We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't seem to get it right ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canaston Wood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Well Spa at Bluestone
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canaston Wood
pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Can't seem to get it right ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Being a local to area I've used the spa at bluestone several times in 2012 used for my hen party was hard work trying to get us all
In together and to use facilities all day so could spread treatments out this took lots of persuading but got there in the end they always had a lovely menu in the restaurant in the spa and served wonderful desserts anyway got excited on using the spa recently to see they had changed the spa day experiences to include full day use of facilities but lunch would be a bento box anyway asked to look at their full
Menu to be very very disappointed only bento boxes or afternoon tea!!! Bluestone what are you thinking yes have healthy things to choose from but seriously this is extreme a girly day at the spa surely should come with a nice lunch and dessert was so dissapointed! Also spa area not kept as nice as one would expect from such a resort. As for treatments had the pregnancy massage which was also dissapointing did not last the full 50 minutes more like 40 mins and therapist talked all the way through . Between previous communication issues and now these issues this is no longer going to be my first choice of spa days such a shame! Bluestone bring back the full menu especially the red velvet cheesecake!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank tinkerbelle2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    27
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The thermal rooms are great; there are about 6 rooms plus the 'experience' showers. A couple of the rooms are saunas, one ice room, three steam rooms.

The outdoor hydrotherapy pool was great- it was really warm which was great as it was pretty cold outside.

I can't comment on the value of the treatments as mine was included as part of our inclusive package; I had a back, neck and shoulder massage which was great. The rooms were very relaxing and the staff helpful.

The cafe looked a bit naff; occasionally a member of staff walked through to ask if anyone wanted anything to eat or drink, but the kitchen seemed to be a tiny little area behind saloon-style doors- I wouldn't have eaten there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

12 of us came here for a hen party in the first week of December after seeing advertisements for hen party spa days, and upon booking we were looking forward to exclusive use of the spa for 2 hours, canapés, champagne and an express mani. Once we had agreed the booking we had numerous problems with actually getting hold of anybody to pay, they never answer the phone! When we did finally get through they told us we couldn't pay individually, as originally promised to us. After various phone calls and tracking down the "manager" they then agreed to let us pay and we had 2 days in which to do so or we would loose our booking. Once we arrived, we were not even greeted, and a member of the party had to actively seem someone to ask them o show us around - it seemed as though tidying know we were coming!!!
After being stood around like lemons for 10 mins, someone of which I can only describe as a child sheepishly came and ushered us ink the changing rooms, the changing rooms were fine.
After standing around for a few mins again someone came and Gav us some robes. We them headed to the spa of which found out that our exclusive use was not so exclusive!!! Although there wasn't loads of people there were halva dozen couples in there which we didn't expect. We were show the different rooms and the benefits to each and then left to our own devises.
We then headed downstairs for our canapés - which was considering this was a health spa day we were disgusted to be fried food (Iceland specials!!) as well as this we had no chairs to sit on!
We then had To ask for our champagne and water.
Although there were a number of bad points there were some nice parts I.e the facilities are good, treatments are ok, but unfortunately the management (or lack of) just didn't know what they were doing and as such led tow very disappointing day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lbsbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We got a great deal on last minute dot com for 2 course light lunch, glass of bubbly on arrival and access to the spa facilities for twenty pounds per person. We went on a friday and there was only 6 people including us there .... bliss!

Arrival - you have to park your car a bit of a walk away from the spa its self, not a problem as its set in a national park so the walk is lovely, but the map they gave us/sign posts aren't the best, spa users should get a complimentary golf buggy which are available on site, especially as the walk back to the car is up hill. (but thats if i am being ultra lazy :)

Lunch - Was a baguette or wrap with choice of filling and a desert of which i had lemon tart with clotted cream, courses were not out of this world but delicious nevertheless, the glass of bubbly was actually real champagne (couldn't believe this!) which i requested to have with the lunch instead of on arrival, i did have to remind the waitress of this but it wasn't a problem.

Spa Facilities - We were provided with an informed welcome, towel, robe and slippers and shown to the changing rooms which have fantastic showers with shampoo & conditioner, ample room to get changed and lockers that require a refundable £1, but they could do with a few more hairdryers/ straighteners as there is only one for each.
Once changed we were given a tour of the facilities, the thermal spa was a salt sauna, brick sauna, marine steam, herbal steam, another type of sauna, ice room and power showers, all of which are accessed off the same room. All the saunas and steam rooms were large in fact the largest I've ever been in i don't understand the other comments saying they are small?? all were clean and well maintained. The herbal steam does have a intermittent loud banging every so often not much of an issue, but could be looked at and maybe they could have music inside the rooms not just in the main bit. The hydrotherapy pool is located separately outside, but its heated & was warm enough for us, it is a bit weird having to walk through the cafe to get to it though maybe they could put up a screen. There was drinking water readily available throughout the facilities which was good.

The relaxation room (mainly used for people after treatments) wasn't the best, we went in after our time in the thermal rooms, the beds were comfortable but the CD player had stopped so no music, you could here delivery wagon outside and the lights were too bright, both things that could be easily fixed and obviously this isn't an integral part of the experience as we didn't have treatments so we weren't to fussed.

All in all i would go again, if you are just looking for some timeout it did the trick, a nice few hours relaxation with lunch, the place could do with a little TLC especially the cafe i.e wonky tables but not the worst ive seen and it served its purpose. The thermal rooms which is what we mainly went for however were excellent.

I would recommend and i would go again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I have been to the Spa when staying at Bluestone, but this time I booked a Twilight Spa for late Friday afternoon after a busy week ...
My colleague and I were more or less the only people there; all rooms were functioning and we had a thoroughly relaxing time. We were each provided with towel, robe and slippers and had two hours in which we visited: the plunge pool (x2); the two steam rooms (both full steam ahead!); the dry saunas; the 3 showers; the ice room; the salt box. At the end we each enjoyed a lovely hot shower in the changing rooms, with free use of luxury products. All of this for £15 each!! No one pressured us to have a "treatment"; but we have enjoyed these in the past and would recommend them. On the way out I did buy some of the bergamot shower gel and body lotion (it was so lovely!).
The package even included a glass of champagne for each of us ... this was delivered to the cafe area unprompted by me, together with a lovely little net bag full of chocolate drops. The therapist came to find us (we were in the outside plunge bath) and tell us (very sweetly) where the treats had been left.
When we arrived there was a queue of staying visitors at the gate ... we waited a few minutes, but then drove past the queue to go to the car park.
In our experience, there is no formal booking in process when you are a day visitor, and we have been on various occasions for different events ...
as well as 3 holidays (and we are booked to visit again next spring).
When you get to the car park park you have to walk down to the Village so park your car in the bottom left hand side of the car park ... in the corner there you will find a footpath which wends its way to the Village ... turn right at the bottom of the hill (by the kids playground) and walk to the end of the shops to find the Well Spa on your right.
Bluestone is a welcome setting of mixed facilities for the locals, and we make the most of it!
Thank you to the Bluestone Team AGAIN for all your efforts; they are appreciated by us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and i decided to have a relaxing morning while the children were in school. The spa consists of 2 lovely saunas, 2 steam rooms, an ice room and a ? salt room ? ( i must say the description of a bus shelter in other review is spot on!) The spa has been well made and finished nicely (they should remove the rust water feature in the outdoor area!) However in the green steam room there was a horrendous banging noise. My husband mentioned this to a member of staff who said there was an oil tanker delivering oil and it was going. So when we tried it again the banging was still there. This could be heard around 50% of the small spa. I went to reception, the lady said she would speak to the manager, she then came up to investigate (obviously the manager couldn't be bothered). She said it was the pump, pumping the essence into the room and it would stop and that if it wasn't so quiet in the spa we wouldn't hear it! Anyway this continued banging and banging. So we gave up, it sounded like someone had a big hammer and was hitting the wall. In the end we gave up! It went on and on. We weren't asked about any medical conditions at any time, nor were we advised of any restrictions to the spa. As we were leaving we weren't asked if we had enjoyed, as i'm sure they knew what we would say and they obviously don't care. The food in the restaurant was nice, the waitress lovely. Place could be great, but there is lot that lets it down. I think they are relying on tourists who stay they because as a local i wont be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I booked for myself and 3 friends to have the afternoon tea package which included 30 min treatment, use of facilities and afternoon tea. The spa facilities and treatments were top class and therapists very professional and helpful, but the cafe and waitress service was appalling no sandwich fillings, no scones and a wait of an hour !!! And then u have to go down to locker room to get wallet to pay and are uable to pay the bill at the desk when leaving !!! Will defiantly use spa again but will have lunch/tea else where

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golddigga27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaston Wood
1.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
8.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.6 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
9.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Well Spa at Bluestone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Well Spa at Bluestone

Property: Well Spa at Bluestone
Address: Bluestone National Park Resort, Canaston Wood, Narberth SA67 8DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Canaston Wood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canaston Wood
Hotel Class:5 star — Well Spa at Bluestone 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a special place in the Bluestone village called the Well Spa. It's our 5 star sanctuary to restore and rejuvenate. Whether alone or with family or friends, you can close yourself off from the outside world, leave your stresses behind and focus on your health and wellbeing. Our expertly trained spa team is on hand to offer advice, guidance or treatments designed to relax, cleanse, or invigorate, according to your wishes. We're sure you'll leave the spa a new person. Please be aware that The Well Spa is now exclusive for staying guests ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Well Spa At Bluestone Wales/Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing