We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little piece of paradise.”
other traveller has booked this property
Heated pool at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated pool at night
Lounge Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Heated pool at night
Lounge
Dining area
Front of gîte
Heated swimming-pool
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Dining-room
Bedroom area with king-size bed
Shower room
Bedroom with double bed and single bed
View from patio
Heated swimming-pool
Dining-room
Cycling
Table-tennis and Wi-Fi area
Play area
Local beach in Brétignolles sur mer
Gardens
Barbecue in the garden
Gardens
Festival 'La Déferlante', May, Brétignolles sur mer
Front of gîtes
Dining room
Heated pool
Play area
Gardens
Apremont
Local beach, Brétignolles sur mer
Local beach
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Chaize Giraud, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
taxifor4
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little piece of paradise. ”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in gite 6 recently and it was perfect.It is situated in a very quiet area and you can almost hear the silence . Although we were unlucky with the weather there were enough breaks in the cloud to ramble around the area.The 2 restaurants recommended to us by the owners were top class.
Our 2 lads really enjoyed playing football in the garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We really hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future and hopefully you will be able to enjoy the gardens and the pool in the sunshine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afirbwkso...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We love these gites. They are family-run and family-friendly, well maintained and just lovely to stay in. Lots of great beaches and things to do nearby as well as a stunning pool. We've been twice so far and plan to return again. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryliz12...
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in the new cottage at Dolphin gites. It was our second visit and hopefully will not be our last. Our hosts were fantastic, the cottage was spotless and all on one level. It gave us a measure of privacy whilst being part of a small complex - the best of both worlds. Near to some very nice beaches especially Normandeliere and the twice weekly market in Bretignolle is well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owners and the facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you had a nice holiday and we hope to be able to welcome you back at Dolphin Gîtes in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venna
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from 2 weeks holiday at Dolphin Gites and are missing it already. The Old Logis is great accommodation and the area it's located in is wonderful.

Gite
What the photos don't show is just how well appointed the gite is. The kitchen has everything you could need (for the first time we didn't eat out at all) and there is a BBQ too. There is also a collection of English novels, French novels and DVDs: really good DVDs so I caught up on recent releases and my daughter is now addicted to Gerry Anderson's back catalogue :-) The kitchen diner is large and easily accommodated us on a couple of rainy days.
The grounds around the gite are brilliant too. The large garden accommodated all the children safely while adults socialised. The pool area was lovely too and used every day. Plus, every morning the local baker visits to let you work through his various pastries each morning. It would take a stronger person than me to resist that temptation!
The best thing about the gites are the owners, Cathy and Howard. Cathy and Howard are pro-active is letting you know useful info (we arrived on a bank holiday so shopping hours were useful) and the info on the website, and in the gite, was brilliant! The optional social drinks do's were great in letting both adults and kids get to know each other. And Cathy's French lesson was fantastic!

Area
There is just so much great stuff to do: we need to go back to do the things we missed! The beaches are wonderful but there are loads of great activities too (see the website as the details are great). We flew to Nantes and it was an easy drive from the airport.

I would recommend the Dolphin Gites to anyone, definitely 5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Dolphin Gîtes. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milhouse...
Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“French gite retreat. A great find for families.”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed in various holiday homes in vendee, however we were so pleased to find a gem like dolphin gites. A small complex of gites with a pool to give a small community feel. Thankfully it lived up to our expectations (so much so we have booked for next year already!).
Knowing vendee quiet well, I wanted to be quiet close to the beautiful beaches (no more than 5 mins drive/25 mins cycle). The gite was less than 20 min cycle to the nearest beach and about 25 min cycle from a really good one.
The gite itself had everything you could need along with a few luxuries like a dishwasher and washing machine.
When we arrived we were greeted by Cathy, she showed us the gite which was spotless and minimal decorated. We were left alone to unpack and get our bearings. It was a prefect fit for our family (mum/dad/1 little one). It would have easily have fitted another child. I did think 2 more children would be tight but more doable than a mobile home.
We checked out the pool which was always warm and clean, so much so we spent more time here than at the beach.
We finally relaxed that night in our garden with a BBQ. We didn't eat out at any of the restaurants recommended as we love BBQs in the garden too much.
We found the new cottage to be the best for us as it allowed us to have our own private garden. This gave us privacy for dinner and for a spot of sunbathing.
The best point though about the gite is the small community feel.
Cathy and Howard are available on site when you need them but you never feel overlooked or obliged to join in with the weekly drinks evening. They just keep everything tidy and give advice when asked.
Its the same with the other guests, it's lovely to have people to have a quick chat to and share ideas but you didn't feel overwhelmed. We were really lucky as the other child guests were close in age to our son and my son loved playing with all the children. It made his holiday to have friends to play with!
We feel we have found the best place to stay in vendee, to the point where I would like to keep it to ourselves!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the New Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dolphin Gîtes next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“CAR NOT REQUIRED......”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family & I have just returned from a three week holiday to Dolphin Gites.We arrived a little early on the Saturday but was allowed to de bunk etc,which I thought was great as it showed the owners had some flexibility ..The owners,Howard & Cathy were brilliant hosts from the moment we arrived to our reluctant send off at the end of our stay.We stayed in Gite 8..
This is a detached gite with gardens to the front and rear which were adequately manicured. Inside is an open plan living room/kitchen /diner.There is adequate space for all needs and on arrival the gite was clean and airy.Two berooms and a bathroom made up the floor plan of the area. There was enough crockery and utensils to cook on a cooker that was both gas and electric....There are relevant alarms attached to the property so that aspect has been cared for..Also the gas bottle for the cooker is located outside of the gite...
The grounds to Dolphin Gites could be described as picturesque and rolling...To me this was the jewel in the crown. The rolling lawn from the owners house to the end was easily 175 yards(sorry, I don't do metric)..They are walled in by a beautiful period wall. This for families holidaying is piece of mind plus interest. The kids have full access to the rolling lawn, which to give it some credence, think of a fairway on a golf course & you will not be far off......
The pool area is also cased off with a perimeter fence .....As you look at the whole area it is clear that both Howard & Cathy have ticked the health & safety boxes very well.If I were taking a young family abroad I would want them to stay at Dolphin Gites....
The weather was fantastic and this only acted as a backdrop to the "Tuesday night" meet and greet drinks which the owners arrange at their expense......
The village is quant and the gite complex is central to everything....A CAR IS NOT REQUIRED.....REPEAT NOT REQUIRED....If you choose Dolphin, please make sure you take bikes as there are some of the best cycle tracks in the area.
We visited many locations on our cycles and the beach is only a 15 minute saunter on the bikes..This is a complete cycle friendly location so as I have alluded to a bike is a must.
The only time the car should really be used would be to do the "big" shop...............
Rather than go on and on about the fabulous cycle trips, its best to interrogate the owners website as there is a complete section on cycling.......Howard clearly must have taken some advice on this section......
To sum up, this was a fantastic holiday for my family & I and I would love to return if only for the rolling lawn & the majestic view from the bottom right of the pool area.It was simply breathtaking........The whole gite complex is well maintained which is testament to the hard work Howard & Cathy puts it.....The lawns are clearly safe and well cared for........
Enjoy.......

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your thoughtful and descriptive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your 3 week stay in New Cottage. We really appreciated your company and also your input for practical ideas relating to our website. We hope to be able to welcome you back at Dolphin Gîtes in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
367WendyH...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic gite on a fantastic site in the glorious Vendee”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in the Old Logis in 2014 and decided to return in 2015 and so stayed in Dolphin Gites new gite "New Cottage" It is a fantastic site and both gites (there are 7 gites on site in total) were extremely well kitted out. The pool is lovely with plenty of sun beds and the grounds are a pleasure to walk around. The owners Cathy and Howard make you feel extremely welcome and are responsive and helpful. They have a weekly evening gathering for guests that results in a friendly place to stay. There is a bread van that comes most days of the week for fresh bread and croissants, a supermarket nearby, and the big Super U 10 minutes drive away. There are plenty of places to see with the local sandy beaches the highlight, and there are so many. Visit the Isle of Noirmoutier for a treat, or go to Nantes and follow the tourist green line on foot. Plenty of markets for retail therapy and lovely little shops in Bretignolles Sur Mere. Choose the plat du jour in restaurants for value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendliness and the lovely beaches
Liked least: That the weather was not hotter!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Dolphin Gîtes and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing