We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Amazing Place”
Review of Grove of Narberth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grove of Narberth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 March 2009

My husband and I have just been on a 'tour' of Wales and stayed in some great places, some of which I've been wanting to visit for many years. We had to find somewhere in Pembrokeshire to end our trip and found The Grove by chance online. I can't believe it wasn't on my list of 'must visit' places already as it surpassed ALL of the others in every way.

We stayed for 2 nights in the John Pollard Seddon room (20th and 21st March) and it was a wonderful experience. It was the best bed I've ever slept in, so much so that I've just ordered the duvet, pilllows, sheets and towels online today in an attempt to reproduce the luxury at home !!!

There were so many things that made it special it’s hard to know where to start. Zoe and Neil were so friendly and welcoming, it was great (and quite rare) to see such enthusiasm, I’m sure the place will go from strength to strength. The fresh flowers in the bedroom were worthy of a centre piece in a 5-star London hotel reception. The heated bathroom floor was luxurious and it was great to relax in the library upstairs with a pot of tea. The food was wonderful and the service excellent.

We loved it and will certainly be going back and of course it’s now added to my list of ‘must visit’ places.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoneJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2009

We were looking for a weekend break, a chance to get away little for a restorative few days. Little did we know what a treat lay ahead for us when we arrived at The Grove. The owners, Neil and Zoe have every detail covered. The hotel is a vibrant mix of country house elegance with a touch of cool - all of the luxury but none of the stuffy. From the minute we set foot in the place the stress of a very busy life began ebbing away as we were shown through the beautiful reception to a great room. It just got better. Open fires, chilled atmosphere, amazing decor, great service combined to make The Grove a piece of heaven in West Wales.

The food is sublime, local ingredients obviously carefully combined with some amazing results. Slow cooked rabbit was a taste sensation with the brill in saffron stealing the show for me. Breakfast should also get a mention with Eggs benedict, french toast and maple porridge on offer in the beautiful wood panelled room which we were lucky to enjoy in what felt like the first weekend in spring. The weekend's weather was very kind bathing the whole place in warm sun for the two days we enjoyed there. The Grove is open for lunch - but we managed to tear ourselves away to explore the local area so saved ourselves for dinner.

Service also should get a mention - attentive but not obtrusive with a genuine warmth and friendliness where nothing is too much trouble. The relaxed vibe of the team meant that we were immediatley put at ease.

We'll be going back a few times this year!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

My wife and I stayed with Neil and Zoe at the grove for 3 nights on a fantastic winter break offer (Sun - Wed). As you drive up to the Grove you can start to see the care and attention that has been put into renovating the property - in the middle of fantastic country views. There was a very warm reception from Neil when we arrived - we stayed in the John Pollard room which is superb and combined with a huge bathroom with free standing bath and great big seperate shower we couldn't have asked for more.

We had a dinner, bed and breakfast deal - and were not dissappointed. Breakfast offered everything you need including a good welsh breakfast! The dinner menu (which changes monthly) provided more than enough choice. Particular favorites were the gnocchi, nettle soup and the pork knuckle.

The Grove is fantastic today, but still in early stages - if its current state to go by is a level of the future then this place will only continue to get better. If there was any downside it was just through staff experience on one night (a little first night nerves) and maybe a little more attention to the provision of bathroom toiletries that weren't replaced, but nothing that in any way effected our stay significantly. With 6 more rooms being created and the options in the self-catering cottages (very high spec) we will make the effort to get back there. Would highly recommend a stay at the grove and also check out the local town of Narberth for some lovely deli's and boutique shops.

Make sure you stop by Tenby - lovely little town and plenty of walks south or north up to Saundersfoot on the beautiful pembrokshire coastline.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We went to The Grove for our wedding anniversary and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. We stayed in the Hanoi room which was very roomy and beautifully decorated. Over the years we have stayed in numerous luxury hotels but have never been made to feel as welcome or relaxed as we have at The Grove. This exceeded our expectations on all levels. It's only a mile outside Narbeth but felt that we were a million miles away from anywhere. The hotel itself has been restored to a very high standard and the rooms are beautiful and elegant. No expense spared in renovating this wonderful house. A credit to Neil and Zoe.We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was absolutely delicious. We wish we had booked in for the second night also!. Over all we have had a fantastic weekend away. We will definitely be going back as the Grove ticked every box - peaceful, relaxing, elegant, delicious food and Neil and Zoe completed it as they are so hospitable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pavStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlackbladderUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhiPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molleston
5.9 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,194 reviews
7.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
3.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
231 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
8.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove of Narberth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove of Narberth

Address: Molleston, Narberth SA67 8BX, Wales (Formerly The Grove - Narberth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Molleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Price Range: £147 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove of Narberth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside, The Grove is a leading small luxury hotel with one of Wales's finest restaurants led by Executive Chef, Allister Barsby. The Grove is surrounded by manicured lawns, flower borders, meadows and mature trees - and a region that offers a great selection of delicious ingredients. The venue has 26 intimate luxurious rooms and suites that are full of character - with interiors individually designed to the highest standards. Gaze out of our windows for scenic views of the Preseli mountains, or make the short trip to Pembrokeshire National Park for stunning coastal walks. The cuisine has won national awards and critical acclaim, including AA Rosettes, Wales Tourism Awards and listing in the Good Food Guide. All dishes are served with creativity and flair, and many ingredients come from the kitchen garden - providing ultra-fresh flavours to delight every palette. In summary, the Grove is the perfect place to relax in intimate luxury for those travelers that want to experience the best of Welsh cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grove of Narberth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove - Narberth Hotel Narberth
Grove Of Narberth Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing