We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an absolutely fabulous time! Great for kids!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caledonia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farm at Kinnikinnick Farm
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at Kinnkinnick Farm for three nights and had an absolutely fabulous time. Farmers David and Susan were so hospitable and helpful - the entire farm was ours to explore. We were encouraged to go into the fields and pick veggies for consumption on our stay - from beets and tomatoes to basil. All delcious. Susan bakes fresh bread daily which is available for purchase at the honesty shop. Yum.

We brought our three children (ages 4 months, 2.5 years and 4 years) with us and they had a great time. The 4 and 2.5 year olds had a lot of fun gathering eggs and milking goats with Farmer David. They also spent much of their time walking to the chicken coop to feed the chickens their table scraps. Walking the goats around the property on leashes was also a highlight.

The optional pizza night in the wood fire oven is not to be missed. You truly get a sense of community there. Even the youngest children were able to assist in the making of the pizzas. So fun and so delicious!

I would recommend a three or four night stay. With the 5pm arrival time you don't get to see much of the farm that day. You really need two full days there to get the full experience.

Some helpful items to bring are: extra firewood and kindling, large tealights, small ax, bug spray, sunscreen, extra blankets, boots for the kids, BBQ tools, sharp knife, lawn chairs and flashlights. There are many items available for purchase at the honesty shop.

The tents do not have bathrooms (due to law in IL requiring them to be wheelchair accessible). However, the communal bathrooms and showers were well-apportioned and always kept clean. Much better than our expectations.

Highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

David & Suzanne of the Kinnikinnick Farm made us feel right at home. After entering the US from Europe just 2 hours before we set foot on their land, we were welcomed by David and Suzanne. We quickly got acquainted with the farm and beautiful surroundings. This 117 acre farm provides all the space we needed, great views, goats, chickens, and very tasty produce. In the evening we were invited for a pizza dinner in the open air with wood burning oven. The self-made pizza’s were probably the best I’ve ever tasted, with fresh mozzarella, sausage, Parmesan cheese and farm grown tomatoes and herbs. The atmosphere was exciting, relaxed, and the conversation about food and life filled the evening.

The next morning we got fresh bread, coffee, bacon and eggs from the honesty shop. After firing up the wood stove we started with a nice fresh cup of coffee. David came by to invite us for a farm tour. He has a great story to tell, with great passion he gave us a good insight into the farm practices while Suzanne was off to the farmers market in Evanston selling all the produce and eggs from the farm. Breakfast was cooked on the wood stove and tasted authentic by using all the local produce we could find.

David and Suzanne shared their home to make us feel at home. I will most certainly come back to enjoy their hospitality and friendship. Thank you for having us.

Best regards, Michel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichelMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I was staying at Kinnikinnick Farm with 3 friends and it was just one of the best short-break holidays I have ever experienced! Living in the city with a busy job, Feather Down gave me the opportunity to really hit the breaks and to slow down. I came back so refreshed. No need for saunas, spas or any other luxurious resorts, just be with your friends in an outdoor environment surrounded my animals and the daily live at the farm. You appreciate your milk so much more if you just seen the farmer milk the cow, or the coffee taste so incredible good when it took 30 minutes to make it ready :-) And the long talks with my friends while looking at the stars in the sky, the dogs lying next to you and hundreds of fire-flies lighting up all the time, is just invaluable. Thank you also to the Kinnikinnick Farm owners Susan and David, for showing us around, organizing a pizza night (self baked), the clean tents, the great shower facility they built and their great hospitality. You really feel welcome and part of their family. We will for sure come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jvanhaaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The idea of staying in a tent that has no electricity and no light and that too situated in the middle of nowhere was definitely not my type of place especially when it comes to choosing a short getaway trip with my friends and family. But boy – was I blown away with the experience I had at “Feather Down Kinnikinnick farm”! I fell in love with this place from the very moment I stepped inside the farm. Situated in a serene quiet neighborhood, we had miles and miles of nature, green corn fields and farmlands to greet us as soon as we stepped out of the tent – something that we as city dwellers are not at all used to these days. But it is not this that made me love this place so much. After all I get the same surroundings whenever I go for a camping trip anywhere in the USA. What made this experience special for me were two reasons. Firstly, it was this sheer experience of staying in a tent that is luxurious, cozy, spacious and at the same time completely authentic in delivering a historic experience where one has to cook his own food on wooden stoves from fresh ingredients produced right there on the farm, grind one’s coffee beans by hand before brewing, drinking hand pumped fresh spring water and sleeping in a cupboard bed typical of early 19th century Europe. Secondly, it was the hospitality and warmth with which the farmer couple (David and Susan) welcomed us and made us feel part of their own family. Before going to Kinnikinnick, I had never even dreamt that I would ever attempt making my own pizza and that’s exactly what I did at this place. The fresh mozzarella cheese toppings, the vegetables, the meat were all locally produced by David at his farm and combined with the expert tips from Susan on how to make the dough it just added so much more to the fun element. In summary, if you are looking for an authentic and unique getaway destination for your family, my recommendation is Kinnikinnick farm – certainly one of my best vacation destinations yet…

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
4  Thank Sanjoy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Feather Down Farm at Kinnikinnick Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farm at Kinnikinnick Farm

Address: 21123 Grade School Rd, Caledonia, IL 61011-9582
Region: United States > Illinois > Caledonia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Caledonia
Price Range: £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feather Down tents are spacious 484 square feet designed to accommodate up to 6 people. The tents come with a kitchen, cooking stove, flushing toilet, dining area and three sleeping quarters.At the farm, life follows the rhythm of the seasons so there is always something to do. Guest participation can vary from just watching to rolling up sleeves and helping with harvesting crops, tending the farm’s garden, feeding animals, or simply gathering eggs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing