We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent, relaxing 2 week stay, 7 years and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated pool
Gite 2, Dolphin Gites, Vendee Heated swimming-pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Heated pool
Gite 2, Dolphin Gites, Vendee
Heated swimming-pool
Dining-room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Shower room
Patio, Tamaris, Dolphin Gites, Vendee
Heated swimming-pool
Heated swimming-pool
Local beach - Brétignolles sur mer
Patio
Bike hire
Table-tennis, wi-fi area
Back gardens
Play area
Gardens
Brétignolles sur mer beach
Brétignolles sur mer beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Chaize Giraud, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christine...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“An excellent, relaxing 2 week stay, 7 years and still love this place”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our 7th year at Dolphin Gites and 4th stay in Gite 2 (we have stayed in Gite 5 also on other occasions) - our boys now aged 13 & 11 feel really comfortable and look forward to staying at the gite complex owned by Cathy & Howard, who are always there with a welcoming smile upon arrival. The gite accommodates 2 adults and 2 children/teens adequately, with lots of space. The gites are always spotlessly clean and well equipped with ample cleaning equipment and although gite 2 doesn't house a washing machine Cathy is very accommodating in allowing you to use their own machine (which for us came in handy as we'd been elsewhere prior to our 2 week stay with them). The weather during our last week this year was hit or miss with sunshine, but this did not deter our holiday experience in the least. The welcome drinks evening went ahead hosted by Cathy & Howard (the owners) as the heaven's opened we sat out in the pouring rain, with first time holiday makers to the gite complex, and a fun and enjoyable evening was had by all, including the children playing hide and seek in the garden. I cannot find words to recommend this holiday accommodation to anyone reading this, there are no words other than "get yourself there, it's truely truely lovely, and so are the owners"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing, friendly atmosphere/meeting other holiday makers
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadajim
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay in the Vendée....”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We've just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable week at Dolphin Gites, gite 2. The complex comprises 6 gites, positioned around the owners property. There is a very nice private pool (heated) which commands good views over the adjacent valley.

The gite ticked all the boxes in terms of what we were looking for. We have a young baby (<1 year) and were 3 in total. The gite was clean and well equipped and the bedrooms were of a decent size. The owners kindly provided a travel cot and high chair. The gite can sleep 5 (over two bedrooms) so as 3 we had more than enough space.

The grounds are well kept and very picturesque. La Chaize Giraud is a small village, rather sleepy but at the same time very quaint. Brétignolles-sur-Mer is literally 5 mins drive down the road and has all the facilities you may need.

Our stay was outside the school holidays during a quieter period at the gites. This suited us well. Obviously it gets busier once the holidays start and this would time would be more suitable for families with older kids.

To summarize - a very pleasant stay and ideal if you're looking for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relative peace and quiet due to time of year / grounds and pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viv d
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent May Half Term Break”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Location - very peaceful, lovely grounds and scenery. Well sited for larger towns (local markets and supermarkets) and splendid beaches.
Amenities and facilities - excellent; clean and well equipped gite, lovely pool, great having table tennis, swings, slide, football net and swingball. Wifi very useful. Not forgetting the baker delivering fresh bread and croissant in the morning.
M. and Mme Parkinson excellent hosts; very welcoming and friendly, available and helpful if needed.
We hope to return in the future. When we do, we will take a longer ferry crossing and shorter drive, not the Dover / Calais crossing, as the distance was too far with young children.
Missing the blue sky and sunshine - writing this during a thunderstorm!
Bonne vacances.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Not a criticism, just a comment - wherever you go, there's nothing like your own bed!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK4868
Nr Chester
2 reviews
“Super relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a lovely holiday at Dolphin Gites. The owners make you feel more than welcome and are very helpful. Ideal location for exploring the area, popping to the nearest beach which is only 5 - 10 mins away or just chilling by the pool. So good we have re-booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryDall
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing: ideally located”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our third visit to Dolphin Gites and as always we had a wonderful holiday; this year staying in Gite 2. We can't help noticing that year on year Cathy and Howard continue to make improvements to the properties. Gite 2 was spotlessly clean, well equipped and comfortable. I'm so glad they retained the shutters; that little reminder that you are back in France. The site is very family friendly and safe with its walled garden and corners for kids to explore. The pool is a delight on hot days and again well maintained. There is so much to do in the area besides the endless beaches. Les Flâneries in La Roche sur Yon for rainy days, Lac du Jaunay for outdoor types, Noirmoutier with its view of the white cliffs of St-Jean-de-Monts on one side, and the Pointe de la Loire on the other, Les Sables d'Olonne for a bit of retail therapy and a meal by the quay. All of this in easy reach of Dolphin Gites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel2013
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent holiday”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our family had a wonderful time at dolphin gites this summer. The gite itself was perfect, spotless and well equipped; location excellent, minutes from both the beaches and the lakes. The pool was lovely, water warm and clean. It was sociable too, with the children making friends, and the daily bread van added to the relaxation of our time there. So much so that we rebooked for 2014 and are counting down the weeks! All in all, perfect for our needs and wouldn't hesitate in highly recommending this little corner of heaven in the vendee!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool, BBQ, mixing with other families at the property, the weather! location
Liked least: having to leave! patchy wifi after a thunderstorm if i was pushed for something to complain about.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty and well-equipped”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Very nice gite with a high standard of furnishing and well appointed. Beautiful grounds and a lovely pool. Plenty to do locally but roads tended to be very busy at peak times. Wouldn't want to be there in August necccessarily.... only criticism is heat - we only had one heater and it was an unseasonably cold May, but in a normal year one would hope this wasn't an issue, the temperature should have been in the high teens/low twenties rather than the very low teens! All in all a good experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great pool and lovely views
Liked least: no heating, but see above
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$554
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing