We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oddest stay ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Burr Ridge
WI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oddest stay ever.”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I had posted this before, it had been there for quite some time, and now it's oddly missing. I hope Tripadvisor isn't now getting paid or threatened to remove unfavorable ratings. We had trouble finding the hotel (not the hotel's problem), so we happened across a friendly police officer that gave us directions and warned us to not leave anything in our car. Got there, checked in, and everything was just fine until bedtime, when we folded back the covers and discovered there was no bottom sheet on the bed. I called the desk and was offered another room. Since we had emptied the car, I just asked for a sheet and we made our own bed. Part 2 of this...got contacted by the hotel chain to contact them so they could "make this right". We contacted the number they gave me, left a message, and never heard back from them. Pretty disappointing. Nice rooms, nice rate, but they seem to be saving money with staffing.

Room Tip: Check to see if it has sheets before you are getting ready to go to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymitchWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so disappointed that you had an issue with your room. Please accept my apology. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken to the staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at brr@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    7
    11
    7
See reviews for
13
12
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The place has just been renovated, they did a great job.
I stayed there 6 months, and they took care of everything, right through the renovations.
If there are any problems, Brandi, the manager will take care of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HM-ESA, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.P. Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Great newly renovated clean hotel, in a great neighborhood with lots of places to eat and shop.
I am in town on business and stayed in almost all hotels in the area and this one is the best value for your dollar by far.The staff is friendly and this hotel is comparable to hotels that i have stayed at that charge more than double the price.I wish i would have found this hotel sooner and saved myself alot of searching and trouble. I Recomend this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the exterior doors are better so you dont hear people going in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HM-ESA, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The room cost was $32 per night. Since I was booked on a flight at Midway airport early in the morning, I thought this hotel would be convenient. First, the person at the desk gave me a key to a room that was already occupied when I got to it. Luckily, they had put the safety lock on the inside or it may have been embarrassing for everyone. The room I received subsequently had wet, used towels in the kitchen and bathroom, urine on the toilet seat and floor and a bathtub that ran non-stop (not dripped - ran). I went to bed at 10pm. At 10:30, someone used a key and attempted to enter my room. Luckily, I had the inside safety lock on. I called the front desk and was told that it was a guest who thought he'd left his phone charger behind. Apparently the front desk had given him the key to check the room. The front desk person told me "not to worry about it, it was just a mistake and it happened all the time." Needless to say, I will not stay at another Extend Stay America again anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeu990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Chicago - Burr Ridge. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Burr Ridge hotels

Markham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is the second time we were assigned Extended Stay America and, unlike the first one near the Detroit area, this one is way worst even for the price I paid.

Maybe the praises first because the list is much shorter:
- close to I-55
- Probably one of the cheapest (see the List of Horrors below) around the Chicago area
- There was a small kitchen with relatively new fridge, microwave, coffee maker and toaster

Now, the List of Horrors:
1. Debris on the carpet (not sure what it was but probably some chips fallen off the walls)
2. Dripping toilet bowl
3. Smoking room assigned to us even though we booked a non through Priceline
4. Only one queen sized bed, not even a couch or sofa bed in the rooms
5. Stained carpet that felt damp and dirty when we walked in
6. Hairs found in sink in bathroom
7. Smelly rooms and hallways
7. Air conditioning's HIGH fan speed didn't work
8. Right next to a funeral home and dark neighbourhood that was quite difficult to find at night (didn't see the sign that another reviewer mentioned by the exit ramp of I-55)
9. Small and old 21" CRT TV that was impossible to watch comfortably from anywhere in the room
10. No shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer or even disposable cups in the bathroom
11. Not-so-friendly staff
12. A large pool of red liquid (possibly watermelon juice) was found and not mopped up from the elevator floor when we arrived
13. I don't consider myself a picky customer but I had to use my wife's towel at this hotel to avoid using theirs (which never happened to me before as I had used towels from hotels/motels all my life)
14. Pillows were small and not firms/supportive enough
15. No complimentary breakfast (didn't expect that for the price I paid anyway)

Since we had a party of three, we had to book two rooms due to the lack of a second bed. This effectively doubled our costs so I could've booked any other hotel (like Fairfield by Marriott we had the night before using Tripadvisor/Hotels.ca) that almost invariably has another queen sized bed or at least a sofa bed. Going from Fairfield to this was like falling from heaven to hell.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeneralZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I stayed here about 4 years ago. It was decent for the price...convenient to I 55. So, I needed a place to stop for an early flight the next day from Midway and immediately thought of this place. Check in was difficult, the rooms are run down and dirty, and it feels more like a low rent apartment building, than a hotel.

Room Tip: My suggestion, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cromwell55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We have always enjoyed our visit to Extended Stay because of the great service and the friendly employees. Also we have enjoyed the easy access to the shopping , food and entertainment . We were within a few miles from downtown Chicago where we visited quite often. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone because we really had a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomfarley8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burr Ridge
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Southwest at Burr Ridge/Hinsdale
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Chicago Willowbrook
0.4 mi away
Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicagoland - Countryside
2.0 mi away
Champagne Lodge and Luxury Suites
5.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Darien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge

Property: Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge
Address: 15 West 122nd South Frontage Road, Burr Ridge, IL 60527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Burr Ridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Burr Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Extended Stay and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Burr Ridge
Burr Ridge Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing