We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best gites we've stayed in”
other traveller has booked this property
Stone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Cottage
Heated Swimming Pool Main room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Stone Cottage
Heated Swimming Pool
Main room
Back garden
Kitchen area
Main room
Heated pool
Local beach, Brétignolles sur mer
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Shower room
Children's play area
Heated Pool
Bicycle hire available
Back garden
Local beach
Table-tennis and Wi-Fi area
Bicycle hire available
Gardens
Local beach
Night swim
Heated Pool
Gites in Vendée
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
La Chaize Giraud, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osprey10
Neath, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“One of the best gites we've stayed in”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have rented gites from Brittany down to the western Pyrenees over the last twenty years so have a modicum of experience.
The gite is spacious and airy with a well equipped kitchen with a four burner hob and a free standing electric oven/ grill also a very comfortable lounge and dining area. The double bedroom has a comfortable bed and plenty of storage space. The bathroom is also a good size with a large shower area. Outside is a large lawn area with a patio table and chairs and a barbecue, eating lunch and dinner here looking out over the countryside was superb.
There are superb walks in the countryside and along the coast, two of our favourites being the cornice from Sion to St Gilles and the Grand Plage.
Cathy and Howard are very friendly and helpful and the weekly get together they host is very useful for meeting other guests in an informal and enjoyable way.
Finally, after having a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday we decided to reserve gite 5 for 2015 before we actually left for home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite, the garden and the view.
Liked least: The barbecue (only joking Howard)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamblegat...
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable and spacious gite in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dolphin Gites, so much so we've booked to go back next year! It is an ideal location for a friendly, care free family holiday. Our gite was very clean and comfortable. The dishwasher and washing machine were appreciated as was the availability of English TV. The bedrooms were of a good size and the shower was very spacious. The lounge area easily accommodated the five of us and the garden had a sense of privacy. The BBQ was very well used throughout our stay and it was lovely to sit out in the evening and enjoy a glass of wine. The swimming pool was warm and well maintained, we took full advantage of the table tennis table and the grounds were very safe and child friendly. Howard and Cathy were lovely hosts, their weekly get together was an ideal way to get to know other guests. There was so much to do out and about. The local beaches are only a ten minute drive away, making it very convenient to pop down for an hour or two. We enjoyed kayaking on Lac Jaunay and cycling around the lake. The younger members of our group enjoyed climbing in the trees at a local facilty similar to 'Go Ape' and the free tennis court in the village was a big bonus for us. All in all Dolphin Gites was a great location for our family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great amenities in a lovely location with lots to do out and about
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NotaBeneD...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“We are returning again this Summer”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in May 2011

Lovely gite for a family rental with a secure garden and fenced off pool area ideal for young children. Located in a quite street in a small village only a few minutes drive from larger seaside towns and beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet family friendly location
Liked least: Electric cooker would be perferable to the electric oven for cooking family meals
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic accommodation, facilities and hosts”
Reviewed 27 November 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We booked Gite 5 for a 2 week stay in July/Aug 2012 - a very well equipped Gite, clean, spacious, the dishwasher and washing machine a bonus! The Gite has all the essentials required for ta ruely relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The gites are locate within a short distance of the many magnificent, unspoilt beaches of the Vendee coastline. There are many walks closeby, including the Le Lac with numerous facilities available e.g pedalos. The outdoor pool is safe, extremely well maintained, the grounds are spacious with a large area for children to play ball games and to run around. Our hosts/owners were wonderful, friendly and very welcoming and available should you have any questions about your stay. We undoubtedly recommend Gite 5 for a family holiday, 10/10 - thank you so much for making our holiday a lovely memory for all of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, comfort of the gite, the pool and safety aspect of the gite complex with having children.
Liked least: The isn't anything to dislike, honest!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Reviewed 27 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not being able to get into the pool until mid morning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suzi M
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value gites in lovely setting in sunny Vendee”
Reviewed 13 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed in Gite 5 in August 2012 with our young children and had a lovely time with glorious weather. Friends of ours stayed in a different gite on the same site. Gite 5 was large and well equipped with an open plan kitchen, dining and lounge area, large bathroom and two good size bedrooms. For the price, the standard of the accommodation was good and had everything you would need for a self catering holiday. There was an outside seating area and BBQ which was great in the hot weather. We really loved the swimming pool which was clean and well maintained and the kids loved the table tennis. There are only a few gites and we often had the pool to ourselves. We also had an enclosed garden which was great for our little toddler and our elder daughter loved being able to play around the site safely with her friends. We enjoyed the drinks evening and the chance to meet other guests. The location was good, being only a short drive to some amazing uncrowded beaches and good supermarkets, but there were no useful shops in walking distance. This didn't matter so much as a baker came every morning with fresh bread and croissants - a very welcome addition! The owners, Cathy and Howard, responded quickly to issues and were not obtrusive, allowing us get on with our holiday. There are one or two areas which could be improved however, firstly our cooker was rather scary and belched out so much heat that the plastic seals had melted and secondly, we could only access the wifi signal on a step outside the back of the owners house, some thirty yards away from the gite - it would be much better if the wifi could have been strengthened to allow access it in all gites. However, neither of these things spoiled our holiday in any way and we had such a lovely relaxing time. We didn't want to go home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and the site in general
Liked least: Wifi was not available in our property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2012
Thank you very much for your constructive comments. We are improving the WiFi facility on site, so that access is central to all gites. The electric oven has been upgraded for next summer in a constant effort to satisfy our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$645
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing