We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful part of the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grove of Narberth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grove of Narberth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful part of the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely hotel in a very quiet rural setting, but only a short distance from the delightful little town of Narberth. We stayed for four nights and from the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and efficient. We were lucky enough have the very comfortable and well-appointed Daniel & Elizabeth room which had everything we could possibly have needed. The food and service in the restaurant were excellent. We also ate at the Coast restaurant near Saundersfoot, which is owned by the same people, and the food there was also first rate and very reasonable - the beachside location was also fantastic on a June evening, even in the rain! This was our first visit to Pembrokeshire but we will be back to the county and the Grove - we hope!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Annwyl/Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us here at The Grove.

We are delighted that you enjoyed a relaxing four nights with us in the wonderful 'Daniel & Elizabeth' Suite. This is a lovely peaceful room situated on the second floor of the main building - perfect for some extra luxury and comfort!

We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    123
    40
    6
    2
See reviews for
159
840
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Priors Hardwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is situated ina beautiful setting with enchanting view over the Welsy countryside. If you are travelling a long distance the countryside is the only thing that makes the trip worthwhile.
Having been recommended the restaurant by a fellow Director, we decided on a two day stay. Thank goodness it was only two days. The room had a fantastic view, but that is all we could say about it. It fell well short on all counts. Hard bed, bad lighting, 'tired' furniture, and poor housekeeping.
The food, was to say the least bizarre, Welsh lamb served with giant couscous in cream fresh, and lobster with no taste, that could have been used as a squash ball!!!!! The staff were polite but poorly trained.
Come on guys, you need to raise your standards. Driving 250 miles for this was a total disappointment.

Room Tip: Good luck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Annwyl/Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the setting of The Grove with the beautiful views over the Pembrokeshire hills. Hopefully you managed to make the most of our peaceful grounds and the surrounding areas during your stay.

We are however very concerned to read your feedback regarding the 'tired' décor of the rooms, together with the food and training of our staff.

Our 20 bedrooms, together with our 4 country cottages, have been finished to the highest standards with luxurious furnishings and top quality linen and bathing products. Each room is maintained on a regular basis to ensure that no interiors look tired or worn. We do however appreciate that not all of our guests share the same visual tastes regarding some of our antique pieces in our bedrooms and lounge areas. We have taken your comments on board regarding the poor lighting and will resolve this issue immediately in any bedrooms that require attention.

Our housekeeping standards are monitored on a daily basis prior to guests' arrival. Unfortunately without all of the relevant information on the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay, we are unable to identify and address the specific problem.

Your feedback regarding the food has been discussed together with our Head Chef, who is disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Our Preseli Bluestone lamb is served with Israeli cous cous. amongst other elements such as asparagus and wild garlic. We also serve three different parts of the lobster on that particular dish that you mentioned. The part of the shellfish that you refer to is intended to be served as a nugget, in addition to the claw and dumpling presented on the plate.

We strive for excellent service constantly and we are therefore pleased to hear that the staff you came across during your stay were polite. All departments undergo continuous training to ensure that customer service standards are maintained throughout.

We are sorry that your stay did not live up to expectations and very much hope that you do try us again in future.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Grove at Narbeth is probably the most fantastic hotel Ive ever stayed in! The staff are so welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room was beautiful with a gorgeous view (we were upgraded and stayed in The Campion room). Very comfy bed, a nice touch of bottled water from the hotels own spring and 2 gorgeous handmade chocolates greeted us in the room. The bathroom was modern and spotless with a separate (very easy to soak in bath) and shower. As to be expected from this level of hotel, plenty of fresh towels and amazingly soft bed linen (very high thread count!) and lovely comfortable pillows.
The weather was fantastic and the hotels setting lends itself to drinking Pimms on the terrace (obviously beautifully made with an abundance of fruit). We also requested breakfast on the terrace the next morning and an outside table was promptly fully laid for us! Breakfast was fantastic and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs tasted so much better for being outside in the sun thank you for doing that :-).

We dined in Coast which is also owned by the same owners as The Grove and for an evening meal or a luncheon this place is a must visit! The setting is beautiful and with a celebrity chef (Will Holland) very firmly in residence there the food is amazing and very reasonably priced.

All in all this place is a must stay, I loved it from the moment we arrived and drove down the tree lined driveway to catch sight of the hotel nestled into its surroundings. The inside of the hotel is beautifully restored and decorated, the staff go above and beyond and everything was just perfect, Its not often I can say that about a hotel! Cant wait to go back, hopefully for longer this time!

Room Tip: I think any room would be stunning in this hotel but I asked for one with a nice view and got it alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Annwyl/Dear May,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us.

We're delighted to hear that you were pleased with your complimentary upgrade to our lovely 'Campion' Deluxe Room, situated in our main building.

It was great to see both our front and back patio terraces being used for breakfast and also pre-dinner drinks. The perfect opportunity for a nice refreshing glass of Pimms or wine in the sunshine as you mentioned!

We hope to welcome you both back again on your next visit to Pembrokeshire - hopefully you will bring some more lovely weather along with you!

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had afternoon tea at the Grove (a gift voucher) in March. Never been there before, eventually found it, out in the country.
Staff at reception were ver welcoming, friendly and lively.
However once we sat in one of the lounges for our tea we were served by two gentlemen who were incredibly formal - no casual conversation at all. We were also disappointed that, once the tea was served, no-one asked us if all was ok or whether we'd like some more fresh tea. Bearing in mind that the sandwiches and cakes take some time to eat, the small teapot was empty and we would have liked more hot tea.
So would probably not return as there are some lovely tea places in and around Tenby with sea views etc
As we were only there for the tea we cannot comment on accommodation, which is apparently excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Annwyl/Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent afternoon tea here at The Grove.

We are pleased to hear that our Reception Team offered such a warm welcome on your arrival. However we are sorry to hear that you felt other members of staff were too formal during your visit, particularly as we aim to create such a relaxed informal environment for all of our guests.

We are also sincerely sorry that your tea was not replenished during the afternoon, which should have been offered at least once. Your feedback on this issue is much appreciated and has been relayed to our Restaurant Manager to ensure that this is not missed again.

We very much hope that you do try us again in future.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a surprise overnight stay at The Grove . Having visited several times previously I was thrilled to be going back, and I wasn't disappointed. The tranquility of the hotel, it's lovely rooms ,and the location are wonderful . Added to that , the service by the staff and the fabulous restaurant made it a memorable experience, and reminded me why I enjoy it so much !

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D18rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Annwyl/Dear Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to put your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to welcome you both back to The Grove and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay just as much as the previous.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again very soon!

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Grove at Narberth is a lovely hotel, dog friendly and the staff very welcoming.
We stayed in a self catering cottage with two bedrooms. Nicely fitted out, but only one bathroom with the shower in the bath,which caused us a few problems when your mother is 85.
lovely grounds to walk your dog in and a great location for shooting off to places of interest in the area.
Had dinner in the restaurant, again lovely staff food was fine, but the wine selection is brilliant.
All in all not a bad couple of days, expensive for 2 days. Best to stay for the 4 days and self cater

Room Tip: rooms looking out to the garden at the front or side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Annwyl/Dear Peter, Gaynor & Violet,

Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you liked the décor of 'Two Stone', one of our four relaxing country cottages. We are also glad that you all enjoyed your dining experience with us during your visit, particularly our extensive wine list with recommendations from our very own Sommelier.

We are concerned however to read that your mother had some issues with the bathroom facilities in the cottage, which would understandably be difficult for elderly guests. We would recommend discussing any specific mobility requirements with our helpful Reception Team at the time of booking, who will happily recommend our most suitable room for you to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grove again on your next trip to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We came from Australia for a friend's wedding and had a beautiful stay in this gorgeous property! We were in the 'Byre Room', which was just off the main house and perfectly suited our needs. Comfy bed and the most amazing water pressure in the shower! We had a couple of dinners at the property which were very good and great breakfasts - tried Welsh rarebit and also smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. On the heavy side but great to cap off a good morning walking around this lovely property. Ideally located for day trips to Tenby and other pretty coastal towns in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiviaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Annwyl/Dear Livia,

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay with us to celebrate Olivia & Leighroy's wedding in May. What a fabulous weekend!

We are thrilled to hear that the room 'Byre' situated in our Longhouse suited your needs and that you enjoyed your time spent with us. We are surrounded by some wonderful local amenities, including the little market town of Narberth just a mile down the road, together with peaceful country walks and nearby beaches such as Tenby like you mentioned. We're glad that you managed to explore some of these wonderful areas during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grove again in future should you decide to venture back to the UK.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molleston
5.9 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
3.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
8.6 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
7.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
12.1 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove of Narberth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove of Narberth

Property: Grove of Narberth
Address: Molleston, Narberth SA67 8BX, Wales (Formerly The Grove - Narberth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Molleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grove of Narberth 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside, The Grove is a leading small luxury hotel with one of Wales's finest restaurants led by Executive Chef, Allister Barsby. The Grove is surrounded by manicured lawns, flower borders, meadows and mature trees - and a region that offers a great selection of delicious ingredients. The venue has 26 intimate luxurious rooms and suites that are full of character - with interiors individually designed to the highest standards. Gaze out of our windows for scenic views of the Preseli mountains, or make the short trip to Pembrokeshire National Park for stunning coastal walks. The cuisine has won national awards and critical acclaim, including AA Rosettes, Wales Tourism Awards and listing in the Good Food Guide. All dishes are served with creativity and flair, and many ingredients come from the kitchen garden - providing ultra-fresh flavours to delight every palette. In summary, the Grove is the perfect place to relax in intimate luxury for those travelers that want to experience the best of Welsh cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grove of Narberth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove - Narberth Hotel Narberth
Grove Of Narberth Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing