We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go!”
Review of Grove of Narberth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grove of Narberth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Took my husband to the Grove Narbeth mid-April 2014 and we had a great time. The service was excellent and extremely friendly, the room and bathroom fantastic (the room was called Seddon) and the food magnificent - including the breakfasts! Fluffiest blueberry pancakes ever tasted. My husband went to the Trefloyne Golf in Tenby, and we explored the Stackpole cliffs - all helpfully recommended by the fantastic reception staff. Our two dinners were fabulous too. Highly recommended. I know this hotel keep being expanded from year to year so my next suggestion would be a swimming pool!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lanriec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Annwyl/Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to put your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us this April, exploring the best of what Pembrokeshire has to offer. The Stackpole area is one of our personal favourites!

We will certainly take your comments on board regarding a swimming pool in future, however our main focus for the meantime will be on excellent food and wine. Your kind comments regarding the food and service have also been passed onto our team members here at The Grove.

We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I won a night stay here with Dinner, Bed and Breakfast with my husband and it was stunning! We were upgraded to a wonderful room ( Derwen) with unbelievable views across the Preselli mountains.
Real fires, friendly and informative staff who made us very welcome and the best night's sleep in a really comfortable bed after a soak in a lovely deep bath.
Food was amazing - so many tastes. Well prepared with very attentive staff throughout.
Artwork by local artists throughout the hotel kept us busy - very tempted to buy some!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Annwyl/Dear Stephanie & Rupert,

Thank you for taking the time to put your kind feedback on Tripadvisor - and congratulations on winning the one night stay!

We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit to us in the lovely Derwen. This is an ideal springtime room with its elegant decoration and beautiful views as you mentioned.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on another occasion.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at The Grove we knew what to expect, luxury, comfort, beautiful surroundings, and the warmest of welcomes. But incredibly they've managed to improve still. Our food was delicious, my beetroot and chocolate dessert easily something you'd get at Michelin star establishment. But the real wow must be the service. Everyone seemed to know us, not once did we have to give our room number, and they can't do enough to make your stay memorable. It's the little touches like a personalised welcome note that sets The Grove apart. Just do it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank IanJRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Annwyl/Dear Ian & Emma,

Thank you for taking the time to put your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you both back to The Grove once again, together with your friends.

We're glad to hear that you all enjoyed your joint Anniversary celebration with us. What better way to celebrate than a relaxing break away?!

We also have to agree with you on the delicious beetroot dessert; it's definitely one of our favourites!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The extension to the hotel, the reorganisation of the downstairs rooms and the radical changes to the menu all suggest new management at The Grove. In fact the management remains the same but the experience is altogether different and vastly improved. The dark furnishings and wood panelling create a real sense of intimacy and comfort. Attention to detail extends throughout the hotel including the delightful library on the first floor. Clearly the management have aspirations with the dining as well, and the mackerel with chocolate and radish sauce was delicious. It is here though that I left disappointed. The food was excellent but why do the portions resemble more canapés in size rather than reasonably sized courses? It was only the excellent cheese which prevented me from leaving hungry. Is a diminutive portion a marker of quality, or is it just a crude attempt to save some money? Whatever the case, the prices charged by the Grove at upwards of £320 for dinner bed and breakfast for two do not allow for this type of penny pinching. Overall though an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Annwyl/Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on Tripadvisor.

After six years of hard work and loving restoration, it was a pleasure to welcome you both back to The Grove and for you to experience the changes and improvements here since your last visit.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, with a special complimentary upgrade to our wonderful Cresselly Junior Suite. We felt that this room in our new wing would allow you to fully explore and appreciate the renovations to the building, together with the luxurious interiors and furnishings.

We are disappointed to read your comments regarding the food portions. Being a food-focused fine dining venue, we try to focus on quality rather than quantity. We appreciate that guest appetites do differ but we do aim to provide an appropriate balance in terms of portion sizes so that our diners feel comfortable through what is five courses, including our homemade breads, canapes and complimentary amuse bouche prior to the meal. Our prices are set to reflect the quality of both the ingredients used and the technical expertise applied in the kitchen in order to achieve a high standard on the plate.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you both back to The Grove again in future.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our third visit to the Grove and again we had a wonderful stay. Our room in the new section of the hotel was superb having a wonderful view looking towards the Preseli mountains. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and here again the standard of the food, wine and service was exceptionally high. All of the staff without exception go beyond the call of duty to make your stay an enjoyable one and I would thoroughly recommend the Grove for those who want a relaxing break in a beautiful country house in west Wales.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Preseli mountains you need a room in the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Annwyl/Dear Decima,

Thank you for taking the time to put your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to The Grove.

Your feedback regarding the choice of rooms is extremely useful for future guests wishing to stay with us; we do recommend choosing one of our rooms overlooking the front of the house if you want fabulous countryside views. We are delighted that you managed to make the most of this opportunity during your stay. Thank you also for your kind words about our hardworking team here at The Grove.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I had an exelent stay at The Grove in Narberth when we visited the Pembrokshire area in march. Great service, great food and great room. Everything was just perfect. The only negative thing I could think of was that the scones where a little on the dry side mainly do to their small size. Other than that shear heaven ! Would defenetly og back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yngve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Annwyl/Dear Yngve & Marit,

Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in the lovely 'Seddon' Junior Suite in March.

We will be sure to pass your comments regarding the scones onto our kitchen team to enable them to resolve this minor issue.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next trip to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I travelled to Pembrokeshire for a wedding party. We arrived at The Grove to be met by a very happy and pleasant receptionist. She took us to our room (the blue room) and explained everything regarding the hotel and our over night stay.A very attractive card welcoming us was a superb touch.
We had a wonderful afternoon tea in the lounge.The cakes were to die for!The service was attentive but not intrusive.
Our breakfast was well presented and of a high standard.Again the service was just what we like.
As we left we chatted to the staff at reception who were so pleasant and friendly..we really felt like "friends" no guests. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaynoreastfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Annwyl/Dear Gaynor,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Grove. Our selection of delicious homemade cakes on our Afternoon Tea menu are more popular now than ever, with the recent addition to our kitchen team (Peter, our Pastry Chef) creating some new and exciting recipes for our guests to enjoy.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again on your next trip to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molleston
5.9 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saundersfoot
1,197 reviews
7.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
3.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
462 reviews
22.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
234 reviews
8.6 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove of Narberth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove of Narberth

Address: Molleston, Narberth SA67 8BX, Wales (Formerly The Grove - Narberth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Molleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Price Range: £148 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove of Narberth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside, The Grove is a leading small luxury hotel with one of Wales's finest restaurants led by Executive Chef, Allister Barsby. The Grove is surrounded by manicured lawns, flower borders, meadows and mature trees - and a region that offers a great selection of delicious ingredients. The venue has 26 intimate luxurious rooms and suites that are full of character - with interiors individually designed to the highest standards. Gaze out of our windows for scenic views of the Preseli mountains, or make the short trip to Pembrokeshire National Park for stunning coastal walks. The cuisine has won national awards and critical acclaim, including AA Rosettes, Wales Tourism Awards and listing in the Good Food Guide. All dishes are served with creativity and flair, and many ingredients come from the kitchen garden - providing ultra-fresh flavours to delight every palette. In summary, the Grove is the perfect place to relax in intimate luxury for those travelers that want to experience the best of Welsh cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Grove of Narberth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove - Narberth Hotel Narberth
Grove Of Narberth Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing