We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discusting!!! wouldnt let my dog sleep there!!! AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Forge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halland
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Discusting!!! wouldnt let my dog sleep there!!! AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The worst hotel ever!!

had room number 4

rooms where filthy had someone elses batch scum on the bath, our bed was broken, there was black mould all over the windows the door wouldnt lock!! like place is not a hotel it is a dump!! we didnt even eat there as having a pub that is empty on a sat night says it all!!

i asked to talk with the manager in the morning to voice my concerns and i was faced with an idiot who couldnt run a bath let alone a ''hotel''

i showed him the pictures and he wasnt suprised he said what do you want me to do!!

DO YOURSELFS A FAVOPUR DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HallamHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    43
    33
    23
    26
See reviews for
22
77
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Got a late booking, double room, at the Holland Forge .... For £55 ... Though as so cheap and having read terrible revues was wary ..... But not to worry... Room was big and warm, also big bathroom, stylish and trendy... every where and every thing was clean... The bed looked large , fresh and clean too..... All in all terrific value for my £55 ... Ask for room 17 as maybe some are refurbished and some are not...

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before booking .... Some are refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The bar and restaurant area give you a false impression of what the rooms are like!!!!.....Mouldy bathroom tiles....stained carpet....bed side shelves that actually come off the walls so they cant actually be used!!!! Single glazed windows and heating that came on and went off when it felt like it....We came back to the room after a night out and were situated on the first floor, and regret looking up and seeing spiders suspended in their webs!!!....we entered the room and it was really cold as heating had gone off. The lamp switches were held together with brown tape...It just was very shoddy and dated!!!!......I can't believe they charge £75 per night!!!!!
Half decent breakfast, and was asked if we would like brown or white bread....We said white please....then was presented with brown as " we've run out of white bread".....I wish i'd driven the 2 hours home!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halland hotels

yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel was booked for me through work.I didn't arrive until 10.45pm,checking in was no problem i was given room 5.
When i entered the room the first thing to hit me was the fusty smell which i could live with.I then had a look round the room and noticed there was no remote for the television and no telephone to call reception although there was a notice saying ring 0 for reception.I then went into the bathroom and on the ceiling was quite a large insect,the blind was broken and hanging down.The socket was upside down and suddenly the light above the mirror came on without me touching it.I went back into the bed room to unpack and turned the bathroom light off.I unpacked and then went back to the bathroom to put my toiletries in there and the bathroom light wouldn't come on.Thirty seconds later as i am using the loo the light came on.The worst was yet to come.Decided to get in the bed and was soon joined by i don't know how many bugs which then spurted blood when i killed them.The hotel was closed for the night i tried to ring the hotel from my phone but got no answer.Thankfully the booking company we use are open twenty four hours so managed to book me another hotel which was twenty miles away.Finally got to sleep about two thirty.

I could have lived with the insect in the bathroom,no remote,no phone,the broken blind the dirty carpet,the broken window catch,the lights coming on when they wanted to,the fusty smell and poor decor, but sharing my bed with blood sucking bugs is a no no.
I did speak to the management the next morning who didn't seem surprised and said there would be no charge.
I have stayed in many hotels over the years in many different countries and i have to say this is the worst.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tingtongtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

From the outside this hotel looks OK but once you get in the room.....The greeting at reception was good but thats about all that can be said good about this place. The room was painted in 1970s fawn, the pictures were so old, the bed sagged so much we thought it was a water bed, the shaver socket was upside down in the bathroom, paint was falling off the bathroom ceiling, window locks were broken, guest booklet said rin 0 in case of emergency but there was no phone in the room, breakfast time in the guest book & reality were different, shower looked like from the movie Psycho, breakfast scrambled eggs tasted or were powdered, apart from that the only good thing is the road out ! I'd rather sleep in the car next time

Room Tip: Dont go unless you are really desperate. I darent share the photos I have taken !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stopped one night here whilst on a walking trip. The rooms are seperate apartments, a bit like Butlins. I would struggle to call this a hotel. Its more of a Motel. Nice spacious restaurant and bar area but there are none of the facilities you might expect of a 'hotel'. It reminded me of Cross Roads ! The road outside is the main A22 so this is more of a convenieince stop than piece and quite relaxation. The food was very good, both evining and breakfast. The rooms are quite dated but it suited our requirements. The room was clean and had tea & coffee making facilities and a TV. Overall adequate and finctional but this is a 'passing through' place to stop. Satisfactory value for money.

Room Tip: I think they all face the road so not many options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianwestsussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The whole place felt very tired and well used. Our room had been recently decorated to a very low standard and the wardrobe space was very old, sticky drawers and in need of paint. The bathroom was gloomy and the windows were a bit moldy A strange quirk was the TV is governed by a switch above the headboard this needs to be turned on for the tv to work. Breakfast was ok scrambled eggs were fresh.There was no fresh fruit to choose from.

Room Tip: Only saw the one room but it was away from the main building. ROOM 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halland
1.6 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.3 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge

Property: The Forge
Address: Heathfield Road, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PW, England (Formerly Halland Forge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forge Halland, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing