We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring west Wales”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaston Wood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluestone National Park Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The location is wonderful for exploring West Wales. It's so easy to find and not far from the M4. The accommodation is spacious and well equipped with everything you will need to cook a good meal and enjoy time away from home. When the sun is out there is plenty to do on the park, but indoor activities are. Little limited. The pool area is great for families and the slides are lots of fun for all ages! The spa seems reasonably priced and the eateries aren't stupidly over priced like other similar holiday villages. The park is a good size and everything is within easy walking distance. The village is quaint and the selection of places to eat and drink is good too. The shop closes very early so make sure you don't run out of anything after dark! All round good fun and good value for a quick break :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aw19862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,662 - 1,668 of 2,587 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Booked a break for family and teens used a connecting cabin. Ideal for groups of teens and parents to have own space. Weather was very windy so couldn't use high ropes activity due to H and S. Staff were helpful and tried to arrange alternatives. Also gave refunds when teenagers decided to change their mind! Spa very busy on this visit, not surprising as everyone wanted to get out of the rain. Great having wifi in lodges and DVD player. Food in The Yard was lovely, service a bit slow initially with drinks. Great place to visit with family.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ann-MarieBrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have stayed here 4 times now since October 2012. We have stayed in a Ramsey (2 Bedroom Upside Down Living) and a Gateholm (3 Bedroom Upside Down Living) Both are very spacious and have fabulous views from upstairs. My daughter, who is now 2, absolutely loves the Adventure Centre and the Blue Lagoon. In the adventure centre they have mini/crazy golf and a bouncy castle all free of charge aswell as the climbing frames slides and ball pool. The blue lagoon has a small childs pool which is like a small beach, sand round and in the pool, with a small slide and waterfall/rocks to the side. Then theres a large pool/wave pool, which has a lazy river going outside. Its surprising how warm it is even when raining. Then another small "pirate" pool. Plus 3 slides. Even my 6 month old Son enjoyed the wave pool.

There is several restuarants/pubs onsite, although we never ate in them, they seemed reasonably priced. There is a small shop, which sells everything you would need, which isn't too expensive either, rrp or less. We found an Aldi & Morrison's supermarket about 8 miles/10min drive away in Haverfordwest.

Would highly recommend, specially to families with children.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

It may seem unfair to compare Bluestone with Center Parcs but having stayed at all Center Parc locations over the years we felt they were getting rather tired and scruffy.
We chose Bluestone primarily as the accommodation looked far superior to Center Parcs and seemed to offer more for very young children. We were certainly not disappointed, we booked a Grassholm Lodge for 5 adults and 2 children ages ranging between 16 months and 59; on arrival we were impressed with the quality and size of our accommodation, a very well equipped kitchen, flat screen TV, DVD player, 4 double bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. I have read reviews critcising the comfort of the beds, yes they are firm but still comfortable and clean, we had no complaints.
One thing that was noticeable was how friendly and helpful every member of Bluestone staff were, we had a couple of very minor problems in our kitchen which we reported to Guest Services, within an hour both were rectified, a welcome change to the Center Parcs couldn`t care less attitude!
The Blue Lagoon was a big hit with all the family, the water was like a warm bath, clean changing areas and very professional, attentive life guards; the beach area for young children was a nice touch. Yes the tiles and paintwork in some areas could do with some maintenance but this doesn`t spoil the enjoyment.
Now I`m afraid comes the big downside to Bluestone, Golf Buggies! They are a nightmare, completely unnecessary, they make walking with young children a dangerous experience! I can understand the novelty appeal but whats wrong with walking?
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Bluestone, great accommodation, friendly staff and a good base for exploring Pembrokeshire. If you want wall to wall sports facilities, over priced restaurants and mediocre accommodation then go to Center Parcs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at Bluestone for a Monday to Friday break in January. As expected, the weather was a bit naff but we had a good time.

Things to bear in mind: the resort is very much aimed at families so you feel a bit daft wandering round or going to the pool (the Blue Lagoon) without any children. There were some adult/older children activites- the high ropes were great.

The place is very hilly and the golf buggies which you can hire are pretty expensive (£25 for 24hrs, £75 Mon-Fri/Fri-Mon). It's quite a walk from some lodges to breakfast and to the car park.

The general area is pretty shut down in January- lots of shops and attractions were closed for the month.

The accommodation was of a high standard with all the mod cons in the kitchen.

Food was fairly average; the buffet (The Yard) and pub (Knight's Tafarn) were ok. The food at Carreg Las (the fine dining restaurant) was fantastic but portions were small. The spread at breakfast was limited- two or three types of cereal, toast, and the cooked breakfast was a bit plain.

On balance, we'll probably return in here the future with family rather than visit again as a couple.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here with family & friends.
People moan about the walk around as its downhill to village so uphill back to top for water park & car park but nothing wrong with a little exercise!
Its Wales so you expect rain, bring an umberella! Buggy is fun but not essential.

In the spa, the thermal rooms are great but TLC needed. I've been to a lot of spas around the world & on cruise ships; the 2 therapists we had Jess M & Catrin excelled, we commented on how they made us feel like royalty.

Downside, lodges in need of TLC, each time more problems. Matresses could do with more comfier ones, its 5 star so you expect the best but slept on better at travelodge!

Blue Lagoon, children love but again needs TLC.

Sunday Carvery, room is too cold, service wasnt great. 1st ever time this was amazing, 2nd time it was ok, this time it put me off. Waited over 10 minutes when first seated to see if waitress came to take drinks order, she didnt; had to wait 5 minutes for gravy to come out, huge que by this point, roast potatoes took ages to come out, almost finished food by time they did. Pricing had changed too.

Its a lovely place that has such potential, the staff are hard working & its unfortunate that its not being maintained as it should.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 458jellycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We came for a weekend break with our 10 month old. Apart from the miserable weather, it was fantastic! The Blue Lagoon is a great place for kids- the only downside is that it's also open to the public so can become crowded on weekends. But the residents only swim (9-10am daily) is fab and the water is much warmer first thing so our baby loved it.

The golf buggy was also a great investment. It rained so much that we wouldn't have ventured out without it! And it was so much fun to drive!

We only had two small niggles. Firstly, while the food at The Knight's Tafarn and Wild Wood Cafe was great value the Takeaway service from The Yard was sub standard and overpriced.

Secondly, the Well Spa was not a hit with us. While the Spa treatments were good, the beauty treatments were rushed and overpriced. We paid 30 for a pedicure that should have lasted 30mins. Instead, it was rushed through in 15 and the polish came off by the time we got back to our lodge!

All in all, well worth a visit. Can't wait for the summer when (hopefully) we can get out in the woods and take part in some of the outdoor activities!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlievamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaston Wood
6.7 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
303 reviews
6.8 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saundersfoot
1,215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
738 reviews
2.3 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
517 reviews
9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone National Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone National Park Resort

Address: The Grange, Canaston Wood, Narberth SA67 8DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Canaston Wood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Canaston Wood
Price Range: £73 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone National Park Resort offers fantastic free range holidays for families, couples and friends! The all-weather luxury short break destination in Pembrokeshire is like no other. Whether you want to relax and unwind or play and have fun during your break there is something for everyone! We offer breaks for generational families wanting to spend quality time together, romantic short breaks, and catch up getaways with friends. Guests can choose from a range of luxury lodges set around a private Welsh village where you will find the cottages and studio apartments, restaurants, shops, a pub and its very own holistic spa and thermal rooms. Choose from heart pumping activities in the Steep Ravine with its high ropes and zip wire around the old Camp Smokey; splashing fun in the Blue Lagoon water park and outdoor fun indoors at the Adventure Centre with its climbing walls, ball pits and Wild Wood Cafe. For those wanting to chill and unwind there’s The Well Spa with its holistic treatments and invigorating thermal rooms. Combine this with opportunities to visit the nearby coastal towns and countryside communities and you have a perfect short break destination, whatever the weather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluestone Hotel Narberth
Bluestone Resort Narberth
Bluestone National Park Resort Wales/Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing