We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and were taken back by the 'wow' factor in all areas.
The room was exceptional, the staff extremely attentive and helpful and the food was outstanding.
The service was highly professional and the taste and presentation of the food was stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJW562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed here some time ago but my has it been reinvigorated lately? The large rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed with very tasteful art work. The bed was large and very comfortable. The walk in wet room was stunning with twin sinks and a powerful shower. Staff are friendly and hard working and very keen to make your stay a pleasant one. The hotel is set in pleasant grounds and is well situated for Saffron Walden, Cambridge and the Suffolk border country. The restaurant has an "olde worlde" feel about it, but the food is modern, well presented and very tasty. The kitchen staff are willing to negotiate menu content to cater for personal preference - always a sign of a good establishment. I had scallops and the trio of Hereford beef on the first night - wonderful; and trout and pheasant on the second night - if possible even better. The wine list is extensive with reasonable price bottles through to more expensive tipples for those who want them. A special mention should go to the Hungarian manager who displayed great skill and high levels of service throughout our stay. The breakfasts too are tasty and offer plenty to eat.This place is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner & I stayed at The White Hart in November 2013, we had such a lovely time & still talk about our stay fondly.
Our room was very nice, the bathroom was amazing & all very clean.
We had the most wonderful six course meal, every course was tasty, beautifully presented & accompanied by a delicious bottle of wine.
Hayley was very attentive & welcoming...nothing was too much trouble, she is a real gem :-)
Our breakfast on the Sunday morning was another treat, well cooked & plenty of it.
We are now regular visitors to the pub and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We recently met up with freinds for a reunion I reseached this resteraunt on line ,as you do, and it received a good write up, so I book it. Well I do not think it deserved the praise it had received the food was no better that average, the sevice was less than good and the surroundings are what you would expect from an old essex pub, the cahirs were uncomfortable so all in all not what we were expecting, hence the title. I must say I have been to much better pubs for Sunday lunch in the area for the same cost!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaminggeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Been here several times with my wife and family and have always enjoyed it. Great atmosphere, more than decent bar and very good food.
Always recommend to friends and will definetely come again. Service is always extremely polite and pleasant.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Our daughter held her wedding here on 16.12.13, the venue was stunning and the staff extremely helpful and attentive. If you want a wedding coordinator to take as much care with your wedding as if it were her own, ask for Hayley. Our guests also would like to recommend James as one of the service assistants, his manners were impeccable. We had a wonderful experience here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseyjop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Amazing 6 course tasting dinner in a beautiful country hotel and restaurant. Suite was out of this world , very sumptuous. Can't wait to return. Staff attentive polite and friendly. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The newly appointed suites are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linsey1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: Poole Street, Great Yeldham CO9 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Yeldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yeldham
Price Range: £84 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Hart 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Great Yeldham, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing