We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family holiday.”
other traveller has booked this property
Stone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Cottage
Heated Swimming Pool Main room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Stone Cottage
Heated Swimming Pool
Main room
Back garden
Kitchen area
Main room
Heated pool
Local beach, Brétignolles sur mer
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Shower room
Children's play area
Heated Pool
Bicycle hire available
Back garden
Local beach
Table-tennis and Wi-Fi area
Bicycle hire available
Gardens
Local beach
Night swim
Heated Pool
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Chaize Giraud, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jaynehern...
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful family holiday.”
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This is our second visit to the Vendé, but by far the best. So much so that we are returning next year to Dolphin Gites. We stayed in Stone Cottage which is spacious full of character and plenty of room for a family of 5. We had a private garden with own parking and a barbecue. The weather was amazing at 30 plus degrees when we arrived and after a few days dropped to mid to high 20’s. The pool area is beautiful and the pool is heated. The children loved days playing in the pool and made friends with other children staying at the Gites. The bread van visited at 8-30 daily except for Sunday’s. You could purchase your baguettes and brioche for the days picnic. The nearest shop was a couple of minutes drive or cycle ride. There is a large Super U 5 minutes away by car or 15/20 mins on bike.

There are great cycle routes perfect for all the family off road. Myself and my husband enjoyed early cycle rides to town for coffee watching the markets set up.

The local beach near by was amazing as it is a surfing beach and has segregated swim areas. Perfect for body boards with big waves. There is a snack bar at the beach which sells the most perfect chips that the kids loved. ( reasonable prices) .

We only ate out 3 times as cooking at the Gîte was simple as had good facilities. The evenings we did eat out were good. You can get a 3 course meal for 20Euros.

One of the reasons we’re returning is there is still so much we haven’t explored in the area as 2 weeks wasn’t enough time. The things we did do were

Aqua park. Great day at Atlantic Tobogan. There are a total of 3 water parks to choose from in a 40 min drive.

Pedalos at the local huge lake. You can also canoe and bodyboard.

VELO rail. Google it. A must experience at 26Euros for 5 people in a cart.

This is just a small part of what is in offer at Dolphin Gites and the beautiful area. Cathy and Howard the owners were very welcoming and helped with advice on things to do and organised weekly welcome drinks for all guests to attend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2018
Thank you for your very positive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Dolphin Gîtes and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurreyTon...
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous holiday cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Stone Cottage for two weeks in August 2017 and were lucky to have great weather with plenty of sunshine. We would book again for next year but it's already booked! Gem of a cottage in a quiet French village close to lovely vendee beaches. Kids loved the pool and the beach and we loved the space and the Boulangerie van in the morning selling the best croissants we have ever tasted. Highly recommend le Grand Defi and plage de la normandiere and avoiding bretignolles on market day (unless you're going to the market) and the model village.
Cathy and Howard a very welcoming with lots of advice on the area - and thank you for the bottle of wine when we arrived as had not packed any!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dolphin Gîtes. We are delighted that you had a nice holiday and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milhouse...
Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another excellent vendee holiday”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It's our 2nd visit to dolphin gites and we couldn't fault anything. The accommodation was fantastic. Everything we needed for a family holiday. Having our own garden is also ideal for family meals, although our son spent most of his time in the extensive garden playing with his new 'holiday' friends.
Everything is laid back and your made to feel relaxed as soon as you arrive. It was perfect and we've already booked for next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you had a relaxing holiday at Dolphin Gîtes and we look forward to welcoming you back next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STRBanbur...
Banbury
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Stone Cottage”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely old cottage with everything you could need. Fab garden barbecue etc all for personal use. Great pool area and large field for ball games or just a stroll. A beautiful peaceful location but near to everything. Our granddaughter loved it.The weather was excellent and we spent most of our time outside playing games or swimming. Very welcome bottle of wine on arrival too. Thanks Cathy and Howard we will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to be able to accommodate you again at Dolphin Gîtes in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey10
Neath, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Another excellent two weeks in Stone Cottage”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our third stay in Stone Cottage and Dolphin Gites. Howard and Cathy made us very welcome as usual. The weather this year was not as good as we had previously but at the time most of northern Europe was experiencing the same thing. However we still got out and about during the dry spells and Stone Cottage is very comfortable when ‘confined to barracks’. After a very busy period at home prior to our holiday relaxing in Stone Cottage was most welcome. Reading, watching TV and DVD’s, and internet access in the gite meant that we had a plenty to keep us occupied. In fact, we had such a good time once again we reserved Stone Cottage for 2017 before we left.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thank you for your comments. We promise you more sunshine next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Getting away from it all but close to everything!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family relaxed completely and enjoyed our stay. Close to a local town with good nearby amenities such as supermarkets. A lovely pool, well equipped kitchen - all the practical things you need to make a holiday easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and gated garden and proximity to beaches.
Liked least: The church bells ringing all night too a while to get used to.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey10
Neath, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Our second stay - brilliant!!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our second review of this gite and things have only got better. Gite 5 now has a brand new king size bed although there was nothing wrong with the previous one. We had two Tuesday evening guest meetings this time where Cathy and Howard supplied drinks and nibbles and hosted a very enjoyable get together for all guests and their children.
This year the weather was even better than 2014 and we found two new walks that we enjoyed, one along the coast at Sauzaise and one at the western end of Lac du Jaunay. Being a keen birder a lot of time was spent at the marshes around Isle d’Olonne where the avocets and terns were breeding.
One last comment – we enjoyed ourselves at Dolphin Gites so much once again that we reserved Gite 5 for 2016 before we returned home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite, garden and pool, the countryside and coast and Cathy and Howard
Liked least: The thunderstorm !! - Ha Ha
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing