We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing bank holiday retreat!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grove of Narberth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grove of Narberth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing bank holiday retreat!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have just returned from a three night bank holiday stay at this charming hotel. We stayed in the Derwen suite and it was very comfortable with lovely views over the welsh countryside.The staff were very friendly and efficient (merci Bruno) and we felt genuinely comfortable and at home here. Comfy lounges where we sat with our little girl every evening ,reading or playing games.We did a speed boat trip from st. Justinians,in search of seals which I highly recommend and the beach at Saundersfoot is lovely. Folly farm is a must visit with young children and you could easily spend a full day here. We will definitely return one day. Oh I forgot to mention the restaurant is top notch and my hubby loved their "old fashioned" cocktail.Finally if looking for a lunch stop at saundersfoot check out "shoreline" a quirky little restaurant .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 712Mary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay over bank holiday.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our lovely 'Derwen' Room. It's also fantastic that you made the most of the surrounding areas and had the opportunity to explore some of Pembrokeshire's attractions.

Our Restaurant Manager Bruno will be over the moon to hear that you enjoyed his homemade cocktail!

We very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    123
    39
    6
    2
See reviews for
155
832
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Great place to stop over , excellent "fine dining" restaurant with interesting wine list. Staff very friendly and efficient , loved the afternoon tea with fresh cooked scones. Comfy lounge to sit and read, small library area with board games . If it had gym / pool / spa would have been perfect for me but that's just personal , looking at the other guests and the fact it was full it obviously doesn't detract. Great Welsh breakfast with laver bread and nice self serve selection of fruits , cereals etc. Individual Bedroom with high ceiling , 4 poster bed , sofa and large bathroom . Would definitely stay again .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Gerald,

Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in one of our Suites. Your lovely comments on the afternoon tea and breakfast will also be shared with our Kitchen Team.

We very much hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The setting is lovely and the hotel has a quiet relaxing feel. The restaurant is first rate and the staff friendly and very helpful. We must revisit in the winter when I am sure the open fires will give it a magical feel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Clare,

Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent visit to The Grove. We are glad to hear that you had a quiet, relaxing stay with us.

We very much hope to welcome you back again in the near future - the atmosphere is truly special here over the Winter months.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a fabulous hotel and I would give it rather more than 5 stars if I could.

It’s delightfully located in the countryside just outside the small town of Narberth in Pembrokeshire. It’s very quiet and at night very dark, the perfect location for a quiet retreat. It’s the quintessential British country hotel, old building, sash windows, wood panelling, big sofas, subdued lighting, etc. The public rooms were great and would I suspect be wonderful in the winter with their open fires.

My room, the Blue Room, was lovely and very comfortable. The bed was large with big pillows and I slept very well. The en-suite bathroom had a nice bath with an overhead shower with a “drench” head. There were bath salts provided and some lovely soaps and bath gels, really very high quality. There was a flat screen tv and free wifi. All in all it was a very good room.

The staff were great too. Mainly female they are young and vivacious and are friendly, keen, enthusiastic and efficient. Nothing was a problem and everything I wanted was provided. I can’t speak too highly of the staff.

To turn to the restaurant this is of the very highest order. On the first night I had the tasting menu and this was brilliant. I won’t describe every course but I will just say that they were beautifully presented, each plate a work of art, and each was delicious. The chef often adds texture so you get some “crunch” as well as a variety of tastes. To give you an idea of the courses the middle one was called “Savoury to sweet” and consisted of a pea fondant with goats’ milk ice cream. I don’t know how you make a pea fondant but it was delicious, the epitome of pea, and it worked brilliantly with the ice cream. The chef has a real talent for capturing the essence of an ingredient. On my last night I eat from the A La Carte menu and had a Bresaola starter which was lovely, full of fruit and texture, and a Lamb main course, rump and heart, which was the best lamb I have had for some time. I finished off with a selection of cheeses which were also top class.

Breakfast is brilliant too, great ingredients, simply cooked. For example where do they find eggs with yolks as intensely orange as this! You will be set up for the day. I would like to see slightly better orange juice and marmalade, they are good but not great and everything else is great.

The drinks menu is excellent too. It’s the kind of place where they have a selection of gins so you can choose your favourite for you G&T. The wine list is also very good ranging from the reasonably priced to the extravagant. Particularly commendable is a wide selection of half-bottles, something otherwise good restaurants fail to have.

The cooking here is, in my opinion, Michelin star quality. The service is very good and the young staff will get better and better with more experience. I would not be at all surprised to see a star soon! If you live in this area go here for that special meal and have the tasting menu so that you can see the full range of the chef’s talents.

So in summary if you want a quiet retreat at a luxury hotel in this part of the world this is highly recommended. It isn’t cheap but you don’t get this quality at budget prices. The restaurant is outstanding and the staff are top, top class.

A very strong recommendation from me, easily in the top five of country hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Try the "Blue Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Covenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you experienced a relaxing break in our 'Blue' Room. This one of our most popular Superior Double Rooms, which benefits from lovely views across our front lawn and bluebell meadow.

Your kind comments about the food will also be passed onto our Head Chef and his Kitchen Team, who will undoubtedly be delighted.

We very much hope to welcome you back again in future.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great welcome from the reception staff and a complimentary coffee was the perfect start after a long drive. We were also lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite which was fantastic.
Everything about the hotel was first class. Whilst we didn't have afternoon tea it looked to die for. The staff where brilliant; discrete, attentive and friendly. Breakfast was superb. Our first trip to Pembrokeshire and it won't be our last. We shall certainly be looking to stay at The Grove again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philipsmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Philip,

Thank you for taking the time to put your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Hopefully you can sample our delicious Afternoon Tea on your next visit!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at The Grove. From the minute we arrived and were greeted by the friendly staff, it was clear this hotel was going to be a hit. Our room was spacious,clean and well stocked with magazines, tea and coffee and bathroom essentials. Dinner was superb, whilst the staff were attentive and charming. The breakfast menu was a treat and everything was cooked to perfection. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent visit.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were well looked after by our friendly team.

We very much hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Idyllic secluded and tranquil getaway. A relaxing base camp to explore Pembrokeshire. Staff are welcoming, friendly and most helpful . The Hotel is immaculate and beautifully furnished in keeping with the house and there are plenty of quite areas to sit and read a book undisturbed. Set in both wild and manicured grounds the Hotel is treated to the Summer spectacle of wheeling House Martins.

The restaurant serves excellent gourmet food which means small portions beautifully presented with the accompanying ‘ritual’ that makes you and the food feel special (and it is!).

We stayed in the quirky Preseli loft that just about affords you a view of the hills. The skylights allowed light and ventilation into the room and a call to reception provided us with a fan and ice bucket for very effective air conditioning during the mini heatwave. The bathroom and the shower were very good with excellent toiletries.

Not so much criticisms as suggestions for areas to make the most of. Daily cleaning of skylights during summer. Landscaping the ‘wild pond’ to provide a tranquil area with seating. As an alternative to the rich restaurant food, a buffet in the breakfast room perhaps for those who want to avoid the inconvenience of going elsewhere to eat – particularly for those staying longer than a few days.

The Grange is a perfect destination for those wanting a quiet luxurious getaway.

Room Tip: Call ahead to find out about the different rooms - some are in the main house some are in the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay in our 'Preseli Loft' Room.

We are pleased to hear that your requirements were accommodated throughout our recent summer heat wave here in Pembrokeshire (a rare occurrence!). Your kind comments on the food will also be passed onto our Kitchen Team.

We appreciate your thoughtful suggestions for improvements in and around The Grove. These will be discussed together with our various departments for future development and growth.

We very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molleston
5.9 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
8.6 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
7.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
7.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
13.5 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove of Narberth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove of Narberth

Property: Grove of Narberth
Address: Molleston, Narberth SA67 8BX, Wales (Formerly The Grove - Narberth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Molleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grove of Narberth 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside, The Grove is a leading small luxury hotel with one of Wales's finest restaurants led by Executive Chef, Allister Barsby. The Grove is surrounded by manicured lawns, flower borders, meadows and mature trees - and a region that offers a great selection of delicious ingredients. The venue has 26 intimate luxurious rooms and suites that are full of character - with interiors individually designed to the highest standards. Gaze out of our windows for scenic views of the Preseli mountains, or make the short trip to Pembrokeshire National Park for stunning coastal walks. The cuisine has won national awards and critical acclaim, including AA Rosettes, Wales Tourism Awards and listing in the Good Food Guide. All dishes are served with creativity and flair, and many ingredients come from the kitchen garden - providing ultra-fresh flavours to delight every palette. In summary, the Grove is the perfect place to relax in intimate luxury for those travelers that want to experience the best of Welsh cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grove of Narberth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove - Narberth Hotel Narberth
Grove Of Narberth Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing