We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in gorgeous area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Couvent

Le Couvent
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Couvent
The front terrace The entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Le Couvent
The front terrace
The entrance hall
The elegant salon leads  into the dining room
The dining room - which is also accessed from the hallway
The family kitchen leads to a large back kitchen
One of the large and sunny bedrooms
Another bedroom leading to an en suite bathroom with roll-top bath and separate shower
The twin bedroom with old French wooden beds
The family bathroom has a shower within the bath
The bathrooms were part of the old schoolroom
The lower garden with the hammock
The upper level of the garden leading to the wood
The entrance to the house leading from the village
A view of the village from the garden
An aerial view of the village
The River Lot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saint-Martin-de-Vers, Lot, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mandb2612
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house in gorgeous area”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lots of room in this lovely house and garden. Very clear instructions for finding property and with lots of contacts should anything go wrong, which is unlikely, as everything is very well maintained. Bedding is well laundered, nice white cotton sheets, comfy duvets. Plenty of kitchen equipment, one of the better we have used, and we have been renting in France a couple of times a year for over 30 years. Communication with the owners was prompt and helpful. There is a lot to see in the area with some of the medieval villages only a short distance away. We did not use any of the local restaurants, but those we ate at lunchtime in the villages were very good. Would definitely recommend for couples.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonja2101
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“100% romance & French charm”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I were looking for a vacation rental in the Lot area from April 11 - 18, but it was very hard to find, as the rental season had not started yet. However, we gave it a try and contacted the owners of Le Convent in Saint Martin de Vers, as we just loved the place when we saw it on the net. And we were very lucky, as the owners were willing to rent it out earlier and organised our welcome. Not only that the place is more than charming, it is obvious that Rosalie and Lew pay extreme attention to detail and authenticity. There are 3 bedrooms, furnished in a very Frenchy style and the most beautiful kitchen. The house, which used to be a convent, has a lovely garden (no pool) and is located in the heart of a picturesque village. It is very quiet and pieceful. They only audible sounds are the church bells from time to time. Just one little drawback: as in most of the Lot villages, there are no facilities like shops or restaurants in the village itself. That means a car is essential and one must not mind driving a few miles to the next bakery or restaurant. For this reason it is advisable to do shight-seeing and restaurant visits during the day, and rather chill out at home in the evenings. Also note, that the entire region is VERY dark, hardly any street light..... so, don't forget to bring a torch!
All together, we spent a fabulous week there - and had GREAT weather on top. What else can you ask for? :) Thank's again to Rosalie and Lew. They were excellent hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the village.
Liked least: No restaurant or coffee bar in the village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Just to clarify, yes, the region is very rural and so there are only street lights in the villages. Our village is well lit and there is a street light outside our house that lights up the entrance although finding the keyhole in front door in the dark can sometimes be a bit tricky even though it is an enormous key!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Hawkhurst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful house which felt like home as soon as we arrived”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a charming house, spacious and beautifully appointed, we wanted for nothing. The kitchen is wonderfully equipped, everything one wanted was there. The utility room is ideal with reliable equipment and plenty of space. The sitting and dining rooms are elegant and comfortably furnished.
The bedrooms were perfect for our group of five adults, the en-suite bathroom with a separate shower, and the separate bathroom well placed for the other bedrooms. The deep roll-top bath was particularly popular and hot water was always available. The soft and plentiful towels added an air of luxury.
The gardens are lovely, with terraces allowing everyone space to be on their own if they so desire. The table tennis (wiff-waff?) table was particularly popular, with badminton running a close second. We also used the bicycles to gently meander around the village, the locals were very friendly and welcoming.
The next village, 5-6 minutes up the road has an incredably well equiped small supermarket with 24hr petrol pumps which, apart from a trip to the huge supermarket in Cahors on our first Monday, supplied all our needs. Two of the men in our party are excellent cooks and thoroughly enjoyed cooking dinner each evening. We liked everything about the house, gardens and village, we were not at all fazed by the village clock which we found most enjoyable, it's nice to know what the time is!
We would all love to return to The Couvent as we know that we would have a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer comfort and size of the propery
Liked least: Having to come home! An outside light by the stone steps to the front entrance would have been an asset (but in fairness, we were outside enjoying an amazing lightening storm when the thought occured to us.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalouisd...
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in the Lot”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This truly is a lovely property to rent, exactly as described online and with a reliable and responsive owner. We found the village of Saint-Martin-de-Vers an ideal base because we had been to the Dordogne before and preferred the less touristy Lot valley to the south. Its principal town, Cahors, is far less self-conscious than the Dordogne's Sarlat. Consider carefully where you want to be, because there will be quite a lot of driving involved if you really mean to see the Dordogne area rather than the Lot.

Not having any businesses in the tranquil, picturesque village is also something to bear in mind. It requires a bit of organization on your part for provisions, but you will be rewarded by completely unspoiled surroundings. Above all don't miss market days in Cahors.

A special glory of the house is the terraced garden arrangement. Taking apperitifs and meals outside is both practical and a rare pleasure. Everything that is needed for cooking in is at your fingertips, and if the weather doesn't cooperate there is an attractive dining room.

Some may find the decoration scheme throughout a bit twee, with most horizontal surfaces over-occupied and a few too many artificial flowers, but these may easily be set aside and put back upon departure. All told, you really can't go wrong renting Le Couvent; it's quite beautiful and the price is fair.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier C
Brignoles, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing