also increased our top speed, allowing us to build confidence and learn the track layout. I can genuinely say my colleagues & I were laughing & smiling ear to ear.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
1 review
“Disappointed Kids”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

K1 was suppose to be a place geared toward family fun yet when we got there we were unable to be on the track racing with our kids. Our kids who have had racing experience were placed with children who had no racing experience and therefore my children could not race to their full potential. The staff was slow in getting things moving and just getting each race ready took forever. They also were not very approachable in trying to ask them questions. Save your money and go somewhere else for family fun...we definitely will.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k1_speedgokarts, Owner at K1 Speed Buffalo Grove, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to visit and review us. We apologize for not providing you with the experience you desired and adequately answering your questions. We take safety very seriously which is why we do not allow for children to race with adults. We separate junior and adult racing according to height so that racers are better equipped in the right karts and appropriate track monitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed K1 Speed Buffalo Grove also viewed

Buffalo Grove, Lake County
Addison, DuPage County
 
Buffalo Grove, Lake County
Buffalo Grove, Lake County
 

Been to K1 Speed Buffalo Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing