We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break at Bluestone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluestone National Park Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaston Wood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluestone National Park Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing break at Bluestone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just come back from bluestone where we spent a relaxing week in a Ramsey lodge. The accommodation was very spacious and included 2 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and a good sized living area upstairs. It really was a 'home from home' and had everything you might need for a self catering holiday (although would recommend taking your own dishwasher tablets and loo roll as those supplied ran out quickly.)

We travelled with a 2 year old who particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and outdoor childrens play area for under 6's. We visited both of these every day, and they were fantastic.

Of the available restaurants we only ate at Camp Smokey which has a scenic forest location. Burgers were very good, sides ok. Service was friendly and the location is great for watching others taking part in the high wire activities.

Check in and out was the easiest I have experienced anywhere. No queues and straight in and out both times. We hired a buggy which our toddler loved. Only downside was we weren't aware the buggy hire place closed at 7pm on Fridays, so we missed out on the first evenings hire by 10 mins which was a shame. It would have been great to know this in advance, but only a minor complaint as we picked it up no problem first thing.

Outside of Bluestone would recommend Tenby beaches and Folly Farm, for toddlers. Both great days out and nearby.

Overall, highly recommended and would love to return someday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ResearchNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    802
    266
    94
    54
See reviews for
1,647
213
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our third stay at bluestone and this time were staying with friends so selected a Caldey connect lodge. This was perfect for us as we could open the interconnecting door and be sociable during the day, but shut it in the evening to attempt to get the kids into bed! The accommodation was clean and tidy and the kitchen well equipped. It is not 5 star luxury but it is comfortable and a good size space. The wet room however is a bit of a nightmare with young children slipping and sliding everywhere, and I can't stand the whole room being wet for hours afterwards.
Bluestone itself was as ever clean and welcoming and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It amazes me that given the number of lodges it never felt busy or crowded, it had clearly been designed very well. We hired a buggy which was expensive at £140 for the week, but good fun for the kids and a lifesaver for transporting tired children and multiple bags at the end of a busy day. My friend wanted to get some washing done midweek, so went to village central to ask about this. She was told there was a launderette in Narberth, or they would do washing but is cost £15 for a carrier sized bag of washing! So moral of the story is bring enough clothes for your stay!
The biggest disappointment was the food. The standard has dropped significantly from our last visit where we had enjoyed the buffet themed evenings in the yard which offered reasonable food for a reasonable price. They have now renamed this the farmhouse grill, and offer a salad and bread bar but you have to order food from a menu. We found the menu to be very limited and expensive- about £15 for a simple pasta dish for example. The quality of the food was poor for the price, my friends pasta was so undercooked it was inedible. Worth noting also is that if you are on the bluestone inclusive deal, you can only have a choice of about 3 dishes without paying a supplement which I think was £6 if you wanted a steak- considering the cost of the inclusive deal I think this is pretty poor. We also ate at camp smokey, and again found the food expensive and poor quality. If the food has been better we would have eaten out more at bluestone but after these experiences we didn't bother- the only exception being the bakers who do very nice croissants.
So in summary, the lodges are comfortable, the site is peaceful, clean and well kept, and bluestone itself is in a perfect location to enjoy the surrounding area. The food however is overpriced and of poor quality so either plan to cater for yourself or eat elsewhere- we enjoyed some excellent meals at the Llawrenny tea rooms and the Cambrian pub in Solva.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our second visit to Bluestone and we've enjoyed both visits. The children love the pool and would gladly spend all day in there. There is plenty to do on site (although many, but not all, activities cost extra) and in the local area if you don't want to spend your whole time in the park.The accommodation is spacious and clean and has beautiful views. I think the children got more out of the second visit when they were a bit older and could make better use of the water slides and other facilities. However, I would recommend bringing all food and drink supplies with you as the on site shop is quite limited. We stocked up in Narberth, which has some great shops and is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZannaBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

As a family we have visited 4 times and could not love it here more. Set in a beautiful location, with beautiful local beaches, and on a beautiful rolling hill with spectacular views. At the top of the park there is a fab pool, hire a golf buggy which yes is an extra expense but really makes the break a unique one!! Tour the park, on a golf buggy, making every part of bluestones quickly accessible to everyone! The village is small but perfectly formed, with all you could need. The spa was nice and a proper treat to go and enjoy. The lake at the bottom of the village is beautiful. I love that bluestones, although surrounded by lodges, you really feel the quieter pace of life, the nature and being outside feel shines through, and it really is somewhere like nowhere else I have visited. Every member of staff is helpful and the visitor centre are always happy to help however they can. I have to follow a gluten free diet and was pleased to find Honeybun's cakes in the cafes and bakery, And also in "the smithy" there were great gluten free options on the menu. Which tasted as good as they sounded!
We stayed in a caldey connect lodge, which was perfect for our needs and had everything within that we could need. My only complaint of the entire holiday was that the mattress was uncomfortable and lumpy, and after busy days exploring and having fun a comfortable mattress with squashy pillows would be lovely to come back home to.
But overall a lovely break and would highly recommend for families, friends- you are guaranteed fun at bluestone!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Heleney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a fabulous weekend away. The accommodation was great and nearby Narberth was a great little town with fantastic shops. The spa was great though a little over crowded. The first night we ate on site in one of the restaurants and this was a big mistake - poorly quality and over priced food and wine. Definitley worth a visit but take your own food or eat in Narbeth.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
md1979
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Bluestone staying in one the Ramsey lodges . We had an really good time and we thought the park was very clean and tidy and the staff could not do enough for you . My daughter fell poorly on our last night and the staff were brilliant and the manager even picked us up the local hospital during the evening . We didn't eat out as we found with two small children it was easier to eat it our lodge with them . The swimming pool was really good and nice and clean . We would definitely go back next year . We visited Tenby for 2 days which was lovely .We went to Folly farm which is a must for any family and you can use your tesco club card points .

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank md1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went to Bluestone in mid-May along with another family, renting a Dinas lodge which was perfect for our needs (two bedrooms either end, so we had an end each). We were 2 couples plus twins (2 yrs old) and our own toddler (nearly 2). Check-in was fairly easy - slight queue but 4 windows open so only a 15 min wait. You can drive on site to drop off your stuff and park up to the evening, after which you must park off-site - we'd hired a buggy which was great fun, and it meant the park was fume free, safe and very quiet.

The lodge was very spacious, there were two fridges and plenty of pans and utensils in the kitchen - my only gripes about the lodge would be a) please put up wall units- there wasn't much space to put food away and this led to an army of ants coming into the kitchen and b) one of the wet rooms could be a bathroom instead or have shower bases, as my son slipped twice on the wet floor leading to some nasty bangs to the skull.

We were lucky to be close to the Village, the central area where there are a few shops, pubs & eateries, an outdoor play area and the Spa, all of which we used. The spa treatment was very nice, I enjoyed it, although it would be nice if you got to use the facilities as well (most spas allow you that if you've booked a treatment). The shop was quite expensive but had a reasonable amount of stock. The Yard was very good, reasonable selection of food (although not that Italian considering that was the theme!) and super friendly staff (although my partner was told off for coming up to get another main, it wasn't clear that you couldn't have more than one choice between breaded chicken, lasagne and pizza).

The Blue Lagoon was great, we went almost every day and our son loved it. The rapids were great fun, even on one of the rainy days (they take you outside briefly but the water is warm), my partner loved the flumes and the facilities were good (large family changing rooms). It never got that busy but then we went early morning (9ish before non-guests can enter) and we were staying during term-time.

The Adventure centre was also great, the children enjoyed all the climbing frames, ballpits etc. The Wild Woods show in the cafe on our last night had all 3 toddlers mesmerised, my son loved Sheldon the Snail! The snacky food was good quality and again the staff were great. We had the buffet one morning in Wild Woods too, good selection of food, although the 'juice' was revolting (watered down or squash?). Good value.

We had credit back from booking things in advance plus they pushed £85 worth of vouchers through our door on the Monday, meaning we really barely spent anything on site, so it was a very cost-effective visit for us all - great value and I can't stress enough how nice the staff were.

Off-site, I recommend a visit to Folly Farm, which has a great Vintage fairground as well as lots of farm and zoo animals (the penguin window is fabulous, our son was so excited by it!). Beaches: Saundersfoot and Tenby were very nice, we also did a trip to St Davids and Whitesands beach, very nice too and on our way to Bluestone we made it to Rhossili Bay, one of the best beaches in the world (although a right pain to get down to with a young son and 4 bags!).

We would definitely go to Bluestone again although I'm not sure we would once the children are at school as we noticed the prices go up SIGNIFICANTLY in school hols (and I imagine th facilities might not be so nice when rammed!). Thank you Bluestone for a nice week.

Room Tip: I really do recommend the Dinas lodge, we were no 12 Forest View and this was just across from the V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williamsr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaston Wood
1.8 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
7.1 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
7.0 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone National Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone National Park Resort

Property: Bluestone National Park Resort
Address: The Grange, Canaston Wood, Narberth SA67 8DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Canaston Wood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Canaston Wood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone National Park ResortFree range holidays – Let’s play Bluestone National Park Resort is an all weather luxury short break destination like no other. Relax, unwind or play and have fun in over 500 acres of spectacular Pembrokeshire countryside - it’s all about free range holidays at Bluestone where you decide how to spend it.From generational family breaks, romantic short breaks, or celebrating an occasion with friends, guests can choose from a range of luxury lodges set around a private Welsh village with cottages and studio apartments, fine dining restaurants, shops, a pub and its very own holistic spa and thermal rooms.Choose from heart pumping activities in the Steep Ravine with its high ropes and zip wire around the old Camp Smokey; splashing fun in the Blue Lagoon waterpark and outdoor fun indoors at the Adventure Centre with its climbing walls, ball pits, Discovery Zone and Wild Wood Café.For those wanting to chill and unwind there’s The Well Spa with its holistic treatments and invigorating thermal rooms, restaurants, village pub, tranquil countryside walks and cycle routes and breath-taking scenery. Combine this with opportunities to visit the nearby coastal towns and countryside communities and you have a perfect short break destination, whatever the weather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluestone Hotel Narberth
Bluestone Resort Narberth
Bluestone National Park Resort Wales/Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing