We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break at bluestone”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaston Wood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluestone National Park Resort
Certificate of Excellence
brighton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family break at bluestone”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Went here 27th of jan for 4 nights , upon arriving check in was very simple. Stayed in a Ramsey lodge (upside down lodge) it was lovely, clean , well equipped , modern , comfy beds . Just needed new sofas!!! (We weren't in the lodge all day sitting on them so not really a problem)
The park itself had lots of things to do some of which cost money some of which didn't , our two boys did the big four and woodland warrior ( laser quest in the Forrest ) cost about £70 for both for two of them. You can spend a lot of money here if you don't take advantage of the free activities on offer . The swimming pool was nice but I wouldn't have paid the price someone not staying at the park would have too. We stayed here on a b&b basis and went out for diner one night , in my opinion the quality of the BBQ night food could be greatly improved for what it costs. We did hire a buggy to drive around in , which was great fun and very convenient. All in all great time away , great location , great accommodation , the kids had a fantastic time , we wouldn't eat out again , but would we go back ?? - yes

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    835
    271
    96
    55
See reviews for
1,718
221
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Complete waste of money , pool was closed most of the weekend, food was awful, accommodation starting to look very tired, staff vey unhelpful and knew nothing about issue with the Blue Lagoon.
Given email address by staff member to complain but even that does not work!!!
After a terrible weekend I get a shout from a Blue Stone youth in a electric buggy saying 'have a nice day' just lucky for him he did not stop!!!!!!

Avoid and go to Centre Parks you pay more but get better service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canyon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3night weekend and our overall view is that we had an enjoyable stay for the price - just over £200 for 4 of us. However, there are a number of niggles and simple improvements that could be made.

We stayed in a Caldey Lodge in Augustus Way - the location was good, close enough to all amenities, clean, well equipped and comfortable. However, I'm not sure who thought that putting wet rooms in lodges designed for families is a good idea? On the first day our 5 yr old slipped and hit her head on the wet floor. Also as mentioned the hot water did run out after 1.5showers. We found the beds Ok - they are covered in plastic so a bit crinkly but we did take our own pillows so had a few home comforts.

We mostly took our own food and ate in for every meal except one, where we attended the Fairy Dinner in the Wildwood cafe - where the food was absolutely appalling. Lamb stew - swimming in fat for adults and chicken nuggets for the girls ( really cheap nasty ones) with sponge & custard for desert of which both the taste and texture were horrible. The girls loved the show - I felt it was a little short. Bearing in mind Bluestone claim they offer free range holidays I expected more from the food.

We enjoyed the Blue Lagoon however I would recommend making use of the residents only hr from 9-10am as it gets really busy once it's opened to the public. The facilities are good, we enjoyed the slides & sandy pool but they need more family changing rooms as we found ourselves waiting to get changed.

The girls enjoyed the adventure centre however for adults watching it is absolutely freezing, there are not enough seats and the place is generally messy with used cups - waiter service, comfy chairs would significantly improve this area.

The girls did a couple of other activities - buccaneers and the crèche and enjoyed both, the outside treetops play area is good and they enjoyed the kids hour. The staff are all very friendly and keen to help.

The shop is well equipped, we tried the coffee shop, which was nice bit felt more could be done with the knights tavern to make it more cosy and atmospheric - it is essentially a room with tables and doesn't invite you to spend time there.

The weather was pretty awful for our stay but we weren't ever bored but I don't feel we explored Bluestone as much as we would had the weather been better and so we would definitely re-visit if the price was right!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hettysaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic accommodation , clean , very well appointed, great beds and bedding . Very clean
Excellent customer service
Beautiful location
Homely atmosphere
Fantastic spa
Lovely grounds , plenty of walks

Pool needs a little attention

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazza16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at Bluestone last week during half term and it felt like a complete waste of money.
The lodge itself was quite good but the beds were so hard we all had bad backs and we ran out of hot water every day after 1 shower.
The worst aspect was the catering. We did not manage one single meal without an issue. Items being forgotten and coming at different times. We had lunch at the Tafarn on the Tuesday and after several times of asking got cold food after an hour and a half!
The shop has nothing to cook in the lodge so take plenty of your own food.
The take away was dire - £10.95 for a chicken kebab that was literally 5 tiny slices of chicken breast - the worst value by far of our whole stay.
Careg Las is far from fine dining - laughable is all I can say!
There is little to do indoors if the weather is bad. Nothing for older children or adults either. No gym, badminton courts etc etc.
Pool is tiny. The park is more geared for smaller children but definitely not for teenagers.
No comparison with Center Parcs.
Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have just spent 4 nights in a caldey connect lodge with our family, the lodges were modern and clean with good kitchen facilities and nice space. We were on preselected view which was in between the water park/adventure centre and the village which is quaint. On the downside the beds were very hard and the shower door wasn't sealed properly so water ran out onto the bathroom floor (both families had this problem). The kids loved the pool and due to the weather we spent a lot of time in there. The adventure centre was cold and there weren't enough tables for adults to sit at, it's also quite easy to lose your child in the giant wooden play structures as once inside you can't see them. We tries a few activities too, the safari 4x4 driving was a bit boring for my 8 year old, round and round 2 tracks, he enjoyed the woodland warriors and tree climbing though. My 4 year old did the bluestone bucaneers which he enjoyed too.
We ate in 3 of the 4 nights, luckily we brought most food with us, the shop had a decent selection but was slightly overpriced (expected) we had pre booked and prepaid for an Italian night at the yard, but found it had changed to a Spanish theme on arrival, when we questioned it we were told 'it is subject to change' I know why they ask you to pre pay, it's so you don't refuse to pay afterwards, it was dreadful. The only nice food was soup for starter. The salad bar was dry plain pasta, celery and rice (awful) the mains were just not great, at £17 per adult it was overpriced and unappetising, fatty meatballs, Spanish tortilla (ok) roast potatoes (ok) pork chop(dry). Kids options were focaccia with a tomato and melted cheese, sausage casserole and burnt fish goujons. Drinks were extortionate here too, and the waitress less than helpful, almost grudging in her role. DO not eat here if possible.
A 2 hour stint at the spa was nice, but basically 2 steam rooms and 2 sauna's with an outdoor warmtub!
Overall a good week, kids loved it, accommodation pretty good at less than half the price of centre parcs, but avoid the yard if you like decent food.

Room Tip: Preselli view was a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Really pleased that we found this place. Our standards are high and whilst we don't aim to compare it to Center Parcs, as we have been to CP several times then I guess it is inevitable that comparisons will be made.

Our lodge was located in Forest View. It was a Ramsey- upside down house. It was a bit close to other lodges which meant our bedroom on the ground floor looked into another lodge. If/ when we go back we will pay to select a lodge.

Minor niggles- tap in bathroom was stuck, sink plug missing, horrible hard beds (never thought that would bother me, but I've slept on better in camping barns), coffee was rubbish, no instructions on what to do with rubbish/ recycling..... Hopefully Bluestone take note as these are easily sorted.

Lots of people hired golf buggies. We didn't, although we tried to later on in the week and none were available. Expensive though £75 for a mid week or weekend and £140 for a week. They are NOT necessary, but do look fun. We travelled with a 2 year old and were out and about everyday. Yes there is a hill, but still, the whole park isn't that big (about 2km to run around the outside perimeter).

Now the good stuff- the take away food is great..... Recommend the pizza. Order in the Yard and delivery is within 30 mins. Lots of free activities, eg treasure trail (£8 at CP) and other activities are reasonably priced. Accommodation is great (apart from the beds!), clean and well equipped. The staff are all very friendly. Bakery is lovely, ok, a little pricey, but not excessively so £1.60 for a large baguette. Pool was being improved when we were there... New floor tiles were being put down overnight.

The true measure of a place though is when something goes wrong. On huge last night my son was really sick in his bed, the way only toddlers seem to be able to do. There are no phones in the lodge and no mobile signal so he walked to the phone in the village centre. There were two options- emergency calls and security so he called security and explained what happened. Within 15 minutes a really cheery lady arrived in a buggy and completely made us feel like it was absolutely no trouble at all. She offered several times to come in and help us change the bed, although we had already stripped it and left us with a bag of clean bedding. Really can't fault the staff at all!


I recommend the short stroll to Castle Coch and the ravine walk. A bit further afield we went fossil hunting on Marloe Sands.

Room Tip: What would have helped us pick a good spot was knowing how the land is as on the map everything is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangejellybeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaston Wood
2.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
475 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,164 reviews
8.6 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
282 reviews
7.1 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,105 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone National Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone National Park Resort

Property: Bluestone National Park Resort
Address: The Grange, Canaston Wood, Narberth SA67 8DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Canaston Wood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Canaston Wood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone National Park Resort offers fantastic free range holidays for families, couples and friends! The all-weather luxury short break destination in Pembrokeshire is like no other. Whether you want to relax and unwind or play and have fun during your break there is something for everyone! We offer breaks for generational families wanting to spend quality time together, romantic short breaks, and catch up getaways with friends. Guests can choose from a range of luxury lodges set around a private Welsh village where you will find the cottages and studio apartments, restaurants, shops, a pub and its very own holistic spa and thermal rooms. Choose from heart pumping activities in the Steep Ravine with its high ropes and zip wire around the old Camp Smokey; splashing fun in the Blue Lagoon water park and outdoor fun indoors at the Adventure Centre with its climbing walls, ball pits and Wild Wood Cafe. For those wanting to chill and unwind there’s The Well Spa with its holistic treatments and invigorating thermal rooms. Combine this with opportunities to visit the nearby coastal towns and countryside communities and you have a perfect short break destination, whatever the weather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluestone Hotel Narberth
Bluestone Resort Narberth
Bluestone National Park Resort Wales/Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing