We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't ask for more.....”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Steve and Jane are very welcoming hosts and all the facilities are extremely comfortable, we stayed just for one night but wish we could stay for longer. I would strongly recommend this bed-and-breakfast if you are visiting the area. We will definitely stay again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
38
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I can't write a more positive review. Everything about this B & B is marvellous. Steve and Jane are great hosts, the house is a wonder, and the story of the renovation is fascinating. The house is restored, decorated and furnished beautifully. It's the kind of place you long to go back to. Top marks for hospitality and breakfast. Great location in a quiet village. I look forward to seeing more of the garden restoration. It's tricky to find, but we're really glad we found it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeesKnees55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for the review. The garden restoration is progressing, which we hope that you will have the time to come and inspect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were warmly received by Jane and Steve, a charming couple. Our rooms, and indeed the whole house, had been lovingly restored by their own hands, Steve being an architect who specialised in the restoration of old houses for clients. (I say "restored", but the house in its time as a Rectory would never have been so elegant and comfortable.) The rooms were stylishly decorated and spacious. The breakfast was all that one could have wished for: fresh rolls, generous menu and everything well prepared and presented. Quietly located and all at reasonable price. What more could one ask for? There can't be many such B&Bs anywhere!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a fascinating old house, with a fascinating history and a labour-of-love restoration by Steve (the architect) and Jane. The rooms are beautiful, elegant and restored to better-than-new condition with the attention to detail in the materials, finishes and decoration that speaks for the love of the owners. Modern bathrooms and facilities have been incorporated so sympathetically that you wouldn't know that they weren't there before, so that the elegance of previous centuries is coupled with 21st-century mod cons. But the hospitality of Steve and Jane really sets the Old Rectory apart; there are the practical essentials, like the fabulous breakfasts, but even more important is they seem very happy to chat all day if you like, on any topic you might name! Even Edward and Rupert (the dogs) are interesting, elegant, and friendly, but perfect gentlemen. There is a wealth of things to do in the area - beaches, gardens, castles, railways, boats, walks - the list goes on, and this is a great, peaceful, out of the way, but accessible (when you've worked it out) place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandSOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had a fabulous stay at the Old Rectory. I was so excited at the thought of returning to a house where I had experienced many happy memories as a child. I was not disappointed in any way whatsoever. We had a lovely warm welcome from Jane & Steve, they have renovated the house beautifully and we enjoyed a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thanks for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay and hopefully added to all those memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed for one night (wish it could have been longer!). The property itself is stunning, Steve and Jane have completely renovated this beautiful old building. It's in a very rural location, so no street lights or road noise made for a perfect night's sleep.

The breakfast was fantastic. Fresh home made bread, home made muesli and a cooked breakfast - it was wonderful.

The stay was excellent value for money and I would highly recommend this B&B.

I'd love to return here for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks for the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you staying with us again, soon, for longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights at the Old Rectory and found it superb. The Blue and Green bedrooms are very spacious with lovely views and even the smaller Amber where we slept was lovely. It was fabulous to spend so long in the house, beautifully restored, and enjoy the drawing room. We are no fans of a buffet breakfast and this was certainly not one. It was superbly served at the table by Jane and Steve. And the light supper with wine, again served at the table in the drawing room, was an unexpected delight. Jane and Steve were so friendly and helpful in every way. We would definitely like to stay again.

Room Tip: The Blue and Green rooms are at the front of the house overlooking the garden. They are both spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter Velfrey
4.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
3.0 mi away
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
7.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
5.2 mi away
Canaston Oaks
Canaston Oaks
#1 of 1 in Canaston Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.9 mi away
32 Townhouse
32 Townhouse
#6 of 11 in Narberth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Address: | Narberth, Lampeter Velfrey, Narberth SA67 8UH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Lampeter Velfrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lampeter Velfrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently re-furbished (completed 2011), this period building offers Victorian grandeur. Through the porch lies a magnificent hall with original tiled floor which leads to the guest drawing room. The sweeping staircase leads to the bedrooms and galleried landing, lit by a magnificent Victorian glass dome, and where there is further seating, refreshments, books etc. A warm friendly informal home where space, comfortable beds and pets (cat and dog) all contribute to a relaxing stay.All rooms have king size beds, digital TV/DVD/Radio, WiFi, Hairdryers and en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing