We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious cottage with fantastic views,”
Review of Grove of Narberth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grove of Narberth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious cottage with fantastic views,”
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We had a great 3 nights staying in Peak cottage at the Grove enjoying the facilities of the hotel. The cottage is well equipped and beautifully designed. The views are incredible and the grounds of the hotel and cottages are extensive. Had a delicious lunch in the hotel which met the dietary requirements of an extended family of 7 including a 7 year old and a vegetarian. The proprietors are very welcoming and looked after us well.
The town of Narbeth is full of boutiques of nick nacks as well as pubs, restaurants and small supermarkets. The beaches of Saundersfoot and Tenby are a short drive away and the countryside is great for walking and/or cycling. Can't wait to visit again and be treated again to such luxury.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynofHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    129
    40
    6
    2
See reviews for
165
876
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the Grove and can echo many of the previous reviews. It is a stunning house in a beautiful rural location. The room (John Pollard Suite) was amazing with a very comfortable bed and a luxurious bathroom. The owners were incredibly helpful in highlighting some of the local attractions and making suggestions for day trips.

Whilst we feel bad for highlighting some of the downsides at nearly £200 a night there were just a few things which let it slip below 5*. Firstly the property is currently undergoing building works - it was a bit of a heart sink moment when we driving in and met with a large digger on the driveway. Also at dinner I was unfortunately given a seat by the window which only had views of the building work....it just wasn't quite the picturesque scene I had imagined. I think it would have been wise for the owners to warn us of the building work and given us the option of re-booking following completion. In all likelihood we would have kept our booking but it would have prevented that initial disappointment as we would have been prepared for it.

The food was, on the whole, really good some dishes were excellent (especially breakfast) and a couple of dishes were just slightly below the standard we had expected.

Had the hotel been of a lower quality then the building works may have put us off returning but that is definitely not the case and we hope to visit again some day.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kateseviour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I planned to travel to Pembrokeshire and stay in the Grove, Narbeth for 10 days with my family and spoke with Zoe, who offered me a 20% discount for the number of days to be booked. Upon calling back after the weekend I spoke with Neil who rescinded the offer and advised that Zoe is full time in London and is not the proprietor but he is. (Surprising given Zoe has signed off the home page to their Website). Absolutely shocked I chose not to book and seriously question their commitment to customer service. Having experienced Neil's arrogance first hand I would now not go to his/her/their establishment if they paid me!
To any traveller interested in the Grove, Narbeth, be aware that, according to Neil, Zoe's word is NOT final!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank UKfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTheGrove, Owners at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, 15 August 2009
Hello Sir,

Thank you for your feedback relating to your experience in booking your August holiday here at The Grove.

As we tried to explain on the phone, we made a genuine mistake in offering you such a high level of discount during our peak month of trade. As a new business at the time of your booking we had not set up clear procedures regarding discounts. This is now been sorted out with a packages and last minute offers section on our website.

The Grove remain absolutely commented to delivering the highest levels of customer service in a friendly, relaxed setting as is reflected in the vast majority of the reviews from people who have stayed with us.

Regards
Neil and Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Grove. The setting is wonderfully romantic. The ambience is elegant and luxurious. Great attention has been paid to detail in order that your stay should be thoroughly comfortable. After a long drive, I was thrilled to find that I could have an excellent aromotherapy massage on the premises which truly relaxed me. Our charming hosts made sure that we were well looked after.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatildaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed for a week in the Two Stone cottage. The hotel and cottages are in a lovely quiet location about 2 miles from Narberth. The cottage was one of the best we have stayed in, in terms of furnishings and fittings. The patio area at the back is quite a sun trap, even in May. Narbeth itself is a great town, with an excellent Spanish/Welsh deli which we visited most days for sandwiches, coffee and tapas. We don't often go back to places, but we would definitely go back here!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusiStockport_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lonon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2009

This hotel and its self catered units is a treasure in a lovely area of South West Wales. We rented the smallest of the self catered units for a week and had an stunning time. THe attention to detail and quality are evident from the minute you arrive, and upon getting into our conversion for the week we were amazed at the level of luxury and intimate feel created - you really feel like you're the only one there.

The hotel is simply stunning, decorating with flair and passion that reflects the warmth and welcome of the owners. The lounge room and bar is as perfect as can be imagined, long G&T's and great advice on the local area, sites and scenary.

Food in the restuarant was nothing short of amzing, local produce, great service in a small dining room, wine list was great and a very relaxed experience all round.

Only minor negatives were perhaps the level of isolation - you can't walk to the local pub or restaurants, but then the remote, romantic nature will work for many.

There are cheaper places to stay for a week's self catered accomodation in Pembrookshrie, but few will come close the experience and luxury that come with the Grove. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farklesforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Have just returned from a fabulous weekend at The Grove and felt we simply had to write a review on what turned out to be a very special place indeed.

From the moment you arrive you can just tell that you are going to have exactly what the website promised a relaxing, luxurious break in extremely comfortable surroundings with fine food and wines enjoyed in a relaxed atmosphere away from the hectic pace of modern life.

The decor throughout was tasteful and very classy. Our bedroom (The Partridge room) was roomy, comfortable and beautifully decorated. We slept in a massive super king sized bed with sumptous bedlinen, bath robes and towels. The staff brought a tea tray up to our room every morning (what a touch - please don't put tea and coffee making facilities in the room it would spoil it!). The food was scrummy and delicious (and lots of it - no mean portions here -especially the rib eye steaks which were HUGE!) with superb, friendly service at all times.

The hotel has a real cosy, warm feeling to it , we felt welcome and relaxed at all times. Would we recommend it? Try stopping us !!! It was worth every penny and more! Planning our next visit already.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyns074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molleston
7.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
3.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
495 reviews
22.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
716 reviews
12.1 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
431 reviews
13.5 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove of Narberth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove of Narberth

Property: Grove of Narberth
Address: Molleston, Narberth SA67 8BX, Wales (Formerly The Grove - Narberth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Molleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grove of Narberth 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside, The Grove is a leading small luxury hotel with one of Wales's finest restaurants led by Executive Chef, Allister Barsby. The Grove is surrounded by manicured lawns, flower borders, meadows and mature trees - and a region that offers a great selection of delicious ingredients. The venue has 26 intimate luxurious rooms and suites that are full of character - with interiors individually designed to the highest standards. Gaze out of our windows for scenic views of the Preseli mountains, or make the short trip to Pembrokeshire National Park for stunning coastal walks. The cuisine has won national awards and critical acclaim, including AA Rosettes, Wales Tourism Awards and listing in the Good Food Guide. All dishes are served with creativity and flair, and many ingredients come from the kitchen garden - providing ultra-fresh flavours to delight every palette. In summary, the Grove is the perfect place to relax in intimate luxury for those travelers that want to experience the best of Welsh cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grove of Narberth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove - Narberth Hotel Narberth
Grove Of Narberth Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing