We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue, Excellent staff”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent venue, Excellent staff”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Attended a wedding at the White Hart and it was great venue. Good food, great setting and really welcoming helpful staff. Special thanks to Hayley who went the extra mile (literally!) to help out. Thanks again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    40
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
42
95
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Only a short taxi ride(6mins approx) away from Hedingham Castle where we attended a superb wedding. Historical pub in countryside setting with cosy atmosphere and comfortable adjacent rooms with every amenity provided. En-suite wetroom was amazing- very tasteful decor and top class fittings .The staff were polite, warm and friendly and kindly booked our taxi to our venue and our request for early check in was met with no trouble -great service ! ( so don't be put off by late check in time )
Our breakfast the following morning was served with a smile by lovely Amy and our choice of full english breakfast was delicious. We would certainly recommend and stay again.Our son and wife have enjoyed a wedding here too and fully enjoyed it.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are good -nothing to fault
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holssept10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had our wedding at the White Hart this month & everything was absolutely perfect! The staff were brilliant, the food was amazing and everything went without a hitch. We stayed in the honeymoon suite & booked out all the rooms for our guests. All the rooms were comfortable & good value - The new rooms & the refurbished rooms are outstanding. Would recommend anyone to stay or even book your wedding!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahluke69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed her for 3 nights in Oct'13 in a 1 Bed Room. It was small & cozy - old fashioned countryside hotel. ast was very nice. Food was good but priced on the higher side. The people were very kind & put on a smiling face.
The rooms however lacked proper service. On finding the Electrical Tea kettle full of rust - I asked for a replacement. This was promptly given but the one I reveived too was not clean. It was full of white froth all coming to the fore as soon as water was poured into it. Did'nt bother to ask for another one!
Being in a countryside the room had some unpleasant guests - moths & bees gave me company all night.
The sound of the vehicles driving past was also not music to my ears as most of us staying there woke up in the wee hours of the mornings.
The WiFi would just not work. Though this was informed to the attendants nothing was done about it.

A petite attention to the Room service would transform this otherwise nice hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floyd_g23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I got married at The White Hart at the beginning of September and had the most amazing time. The manager, Hayley made us feel very special and would do anything to make our day perfect. All members of the team at The White Hart are polite and very helpful and I can not thank them enough for helping to make our day run smoothly. There was nothing they would not do for us.
The food at The White Hart is amazing, everyone at our wedding could not believe the standard of the food when there was so many people to feed at the same time (we had 130 guests at the wedding breakfast)
The venue is beautiful and the grounds are very well kept, as for the rooms they have recently started upgrading them and they are amazing. We have stayed there before in 2009 and thought they were lovely then but now they are outstanding. This is a very luxurious hotel and restaurant but still has the warm welcoming feeling and we can not wait till our next stay. We are going for Christmas and I know that they will make our Christmas very special.

Thank you so much to everyone at The White Hart for making our day perfect and we would recommend this venue to anyone who reads this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had an unexpected stop at this lovely pub/ restaurant/ hotel, after the M11 was closed and we had to have a cross country detour. What a bonus to a terrible journey home. We just had a one course meal ( me a burger, husband a steak) but it was very well cooked and presented and the atmosphere and surroundings were very welcoming. It is a very old timbered building and there was a gorgeous log fire burning.
I think we will be back to try the formal dining room and maybe to stay over.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We met some friends here for Sunday lunch earlier in the month & had really good food in lovely surroundings. The service was excellent, if a bit TOO attentive, but that's better than being ignored, so it was fine! Would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lindabonfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Yeldham
7.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,083 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
137 reviews
13.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
122 reviews
21.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Coach House at The Pheasant
The Coach House at The Pheasant
#1 of 1 in Gestingthorpe
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Property: The White Hart
Address: Poole Street, Great Yeldham CO9 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Yeldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yeldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Hart 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Great Yeldham, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing