We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem !!!!”
Review of Kings Head Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horsebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Horsebridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2013

have family that live in this village so we get together in this pub to dine on a regular basis and it is always very very good also such good value for money .Sunday roast is particularly good although my husband always has the steak pudding as he says he cant resist it ,my parents visit quite often on a Wednesday as they do special prices for OAP s friendly people great food

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandie64rick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

This pub just gets better & better, since changing hands a few years ago. Yes, refurbishment is still in progress, but in no way does it detract from the pleasurable experience. Our most recent visit was yesterday, for lunch. The restaurant was packed to capacity, but we expected that & were happy to eat in the bar, which is spacious & comfortable. We both chose the steak pudding with new potatoes & fresh veg. It was obviously expertly homemade, with huge chunks of quality steak encased in the most delicious suet. The portions are very generous for the price - so much so, I had to leave some suet! However, the dessert menu was so mouthwatering I couldn't resist the vanilla cheesecake - again, a large portion which defeated me! I chose ice cream as an accompaniment which turned out to be strawberry (& delicious), tying in thoughtfully with the garnish of fresh strawberries & passion fruit. My husband chose banoffee pie, which he pronounced one of the best ever. Service is friendly & much more efficient than is the norm these days. There is a good selection of beers, including three stunners from the Long Man Brewery. Also reassuring is that you can see through to the kitchen behind the bar, & it looks extremely professional. We cannot recommend the King's Head highly enough, & consider ourselves privileged to have it as our 'local'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisTHorsebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the food. Normally a menu with so many options spreads itself a bit thin but our food was delicious. The service was lovely. We stayed overnight and really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Check the mattress for comfort. Ours was a bit lumpy but you couldn't tell because it was smoot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Kids were out tonight so decided to indulge ourselves. Our neighbours , over the road, said they went to the Kings Head in Horsebridge which is only a short distance from our house. We had been there many times before but we have not been for a while because it seemed to be changing hands so often and always seemed to be having work done on it. We thought we would give it a try as our neighbours were so keen on it. On first impressions it looked like it was still a work in progress and might not be as good as we hoped, the main bar being in a state of disrepair. But we were given a warm welcome by the staff and guided to a very nicely fitted out dining area that was light and spacious and much improved on the dining room that was there previously. The menu was varied and reasonably priced. We both had starters, I had prawn and crayfish tail salad and Loraine had deep fried Camembert and for mains I had chicken, leek and mushroom pie and Loraine had fillet pork with mustard mash, both with vegetables. The proportions were very generous and neither of us finished all of our mains and we were too full to enjoy a sweet. The service was excellent and we did not feel hassled or left to wait at any time. After paying we stopped on the way out to look at the plans of the redevelopments and when completed the bar area will be much improved. I would certainly recommend this as a good place to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_Cyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: A271 | Lower Horsebridge, Horsebridge BN27 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Horsebridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horsebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing