We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love bluestone”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaston Wood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluestone National Park Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

As a family we love bluestone. We go for a long weekend about 3 times a year and what we love is how relaxing it is. You can make it as expensive or as cheap as you want. Our children range from 18,14,8 & 3 the adventure centre (which is free) is great for the younger ones the blue lagoon (which is free) is great for all ages the park in the village is fab. There is a well stocked shop in the village but we tend to take most things with us there is even a vending machine for milk if the shop is shut. There is a cash point a bakery the knights tavern and the yard restaurant all with lovely food. We use the takeaway service a lot and have never had a bad meal. We have used the golf buggies to get around but have walked on weekends when the weather is nice also keeping costs down. Bluestone is very hilly so be aware if you have mobility problems. We always stay in a skomer lodge and have always been impressed the standard in these lodges are 1st class, spotlessly clean, spacious, comfy beds, 3 bathrooms 2 ensuite with big white fluffy towels. Also going for the weekend you get provided with enough dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, sponge and tea towel so that's one less thing to worry about. Sometimes we do activities other times the children don't bother it's just about having family time chilling out and enjoying each others company that's why bluestone is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alievans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,437 - 1,443 of 2,564 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ive recently spent a week at Bluestone and I usually think people should make up their own minds, everyone likes different things on holiday. BUT this was an expensive holiday for the UK and I'm sorry it's just not worth it. If you want to come here a long weekend is more than enough time to stay here. I know people use it as a base but after almost a 6 hour drive to get here we didn't feel particularly like travelling further afield to explore.

One piece of advice is this is a place for young families, kids after 13 I would say don't waste your money. If you like cycling all day then great but it is def not a relaxing holiday. I know this sounds daft but the main problem for adults is that after a day of walking or activities you can't get a good night sleep because the beds are atrocious. So hard, uncomfortable, and the pillows omg. My husband had to sleep on the settee, and to go away having no sleep is not good at all.

It's just an OK sort of place, not terrible but not great. Like I said previously some people may enjoy it here, not me. The lodges are quite nice but quite dirty, marks in walls, dusty and the carpets filthy, why put beige carpets in when people have been mucky walking around in the woods.

I'm sorry but I would not come again and I would not recommend it. It's a weird place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank wudangtai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very impressed with Bluestone, it made for a lovely family holiday. We stayed in a Gateholm lodge for a week at the beginning of August and found it very comfortable with lots of space, very clean and well equipped. Bluestone itself is a great base for a holiday. Make no mistake, it is a resort where you have to pay for your extras, but that is the same in any equivalent resort. If anything the number of "free" activities here allow it to rank above a Centre Parcs in terms of value and variety. The Blue Lagoon is good for an afternoon, the free soft play in the activity centre is excellent, the playground in the village has plenty of variety and the walks and nature trails are excellent. The site is large but this is not a hotel so do expect to walk. However no-where was more than a 10-15 minute stroll and it was a nice to have a leisurely stroll around the site and to explore. Amazed that so many people chose to hire golf buggies, get walking/biking people! (the buggies were also a bit of a scourge when walking/cycling around the resort with children as it is hard to relax with these silent cars always on the roads). We booked and paid for some activities as a treat for the kids. They were well run, the kids loved them and they didnt break the bank (cinema night, big 4, panning for gold, tree climbing). The village shop was well stocked and not extortionate. We ate out twice in the resort and it was good, but not spectacular. Prices at the upper end of reasoanble. Free wifi which worked well in the lodges. I'd definitely recommend. One gripe was the lack of laundary facilities. Granted most breaks are for 3 nights but when taking a 7 night stay which will be more common in the summer it really is hard to pack and survive without any washing or drying facilities. But we got over that

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank AMcD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a weekend at bluestone with my family (6 adults, 2 babies, a 10yr old and 11yr old).

On arrival we were really pleased with our lodge. We had a grassholm lodge and was located in prescilli view so it was a short walk to the village. The lodge was very clean and well presented- a credit to the place. Travel cot was located in an upstairs wardrobe and was of good quality for the baby.

However, overall I felt disappointed by the weekend. We had paid over £1000 for three nights. Included in this was free use of the swimming pool- we went there Saturday afternoon after the kids had done some other activities only to be told that we had to leave an hour into it as the pool then re-opens for the after dark experience which is chargeable. We also went to the pool Sunday and it was awful- as it was raining everybody obviously headed for the pool but it was absolutely rammed! People could not swim as there was literally no room! The waves were just chaotic as the huge amount of people in the pool just clashed against each other. I think the pool should have a limit on how many people can be in at one time- even if it is timed on busy days. On other sites we have visited were non-Residents can use the pool, at busy times they may restrict the time at the pool but residents can return throughout the day for free.

Activities at bluestone are not cheap! We booked 5 in for archery and 3 in for woodland warrior which came to just under £130. The children also did activities in the adventure centre which cost a fair bit too.
We would have booked in for baby sensory but it was only available at 10am one morning of our stay (I think this is to suit non-residents). We also looked at having a massage but at £70 each we decided against it!!

In regard to eating: we visited the bakery/cafe which was pleasant enough. We ate at the farmhouse grill Saturday night and the food was beautiful and staff extremely friendly- would definitely recommend.
However on the Sunday, we wanted to eat at the village again. We went to the knights tavern which did not have any free tables, we were told that carreg las was not suitable for the children/babies so we ended up back at farmhouse. As it was a Sunday only a carvery was available. The plates were dirty and we had to request more, the chef on the carvery was the most miserable man I have met (completely different to every other staff member I saw at bluestone), there were no yorkshires left and he mumbled something about it being the end of the day- no apology. Carvery was £10 per person and we had the choice of pork or beef, roast potatoes, peas, carrots and cauliflower bake. Not worth the money in my opinion.
I feel that having just two family friendly foot outlets for such a large park is not sufficient.

Overall I would not rush back to bluestone.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Soap_StarWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I am currently on holiday at Bluestone for the first time and thought I would give some advice for those wishing to book a holiday here.

Firstly I should say this is a huge site, and it is also rather hilly. So if you do come be prepared for a fair amount of walking, or hire an electric buggy for a fee (but bring your driving license).

There is a village in the centre of the site, with a pub, restaurants, and a few shops (bakery / coffee shop, a small supermarket / off license and a toy shop / clothes shop). There is also a children's play area in the village called "tree house"

Most of the main "play" facilities are in the South of the site. This includes the swimming pool, the huge adventure centre, and Camp Smokey with zip wires, tree climbing, tree top walks etc.

Note also the long stay car park is in the south of the site. After you have unloaded you must take your car back to the long stay car park for the duration of your holiday.

The fact that most of the play facilities (and the car park) are in the South of the site makes it quite important where your lodge is, because if it is in the North of the site you will have a long walk (or buggy ride) to the various facilities in the South of the site.

The lodges are divided up into seven main "named" areas, and the areas are wrapped round the village in the centre. So all seven areas are fairly near the village

However it is worth noting those areas in the South (nearest the play facilities and car park) are Pentre Ifan, Carn Menyon and Preseli View.

The next two areas, that are slightly further away from the play facilities and car park (but very near the village), are Augustus Way and Forest View.

The two areas in the North of the site (near the village but furthest away from the play facilities and car park) are Bartholomew Rise and Knights Rest. The Bartholomew Rise lodges wrap round the lake, which makes them quite pleasant.

Note that new lodges will be built over the next year, therefore new areas, with new names, will be added to the resort.

You can download a number of maps from the Bluestone web site, including a lodge map, and it is worth studying this before making your booking.

Note also there are many different types of lodges, Skomer, Grassholm, Ramsey, Gateholm, Dinas and others, with different layouts and numbers of bedrooms, and again it is worth studying the web site and map for the locations of each of these lodges before making your booking.

Note for an extra fee you can pre book the lodge of your choice and this means you decide where you want to stay rather than Bluestone allocating you a lodge.

Note also you can go down to Google streetview and tour the whole site, seeing where the lodges are and helping you to choose the lodge you want.

Overall I am very impressed with the site and resort. The lodges are excellent quality and well appointed. The resort is kept quiet and safe and once al the cars are off the resort it is safe to walk around or drive a buggy around.

There is also excellent wi-fi in each lodge. I am writing this review on my laptop while using Bluestones wi-fi.

Note that lodges can be booked Friday to Monday (3 nights) and also Monday to Friday (4 nights) or you can join then together for a week (Friday to Friday for example).

This means that both Friday and Monday are "switch over" days and hence lots of people are coming and going. However I am writing this on Monday and there are no activities taking place, the whole resort is rather "dead" (in a pleasant way) except for lodges being tidied up and beds made.

The main free activities in Bluestone are the swimming pool and the children's play area inside the adventure centre (as well as walking round the nearby woods of course). Everything else you pay for, and while some things are rather expensive they do look very well run and the children and adults taking part do seem to be loving it.

Note that right next door to Bluestone is Oakwood theme park. It is so close you can actually hear the rides (and the screams) while in the Bluestone resort, and see some of the rides poking above the trees.

It think that is my main advice, if I think of any more I will add them as comments.

Room Tip: Study the lodge map that can be downloaded from the Bluestone web site and pre book your lodge when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Guilbert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was great, been before and will definately go again, kids love it and it just has that party feeling for everyone
Every person has a smile and the staff were great aswell,
Next time we might even go the extra penny and try and stay at bluestone
Place looks stunning

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jasperyido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at Bluestone with our 15 year old son. The weather was wonderful so we saw the site at its best and it is beautiful. The whole site is very well maintained and clean. The accommodation is also excellent - spacious and well maintained. We had two small maintenance issues and both were dealt with within 10 minutes of reporting them to the extremely efficient staff in the guest office. The activities are reasonably priced and very well run. We felt the staff (Frankie, Anthony, Mike and Laurence) really enjoyed interacting with the guests and our son had a good experience because of them. All the staff on site were friendly and cheerful.The staff in the Tarfan took that extra moment to provide good service even when they were very busy. What stopped my review being excellent was the pool ,which seems dated when compared to Center Parcs and the shortage of teenage activities.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaston Wood
1.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,232 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
302 reviews
6.8 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saundersfoot
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
8.3 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
737 reviews
2.3 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone National Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone National Park Resort

Address: The Grange, Canaston Wood, Narberth SA67 8DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Canaston Wood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Canaston Wood
Price Range: £75 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone National Park Resort offers fantastic free range holidays for families, couples and friends! The all-weather luxury short break destination in Pembrokeshire is like no other. Whether you want to relax and unwind or play and have fun during your break there is something for everyone! We offer breaks for generational families wanting to spend quality time together, romantic short breaks, and catch up getaways with friends. Guests can choose from a range of luxury lodges set around a private Welsh village where you will find the cottages and studio apartments, restaurants, shops, a pub and its very own holistic spa and thermal rooms. Choose from heart pumping activities in the Steep Ravine with its high ropes and zip wire around the old Camp Smokey; splashing fun in the Blue Lagoon water park and outdoor fun indoors at the Adventure Centre with its climbing walls, ball pits and Wild Wood Cafe. For those wanting to chill and unwind there’s The Well Spa with its holistic treatments and invigorating thermal rooms. Combine this with opportunities to visit the nearby coastal towns and countryside communities and you have a perfect short break destination, whatever the weather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluestone Hotel Narberth
Bluestone Resort Narberth
Bluestone National Park Resort Wales/Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing