We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaston Wood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluestone National Park Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our first weekend break at bluestone... all I can say is....wowowow... what a lovely place. The park is not too big or small. Lovely park, nice restaurants, can be bit pricey if ur eating there every night but we cooked in our cabin which was lovely big accommodation with all you need to cook & dishwasher. We took a bbq. Accommodation is lovely 5* very clean. We hired a buggy which was very handy and it added to the fun we had. I would not say you defo need it. Great for bikes. Activity daughter only did the sky trail & drop indoor. Free mini golf indoor& play area, swimming pool was fab, bike/walk trails were great overall we had a lovely stay cant wait to go back, evan booked for next year when we was there & had extra money off :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank greeny20111648480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    820
    270
    95
    54
See reviews for
1,674
218
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a studio and accommodation was great. Place was spotless and staff were great. Biggest disappointment was the food available. We ate at the Smithy, Knight's Tavern and tried the takeaway food, all of which were of a poor standard. Tasted like defrosted ready meals for the large part, and not value for money. The baby sensory class was awful. An hour class with a 20min section to entertain yourselves in the room with toys! Not worth £7. Blue lagoon was great, as is Bluestones' location, Folly Farm, Tenby and Oakwood all really close by. Would say this resort is best suited for children 5yrs old and over, we had a 9month old and aside from pool and an awful baby sensory class, was not much else there to occupy an alert and inquisitive baby.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hewkin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a Caldley lodge in May 2014.
The lodge was perfect for me, my husband and two kids aged 4yrs and 22 months. Kitchen was very well equipped and we ordered food in advance which was all there when we arrived.
The location is beautiful and we really enjoyed exploring the local area - visiting Tenby and Poppitt Sands (for the rock pools) during our stay.
The Bluestone site is also lovely and we liked driving the buggy around. We also enjoyed lunch at Camp Smokey as we liked the setting in the forest and the outdoors feel. My daughter believed that the 'cowboys' that took the orders were real - great.
Swimming pool was lovely as was the adventure centre. Both had loads for young kids to do - especially when it was raining.
I would also say that there was plenty of free stuff like Lego and mini golf and that food prices were not high.
However, food at bluestone is not its strong point. I would advise just cooking for yourself and avoid eating at the cafe in the adventure centre and the yard wasn't great.
We also made an effort to go to the Kids Hour at 17.00 one evening and it was the worst kids entertainment I have ever experienced. There were two young ladies attempting to entertain young children by having them watch whilst they wrapped up eggs in old bits of cardboard and then dropped them from various heights to see if they broke. No child participation just watching. Very strange. Even my daughter said - mummy this play stinks! I couldn't disagree. What's wrong with musical statues? Lastly, as we had booked a golf buggy in advance we were given half the money back in vouchers to spend on food on site. Great! Except when I tried to use them on the Friday we were going home I was told that they are not valid on Fridays. Read the small print I suppose. I think we will stick with centre parcs in the future as they are closer to us and a bit more buzzy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

It was our 1st time to Bluestone and we loved it. The staff were lovely in every area. The accommodation was great and we had a great time doing some of the activities, zip wires, tree climbing ect. We went half board and I could not fault the food throughout the week, we ate in all the restaurants and all our meals were good but particular in the A la carte restaurant and the pub. Breakfast was really good as well. My little girl is 7 and she had a lovely holiday, lots of adventure and outdoor living, the pool was great fun as well. WOULD VERY MUCH RECOMMEND!! Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Difficult to say what the best place to choose accommodation, personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Bluestone - our 2nd visit. My husband, 2 yr old and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We learnt from our trip last time and had an even better stay this time round!

Like other reviewers have said, the food quality in many of the outlets is poor, often with long waiting times and is almost always overpriced for what it is. The bakery is excellent though and probably worth the inflated cost. This time we tried a restaurant we didn't go to last time (the Yard buffet) and were extremely disappointed - no garlic bread on an italian buffet night!! From then on, we mainly ate in our cottage, which was fine because the cooking facilities and utensils provided are great and there is actually room to cook in there, unlike other "self catering" holiday villlages!!

The activities offered for the Little Ones were excellent. The optional classes / activities were always well organised and staffed by really helpful, cheery staff. My daughter loved the circus zone and the free craft activities on offer there. I cannot praise Bluestone highly enough for the effort they make for ALL ages of kids on site.

The swimming facilities are good, although there are nowhere near enough family changing roooms for what is predominantly a family resort with lots on offer for younger children - this often led to a queue for changing rooms, which is hardly ideal with a dripping wet toddler!!

Our accommodation was clean with plenty of space - we had no complaints last time so went back to the same style of accommodation this time. Our mattress was extremely uncomfortable, however after reporting this to Guest Services, they arranged for a memory foam mattress topper to be put on within hours.

I cannot fault the attitude and helpfulness of all the staff here. We have already booked next years break at Bluestone and can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Accommodation was luxury. Stayed in a Ramsey and included everything we would need. Views fantastic.

Not much to do on site but eat and the food everywhere we went was extremely poor. The Knights tafern we waited over an hr for our food due to our docket not reaching the kitchen. Steak a thin piece of gristle. Choc fondue burnt in the microwave it had turned bitter. Bread and butter pudding had turned rubbery through being microwaved for too long. Complained to Vicky in guest services who was excellent. They refunded our wild woody show and suggested we still go for free to try and redeem themselves as at that point we we re contemplating just going home. You see breakfast in the cafe was the final straw. Bits of the night before s food everywhere. On the tables in the high chair. Decor was those butterfly's you buy from pound land to stick in your flower pots. And sheets on the ceiling with popped balloons visible behind them.....

must say really enjoyed the show. My little one went nuts for it. Fully interactive and platter of food included good value. Great thinking bringing kids meals out first. However not as advertised. Was supposed to be all the creatures Inc snail and ladybird. It was just one creature. The bee. Luckily our 2 yr old is too young to know any different but would have been disappointed if we were going because one of the other creatures is her favourite.

Bus not as advertised. Was in fact a land rover pulling benches.

Swimming was good. Millers bakery nice. Store on site had great selection however not a lot of stock of everything so kept running out of milk and bread....

little one was booked into creche andshe was the only one! So so quiet on site. Thought they were fully booked? They were showing that online. . Hardly anyone milling around.

Spa was amazing.

All in all just okay. Staff excellent and i think they're the element that keep it from being a total disaster.

No atmosphere. No buzz. Nothing special. Everything done on the cheap. But then it is quite cheap. .... won't be back. Wouldn't recommend.


  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carriebradshaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just come back from a midweek stay at Bluestone and we had a lovely time. On arrival the check in was very quick and friendly and this set the the tone for the rest of the break, all of the staff members we come across were fantastic whether it was in the Tafarn, the restaurant, or the local shop everyone was very friendly.
Once we had checked in and had a drink in the wildwood cafe we then took our car to our lodge and dropped off the luggage before returning the car to the car park for the rest of the break. We had a golf buggy as I have a dodgy knee and I am pleased I chose this option as the site is very hilly!
The accommodation - The lodge (A Ramsey) was amazing!!!! Very spacious, with everything you need for a self catering break, living area along with the kitchen and dining area was all open space and the bedrooms were located downstairs; along with en-suite bathrooms which were very spacious and adequate.
We ate at The Yard restaurant, The Knights Tafarn, Camp Smokey and my wife ate at the Spa and all of the meals we very nice and we couldn't fault a thing. The food was very nice and the prices reasonable, the drink prices were no different to any local pub prices.
Me and my friend did the zip wire experience and it was fantastic and very well run with knowledgeable staff running it.
My wife and my friends wife had a hot stone massage at the spa and my daughter had a manicure all of which were very good value for money and they all enjoyed it very much.
Comparing Bluestone to Centre Parcs as many reviews have done already there are pros and cons - The accommodation at Bluestone is better than Centre Parcs by a country mile, the views around the site and the surrounding site again were far better than Centre Parcs. However for things to do Centre Parcs come out tops if the weather is not on your side.
All in all we had a lovely relaxing time and we are pleased we tried an alternative to Centre Parcs even though we most probably will return to Centre Parcs over Bluestone next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whackerv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaston Wood
1.8 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
7.1 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
2.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
8.0 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone National Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone National Park Resort

Property: Bluestone National Park Resort
Address: The Grange, Canaston Wood, Narberth SA67 8DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Canaston Wood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Canaston Wood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone National Park Resort offers fantastic free range holidays for families, couples and friends! The all-weather luxury short break destination in Pembrokeshire is like no other. Whether you want to relax and unwind or play and have fun during your break there is something for everyone! We offer breaks for generational families wanting to spend quality time together, romantic short breaks, and catch up getaways with friends. Guests can choose from a range of luxury lodges set around a private Welsh village where you will find the cottages and studio apartments, restaurants, shops, a pub and its very own holistic spa and thermal rooms. Choose from heart pumping activities in the Steep Ravine with its high ropes and zip wire around the old Camp Smokey; splashing fun in the Blue Lagoon water park and outdoor fun indoors at the Adventure Centre with its climbing walls, ball pits and Wild Wood Cafe. For those wanting to chill and unwind there’s The Well Spa with its holistic treatments and invigorating thermal rooms. Combine this with opportunities to visit the nearby coastal towns and countryside communities and you have a perfect short break destination, whatever the weather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluestone Hotel Narberth
Bluestone Resort Narberth
Bluestone National Park Resort Wales/Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing