We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way excellence”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grove of Narberth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grove of Narberth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Out of the way excellence”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The extension to the hotel, the reorganisation of the downstairs rooms and the radical changes to the menu all suggest new management at The Grove. In fact the management remains the same but the experience is altogether different and vastly improved. The dark furnishings and wood panelling create a real sense of intimacy and comfort. Attention to detail extends throughout the hotel including the delightful library on the first floor. Clearly the management have aspirations with the dining as well, and the mackerel with chocolate and radish sauce was delicious. It is here though that I left disappointed. The food was excellent but why do the portions resemble more canapés in size rather than reasonably sized courses? It was only the excellent cheese which prevented me from leaving hungry. Is a diminutive portion a marker of quality, or is it just a crude attempt to save some money? Whatever the case, the prices charged by the Grove at upwards of £320 for dinner bed and breakfast for two do not allow for this type of penny pinching. Overall though an excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Annwyl/Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on Tripadvisor.

After six years of hard work and loving restoration, it was a pleasure to welcome you both back to The Grove and for you to experience the changes and improvements here since your last visit.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, with a special complimentary upgrade to our wonderful Cresselly Junior Suite. We felt that this room in our new wing would allow you to fully explore and appreciate the renovations to the building, together with the luxurious interiors and furnishings.

We are disappointed to read your comments regarding the food portions. Being a food-focused fine dining venue, we try to focus on quality rather than quantity. We appreciate that guest appetites do differ but we do aim to provide an appropriate balance in terms of portion sizes so that our diners feel comfortable through what is five courses, including our homemade breads, canapes and complimentary amuse bouche prior to the meal. Our prices are set to reflect the quality of both the ingredients used and the technical expertise applied in the kitchen in order to achieve a high standard on the plate.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you both back to The Grove again in future.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    123
    40
    6
    2
See reviews for
159
840
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our third visit to the Grove and again we had a wonderful stay. Our room in the new section of the hotel was superb having a wonderful view looking towards the Preseli mountains. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and here again the standard of the food, wine and service was exceptionally high. All of the staff without exception go beyond the call of duty to make your stay an enjoyable one and I would thoroughly recommend the Grove for those who want a relaxing break in a beautiful country house in west Wales.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Preseli mountains you need a room in the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Annwyl/Dear Decima,

Thank you for taking the time to put your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to The Grove.

Your feedback regarding the choice of rooms is extremely useful for future guests wishing to stay with us; we do recommend choosing one of our rooms overlooking the front of the house if you want fabulous countryside views. We are delighted that you managed to make the most of this opportunity during your stay. Thank you also for your kind words about our hardworking team here at The Grove.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I had an exelent stay at The Grove in Narberth when we visited the Pembrokshire area in march. Great service, great food and great room. Everything was just perfect. The only negative thing I could think of was that the scones where a little on the dry side mainly do to their small size. Other than that shear heaven ! Would defenetly og back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yngve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Annwyl/Dear Yngve & Marit,

Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in the lovely 'Seddon' Junior Suite in March.

We will be sure to pass your comments regarding the scones onto our kitchen team to enable them to resolve this minor issue.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next trip to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I travelled to Pembrokeshire for a wedding party. We arrived at The Grove to be met by a very happy and pleasant receptionist. She took us to our room (the blue room) and explained everything regarding the hotel and our over night stay.A very attractive card welcoming us was a superb touch.
We had a wonderful afternoon tea in the lounge.The cakes were to die for!The service was attentive but not intrusive.
Our breakfast was well presented and of a high standard.Again the service was just what we like.
As we left we chatted to the staff at reception who were so pleasant and friendly..we really felt like "friends" no guests. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynoreastfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Annwyl/Dear Gaynor,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Grove. Our selection of delicious homemade cakes on our Afternoon Tea menu are more popular now than ever, with the recent addition to our kitchen team (Peter, our Pastry Chef) creating some new and exciting recipes for our guests to enjoy.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again on your next trip to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our son got married at "The Grove" on 1st March and we had a fabulous weekend there. Our wedding party took over the hotel and each room was individual and unique in its own way.

The staff was extremely helpful and the food was top class throughout the weekend. A perfect location for a summer break as the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: The Bramble was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Annwyl/Dear Elana & Family,

Thank you for taking the time to put your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor following Nick & Lucy's Wedding with us on 1st March.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us to celebrate this very special occasion. It really was a beautiful day; I think our team enjoyed it just as much as the guests!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back again very soon. Please pass our best wishes on to Mr & Mrs Smith!

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Recommended by friends, we joined them for lunch at this hidden gem. The Hotel is a wonderful trip into gracious rural living, crackling log fires, deep window seats and heart-warming furnishings in reception areas and bedrooms. Attention to detail gives you the feel-good factor, a satisfying total experience accompanied by excellent contemporary dining experience . £25.00 for three equally delicious courses with complimentary canapes and veloute . Everyone in the party enjoyed all choices cooked and presented superbly. Staff were all highly professional, blending efficiency with welcome; good old-fashioned service with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Annwyl/Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to put your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent lunch with us here at The Grove. A big thank you to your friends for recommending us!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had tea on Saturday, mum, mum in law, the other half and me! Very good indeed. Lovely old house with bags of character, beautiful setting.Loads of lovely paintings - I wonder if you can buy them?- would like to see the gardens in Summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Annwyl/Dear Martin,

Thank you for taking the time to put your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that yourself and your family enjoyed your recent Afternoon Tea with us.

We evidently do love our artwork here at The Grove, hosting a variety of wonderful originals and prints from various local artists such as Gillian McDonald and John Knapp-Fisher. If you are interested in any artwork displayed, please see a member of our Reception Team on your next visit who will happily assist.

We hope to welcome you all back to The Grove over the summer months, where you can enjoy some al fresco dining and make the most of our gardens and patio terraces.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molleston
5.9 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,074 reviews
8.6 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
7.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
666 reviews
8.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove of Narberth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove of Narberth

Property: Grove of Narberth
Address: Molleston, Narberth SA67 8BX, Wales (Formerly The Grove - Narberth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Molleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grove of Narberth 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside, The Grove is a leading small luxury hotel with one of Wales's finest restaurants led by Executive Chef, Allister Barsby. The Grove is surrounded by manicured lawns, flower borders, meadows and mature trees - and a region that offers a great selection of delicious ingredients. The venue has 26 intimate luxurious rooms and suites that are full of character - with interiors individually designed to the highest standards. Gaze out of our windows for scenic views of the Preseli mountains, or make the short trip to Pembrokeshire National Park for stunning coastal walks. The cuisine has won national awards and critical acclaim, including AA Rosettes, Wales Tourism Awards and listing in the Good Food Guide. All dishes are served with creativity and flair, and many ingredients come from the kitchen garden - providing ultra-fresh flavours to delight every palette. In summary, the Grove is the perfect place to relax in intimate luxury for those travelers that want to experience the best of Welsh cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grove of Narberth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove - Narberth Hotel Narberth
Grove Of Narberth Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing